We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a wonderful experience!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Gavea Tropical Boutique Hotel
Ranked #188 of 282 Hotels in Rio de Janeiro
Waterford, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“What a wonderful experience!”
Reviewed November 15, 2012

My husband and I recently spent a short but incredible holiday in Rio.
If you have any mobility problems, this is unlikely to be the hotel for you as there are lots of steps. Other than that, the place is sheer magic! The rooms are unique, we were lucky enough to have the suite, but the views from all the rooms, day and night, have to be seen to be believed. The hotel is a taxi ride from the beaches, but the surroundings are just fabulous. Christ the Redeemer to the left, sea ahead and more tree covered hills to the right, tall papaya trees outside the window, lovely friendly little monkeys who will gently take slices of banana from your hand! Lovely breakfast on the veranda...what more could a person want? The staff, led by Raniere are exceptional and so, so friendly and helpful. Nothing was too much trouble for them. Raniere's advice was well worth taking and added hugely to our enjoyment of the holiday. When Louise discovered that I was being devoured by mosquitos, she sprayed the room, closed the shutters and provided me with repellent!
Would I go back again? In a flash. Couldn't recommend the place more!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Joananne3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    22
    10
    5
    7
See reviews for
6
51
7
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2012

Beautiful place to stay in Rio - a bit further from the beach than hotels in Ipanema, Leblon, and Copacabana, but it makes the place feel much more like a retreat. It backs up in to the forest so it stays nice and cool. The monkeys are just as adorable as they seem in the pictures. Breakfast was nice, a typical continental style breakfast like we'd seen elsewhere on our trip. The manager, Rainier, was very friendly and spoke English very well. The room itself was lovely, we stayed in Room 1 and the view was fantastic. Shower had good water pressure and the bed was cozy. My only qualm was that the toilet wasn't separated off from the rest of the room. It had walls around it, but the top was open so my newlywed husband had to listen to be everything I had to pee in the middle of the night!

Room Tip: Go for Room 1 - the presidential suite has the best view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ajeancompton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cordova, Tennessee
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 17, 2012

Personal attention from A to Z! The Room was sophisticated and dreamlike. We fealt like we were in a tree house secluded only by nature. Very jungle esque. Some adorable monkeys greeted us, we checked our msgs. with phones/tablets on the deck, could see Christ the Redeemer in the distance! The beach, shopping just 5 minutes away and scrumptious breakfast with all the trimmings each morning on the veranda.

Room Tip: only 7 rooms, all divine. Book early!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lori r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forest Hills, New York
1 review
Reviewed July 25, 2012

We stayed at Gavea Tropical Boutique Hotel for our honeymoon in July 2012. Needless to say the Presidential Suite (Room #1) offers the same splendid view offered on the hotel's site. The breakfast included is not your typical continental bkfast, it is far more than that and worth getting up in the morning to savor. You can feed the monkeys sliced bananas! (macacao)

The staff: Ranieri, Marcelo, Matias, Luiza, Tatiana, Eleinha, and John were formidable and made our stay very pleasant. The Hotel's proximity to the beaches of Leblon and Ipanema made it very easy for us to enjoy Rio de Janeiro. Since it is situated just ten minutes away from the beaches, the fact the property is situated in a private condo owned and housing real estate made it rather easy for us to commute back and forth during all hours of the day.

In short, we could not have asked for a more pleasant hotel to enjoy our honeymoon. You will not be disappointed...

-Mr. & Mrs. H
New York, NY

Room Tip: There are only 6 rooms in the entire hotel, balcony included. You cannot go wrong with a presidenti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank francisco h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2012

I stayed here for a week just before Carnival earlier this month. I was immeditately impressed with the level of service and care and attention to detail. The hotel is a little out of the way of the main drag, but for me that was exactly what I wanted. The hotel manager is fantastic and went out of his way to ensure I had everything I needed, from excellent wifi connection to a hammock on the balcony. He arranged transport for me to get into the main part of Gavea (which actually only takes 5-10 minutes in the car) and further afield (approximately 15 - 20 minutes into Leblon) and I found this to be reasonably priced.
I was there on business, so I didn't get to do too many of the fun things there are to do around the city, but had a wanted to the hotel staff would have been more than happy to arrange things and offer honest advice on the best / most cost effective way of doing them. I would thoroughly recommend this hotel and hope to go back one day to see the monkeys! (they were a little shy while I was there)

Room Tip: Only 5 or 6 rooms and all have lovely views over the city, including Christ the Redeemer, which is l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SeeEBee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antwerp, belgium
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2011

beginning of October I stayed again for 12 days at Gavea tropical. And it was as amazing as the first time. This time I even had every day by breakfast the company of the little monkey's that live in the forest in the neighbourghood of gavea tropical. a real show everyday. there so cute! like last time again staff was very attentive and nice and everything was perfect. the weather was not as nice as last time but well, you're in RIO so who cares .On request they also organise dinner for you and it is really good. loved the chicken stroganoff.
I hope I can come again soon to have my dream come true part 3

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pascale39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
US
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2010

The hotel is near Ipanema Beach in a secluded, quiet location. It is also adjacent to Rocinha, and a member of the staff took us on a tour, but we never felt unsafe (another reviewer said that s/he worried about this). A car and driver are available for excursions for the same price (or better) than a taxi, and the owners John and Elaine are very kind and helpful - Elaine helped us find tickets to the Sambadromo for the same day (during Carnaval) when everyone told us that was impossible! Lavish breakfast served on the terrace.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JHC2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rio de Janeiro hotels
The Villa
#165 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
367 reviews
Santa Teresa
Hotel Santa Teresa Rio MGallery by Sofitel
Hotel Santa Teresa Rio MGallery ...
#10 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
271 reviews
Botafogo
YOO2 Rio de Janeiro
YOO2 Rio de Janeiro
#9 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barra da Tijuca
Blue Tree Premium Design Rio de Janeiro
Blue Tree Premium Design Rio de ...
#43 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
382 reviews
Vila Gale Rio de Janeiro
#26 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
626 reviews
Copacabana
PortoBay Rio Internacional Hotel
PortoBay Rio Internacional Hotel
#17 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
2,320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gavea Tropical Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gavea Tropical Boutique Hotel

Property: Gavea Tropical Boutique Hotel
Address: Rua Sergio Porto N 85 | Gavea, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22451-430, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#23 Spa Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#53 Business Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Gavea Tropical Boutique Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Is a unique and luxurious resort located in a tropical environment in the hills of Gávea, which offers wonderful nature and tranquility where every suite with private terrace has a view of Christ the Redeemer, Sugar Loaf Mountain and Rodrigo de Freitas Lake, the best hide away with Oriental SPA Resort, making your stay unforgettable in Rio, next to Leblon and Ipanema beaches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Gavea Tropical Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gavea Tropical Boutique Hotel Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing