We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice ambiance”
Review of Bar D'Hotel

Bar D'Hotel
Ranked #582 of 13,783 Restaurants in Rio de Janeiro
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $49
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Leblon
Fort Worth, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“nice ambiance”
Reviewed March 19, 2014 via mobile

We were staying in the hotel and decided to try the restaurant before going to a club. We arrived unfashionably early but were Tod we couldn't have an oceanside table because we didn't have a reservation. That area was still empty when we left.
We liked that we could order half portions of some of the entrees like the pasta and Risotto dishes. Of the three of us one had the curry risotto with shrimp, one had rissotto carioca (with shredded beef) and one had salmon with a lemon rissotto on the side. The flavors of all three were very distinctive and flavorful.
As a party of three American women, we frequently have problems getting the waiters attention. We're not sure if it's because we are women or because we do not speak portuguese.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank CometFrogs_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    82
    47
    16
    8
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Agnes Water, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good and bad!”
Reviewed March 9, 2014

This the restaurant in Marina All Suites on the second floor.
The breakfast is good but had a few bad burgers delivered to the room where the meat was completely uncooked.
Quality depends on who is on shift and practise your Portuguese as English in the restaurant is sparse.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank nigel_rhodes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barueri, SP
Level 6 Contributor
178 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“Good breakfast with the most wonderful view”
Reviewed December 20, 2013

Breakfast meetings do not have to be necessarily a punishment and Bar d'Hotel proves this point. The breakfast buffet is the usual of most nice hotels in Brazil - generous, with a lot of options, incredible fruits, options of juices, egg prepared your way, carbohydrates to kill any diet, etc. The decoration is quite creative even if a little too avant-garde for my personal taste. And then you have the view of Leblon beach which can not be described. It has to be seen

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Osler D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
236 reviews
138 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Average at best, over-rated”
Reviewed November 27, 2013

Been here a few months and live around the corner from Bar d'Hotel. I've read in many places that Bar d'Hotel is a happening place full of hotties. Well, I must have swung by about 15 times in recent months, on various days and various times at night and I must say, it is nothing special. I think Bar d'Hotel must have written all the reviews i've read on travel sites since it only seems like hype to me.....

  • Visited November 2013
    • Atmosphere
Helpful?
1 Thank Worldtravelguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Charming place with best cocktails and dishes.”
Reviewed November 8, 2012

I just loved to went to the Bar D'Hotel! Beautiful people enjoying life drinking and eating what are the best in Brazil.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Glauciamayumi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bar D'Hotel also viewed

Rio de Janeiro, RJ
 
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
 
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
 

Been to Bar D'Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing