We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Maze - Answer on negative Critics below”
Review of The Maze Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Rio de Janeiro
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Maze Inn
Ranked #45 of 337 Rio de Janeiro B&B and Inns
Reviewed September 27, 2013

Having stayed in The Maze (and lots of other places in Rio) for several times, I can say that it is one of the most amazing locations to spend a few days. The view is perfect, the people are very very friendly and its a place where you will always meet interesting people! When i came back in The Maze i was confronted with what a man of our group posted on internet about The Maze. After a moment of complete embarrasement towards Bob I remembered that everybody in our group had voted before coming to Rio to stay in The Maze so that it was their own choice. Having seen all the other positive reactions on The Maze I am happy that this negative critic is only a joke of somebody who's life is just not that interesting. The young organizer.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
8  Thank StevensSven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (68)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

16 - 22 of 68 reviews

Reviewed May 30, 2013

First of all this place is not an 5 star acc. Typical guest house
as one can find similarities everywhere. So no need to make
your whole holiday there, a couple of days especially on the
dates of the Bob and friends Jazz nights is OK, and different
taste to stay and walk in the favelas which is not easy and safe
thing other favelas. Rooms are very basic but coming with an
perfect scenery of the amazing Rio from your Windows.
They are serving the breakfast every day with different things
but filling. If your expectations not too much and looking for an
different taste not an bad idea to stay one or two nights.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
18  Thank Joseph O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2013

We are shocked by the previous review. Maybe The Maze is a bit like marmite - you either love it or you hate it and we LOVED it, as I'm sure most people will if you appreciate a relaxed homely B&B with stunning views and a taste of a real Rio neighbourhood. Bob and Malu are very chilled out hosts, and after a bit of a nail-biting journey to the maze through the winding streets of tavares bastos (we really appreciated the directions written in the other review!), they welcomed us with a beer overlooking the moonlit guanabara bay. The room was clean and comfortable with fresh towels and a fantastic balcony, and all the electrics seemed to be working just fine to us. The cats were gorgeous, clean and well-behaved. Although the neighbourhood was a bit daunting at first, once you've had a wander around and got to know some of the locals (despite a complete lack of Portuguese) we found it to be a safe friendly place. A word of warning - the reason it is so safe is that the Rio police SWAT team regularly drills - as we found to our surprise at one point we had 10 machine guns pointed at us!!! Unfortunately we missed Bob's jazz night but experienced a fantastic night at a bar down the road - the 18 year old double bass player had learned at a project run for favela kids and now plays for the symphonic orchestra!! He borrowed his double bass from Bob's! As mentioned in other reviews, Bob has some incredible stories to tell and our only complaint is that we wished we could've stayed longer! Thanks Bob & Malu xx

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Kerry_Anne5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2013

Unfortunately the organiser of our trip - a young guy- thought "The Maze" would be something "special" and "cosy" and made the big mistake to choose for it and book 3 nights for our group of about 20 persons: "normal adults".
The Maze Inn..."Special " it was! The name "Inn" unworthy...It is a "Stable"! runned without any respect for the guests. It was not cleaned, not safe as far as the electricity and the general state of the house is concerned. Not at all a place for serving food and eating.
Also "guests" were the dog and the cats living and eating together wit us in the living and breakfast corner...The cats walked through and over our dishes and their meal was served next to us sitting on a bench to eat our breakfast. The cats "pissed" on newspapers extended on the floor of the "sala"= living & breakfast corner.
Some of us - 9 persons, a mixture of men and women together had to sleep in one big room with at their disposal one shower and one toilet. The basket with "used toilet paper" was not even emptied during all those three days.
We barely managed to stay in The Maze, but we decided to close our eyes not making any trouble because of our young fellow having organised it.
As "topp of the bill" there was a Rock Party the last night. Not one inch left to sit or stand in the whole house. We could not sleep because of the noise and went to sit on the highest terace with a bottle of beer -untill 2 o'clock in the morning (the party finished at 4 o'clock).
And...you can't believe it...: we had to pay twice the price of our beer because of "the party"...
No excuses for disturbing us....no excuses for all this mess.
My English is not good enough any more to give you more details....But anywhay I hope having been "helpfull" to you with this message ...:The Maze Never....Never again

Room Tip: There are no "good rooms"
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2012

Special, nice and charming place to stay in Rio de Janeiro. Friendly and safe neighbood up on a hill in catete. nice price for rio. we enjoyed terrace room with amazing view. clean and comfortable room. the hosting familie was more than just georgous. Thank you so much !!!!!
Suggestion: profit on the cheap transfer in old vw minivans from the mainroad up to the hill and back down - its a long and ascend steeply way by walking:-)

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank chklink76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2012

This place is NOT for everyone.
However, if you are considering it, you probably are the type of person that will be okay with some of things you will be dealing with if you stay here.

First - the neighborhood is very SAFE. Do not worry about this.
It is located in the Flamengo neighborhood - there are not really any sites here, but it is fairly close to the attractions - a few metro stops or bus ride to the center, Sugarloaf, Copacabana, etc...

Another positive -the views are utterly AMAZING.

Now - here is what you really need to know - that is how to actually get to the Maze Inn. Your taxi will turn up the final road and go up a very windy road up a hill. It will drop you off at the end of road - literally - there is no more street. However, the hotel is not there. You need to walk down a narrow street (though this is part of the unique experience and charm of the place as you get to experience a 'real' neighborhood) for a few minutes before coming across the hotel. The street does have several yellow 'MAZE' stickers lining the road and showing you that you are indeed on the correct street. The stickers are very helpful, because if you don't speak Portuguese then it would be a bit daunting to be dropped off by your taxi and then wander down this street hoping to find your hotel. Now this is all well and good. After you check in and decide to see Rio, that is where things get a bit more complicated. If you are someone who tends to go visit sites, and wants to come back to your hotel to change, relax, drop stuff off, etc, multiple times a day - then this place may not be for you. However, if you are someone that heads out once and comes back at night, then this place will work just fine. Here is why: So to go see anything in Rio, you have to walk a few minutes down the narrow road, then get to the street where the taxi dropped you off. You then take a small van (price = 1 real) to go down the windy road to the street below - this takes around 7 or 8 minutes - but sometimes you have to wait 5 or 10 minutes for the van to fill up before it goes. And you have to do the same thing to go up the hill - Wait for the van - wait for the van to fill with passengers - and then the drive up to the top of the street (about 10 minutes, price =2.5 reals to go up).
While not tremendously difficult, it is not particularity convenient either, So all in all, because you have to make a bit of an effort just to get up and down that hill, and then move on to the more interesting parts of Rio, going back and forth to the Maze Inn multiple times a day would be time consuming and a bit annoying. Note - if you take taxis, then you can ignore this point, and you'll be fine. And this is a serious hill - Forget about trying to walk up it to get to the hotel, and even walking down would take quite a while.

The staff and owners are friendly and accessible. Make sure you ask for their very useful map with lots of important info.

I stayed in a single room - a small room, but perfectly adequate - also had a fan. Room had a private bathroom, which was tiny - but fine for me. There was hot water in the shower.

Something that might be an issue for some - I had to go up three flights of stairs to get to my room - including the last flight which was a very tight spiral staircase - this may be difficult or unappealing to some, and if you have a very large suitcase not quite sure how you would get it up to the top floor.

The decor is interesting - with the owners own paintings hanging, as well as a stage - there is live jazz a few times a month. The design reminded me of Tunisian cave home architecture - I guess that is not a very useful comparison for most
: )
Let's just say it is eclectic.

Breakfast is good, but not great - There are a variety of juices and fruit, plus tea and coffee, and a different assortment of things each day - One day there was bread, cheese, garlic bread, cake, and eggs; the next day there was only some fruit, bread, and cheese.

It is a bit expensive for what you get - but it is Rio, which is not cheap, and you are paying for the unique experience.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank move360
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2012

"the maze" is a great place which offers a unique experience in rio.
It is located in a friendly maze-like neighbourhood (tavares bastos) with touch of a village atmosphere. staying at this place (or visiting the jazz session hold every 1st friday, a month) will offer you a side of rio different from anything what you could usually get as a tourist.
the host, life-experienced englishman Bob, offers not only a fantastic breakfast buffet but also tons of stories about his life as a musician, painter, journalist and filmmaker. his lovely wife and personell add to the friendly atmosphere.
staying at the maze has been an experience I do not want to miss, in no case, and I will surely go back, when in rio again.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank max p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rio de Janeiro hotels
Santa Teresa
Hotel Santa Teresa Rio MGallery by Sofitel
Hotel Santa Teresa Rio MGallery ...
#10 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
313 reviews
Copacabana
Belmond Copacabana Palace
Belmond Copacabana Palace
#5 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
3,335 reviews
Santa Teresa
Casa Beleza
Casa Beleza
#2 of 337 in Rio de Janeiro
587 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Teresa
Casa Cool Beans B&B
Casa Cool Beans B&B
#1 of 337 in Rio de Janeiro
800 reviews
Copacabana
CabanaCopa Hostel
CabanaCopa Hostel
#94 of 826 in Rio de Janeiro
487 reviews
Copacabana
Hilton Rio de Janeiro Copacabana
Hilton Rio de Janeiro Copacabana
#16 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
2,728 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Maze Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Maze Inn

Address: Rua Tavares Bastos 414 _ 66 | Catete, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22221-030, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 337 B&Bs / Inns in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range: $70 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
National Geographic describes The MAZE as "Unique and Original". Designed and built during 4 decades by Bob Nadkarni (Stanley Kubrick's sculptor-2001 A Space Odyssey). The architecture reflects the Atlantic Forest, the foothills and the sweeping bays which surround it. Situated in a Rio favela, it reveals the source of Brazil's creativity whilst being the safest location in Rio de Janeiro. The MAZE is a family home, family run. It's typical guests are architects, writers, photographers, artists, musicians and adventurous souls. Probably not for anyone with serious mobility difficulties or cat phobia however. The view is probably the finest in Rio. The Breakfast is big. Guest chat'n'mingle is wonderful and stimulating. The MAZE is a fine-art museum with a jazz night celebrated (4 years running) by US DOWNBEAT Magazine amongst the "World's Top Jazz Venues" The owner, ex BBC TV correspondent, ex war cameraman, painter, writer and jazzman welcomes you into his home and his world. The MAZE is a place to lose yourself and find yourself. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Maze Hotel Rio De Janeiro
The Maze Inn Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing