We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“For the Adventurous”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Maze Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Rio de Janeiro
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Maze Inn
Ranked #51 of 331 Rio de Janeiro B&B and Inns
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“For the Adventurous”
Reviewed August 13, 2014

An unforgettable and outstanding experience in an unusual building and setting. Great views and great hosts (Bob & Malu). The building, except for the rooms, is mostly open air with stairways, terraces, and lobby unenclosed. The favela, in which it is located, is quite interesting with narrow corridors, small shops, friendly neighbors - and accessed up the side of a hill on a curving road by shuttle car, shuttle motorcycle or taxi. Best of all are Bob & Malu, friendly, helpful and entertaining. Bob is a raconteur with humorous stories of travels both near and far. A couple of times a month they have music nights (until 4am) and attract a crowd from the city and around the world (jazz on the first Friday of the month). Be aware that this is not the Ritz, which is part of its allure. No air conditioning other than fans, the plumbing works (a receptacle for used paper sits next to the toilet), and the water in the shower is hot, what more could one want? I hope to soon return.

Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank EddieB12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    15
    6
    1
    2
See reviews for
4
18
13
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
137 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2014

Fantastic World Cup accommodation. Unfortunately Bob and Malu didn't organise any special WC jazz action, but that would of been the icing on the cake.

The view from the hostel is awesome, the hostel it's self is very unique.

The breakfast is awesome and the staff very friendly.

I'd highly recommend the stay to anyone.

The location is in the favela Bastos, very safe and very interesting.

It's worth it just to listen to Bob and his amazing stories.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Lemorte69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2014

One of the best nights I had in Brazil was when I brought my friends to the live jazz bar at The Maze.. Incredible musicians, fantastic atmosphere and stunning night time views over Rio. You have to take a taxi to the top of Catache ( sorry if spelled wrong) favela and then there is someone waiting to escort you to the hostel from there..couldn't recommend it highly enough it's just a great night out for music lovers who love to find hidden gems.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank KieriKennedy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brasilia, DF
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2014 via mobile

Every first friday of the month the hostel offers jazz live music to guests and outsiders with this great view of Rio!! To arrive in The Maze you have to walk through the favela, which is a very nice experience.... The owner trespasses on prices, which makes the place a little expensive.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
5 Thank Jmarinho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2014

Just back from a wonderful stay in and around Rio. We stayed at the Maze for a couple of nights in mid December and really enjoyed our time there. My partner and I turned up mid afternoon on a Saturday and were warmly ushered into a fantastic feijoada (loose translation "party") in an open room with a panoramic view of Rio that was absolutely breathtaking. We were greeted by Bob (the owner) who explained we'd arrived during his son's friend's feijoada and to make ourselves at home. Whilst Malu (his wife) kindly arranged to drop our bags in our room, we were encouraged to have a beer, relax, enjoy the view and the fabulous music the friends began to jam. It was a brilliant welcome and the rest of our short stay was great. Our room had a fab view...it was basic, but clean and we had a shower, clean towels etc. Breakfast was substantial and, as other reviewers have mentioned, conversations with Bob are a real highlight. We really recommend this as a place to stay if you want a different experience - still safe, but certainly more lively than other areas of town. Thanks to Bob and Malu for the lovely hospitality.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank lady047
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruges, Belgium
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2013

Having stayed in The Maze (and lots of other places in Rio) for several times, I can say that it is one of the most amazing locations to spend a few days. The view is perfect, the people are very very friendly and its a place where you will always meet interesting people! When i came back in The Maze i was confronted with what a man of our group posted on internet about The Maze. After a moment of complete embarrasement towards Bob I remembered that everybody in our group had voted before coming to Rio to stay in The Maze so that it was their own choice. Having seen all the other positive reactions on The Maze I am happy that this negative critic is only a joke of somebody who's life is just not that interesting. The young organizer.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
8 Thank StevensSven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 547 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2013

First of all this place is not an 5 star acc. Typical guest house
as one can find similarities everywhere. So no need to make
your whole holiday there, a couple of days especially on the
dates of the Bob and friends Jazz nights is OK, and different
taste to stay and walk in the favelas which is not easy and safe
thing other favelas. Rooms are very basic but coming with an
perfect scenery of the amazing Rio from your Windows.
They are serving the breakfast every day with different things
but filling. If your expectations not too much and looking for an
different taste not an bad idea to stay one or two nights.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
18 Thank Joseph O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rio de Janeiro hotels
Santa Teresa
Casa da Carmen e do Fernando
Casa da Carmen e do Fernando
#8 of 331 in Rio de Janeiro
247 reviews
Santa Teresa
Casa Beleza
Casa Beleza
#1 of 331 in Rio de Janeiro
570 reviews
Lagoa Guest House
#34 of 331 in Rio de Janeiro
180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Teresa
Casa Cool Beans B&B
Casa Cool Beans B&B
#2 of 331 in Rio de Janeiro
759 reviews
Botafogo
O Veleiro Bed and Breakfast
O Veleiro Bed and Breakfast
#12 of 331 in Rio de Janeiro
326 reviews
Santa Teresa
Alma de Santa Guest House
Alma de Santa Guest House
#44 of 331 in Rio de Janeiro
51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Maze Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Maze Inn

Property: The Maze Inn
Address: Rua Tavares Bastos 414 _ 66 | Catete, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22221-030, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 331 B&Bs / Inns in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
National Geographic describes The MAZE as "Unique and Original". Designed and built during 4 decades by Bob Nadkarni (Stanley Kubrick's sculptor-2001 A Space Odyssey). The architecture reflects the Atlantic Forest, the foothills and the sweeping bays which surround it. Situated in a Rio favela, it reveals the source of Brazil's creativity whilst being the safest location in Rio de Janeiro. The MAZE is a family home, family run. It's typical guests are architects, writers, photographers, artists, musicians and adventurous souls. Probably not for anyone with serious mobility difficulties or cat phobia however. The view is probably the finest in Rio. The Breakfast is big. Guest chat'n'mingle is wonderful and stimulating. The MAZE is a fine-art museum with a jazz night celebrated (4 years running) by US DOWNBEAT Magazine amongst the "World's Top Jazz Venues" The owner, ex BBC TV correspondent, ex war cameraman, painter, writer and jazzman welcomes you into his home and his world. The MAZE is a place to lose yourself and find yourself. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Maze Hotel Rio De Janeiro
The Maze Inn Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing