We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What I need everytime”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ibis Rio de Janeiro Santos Dumont
Ranked #110 of 281 Hotels in Rio de Janeiro
St. Paul's Bay, Malta
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“What I need everytime”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2010

Close walking to the SDU airport, is an Ibis, nothing more, nothing less. Nice place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pmichelazzo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,952 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    539
    1,418
    789
    135
    71
See reviews for
547
543
374
1,239
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brasilia, DF
Level Contributor
47 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2010

Ibis Santos Dumont is very well located - near Santos Dumont airport (you can go walking) and in the city centre. The advantage ends here. It's becoming very expensive for what it delivers. There's only wifi in the lobby and you have to pay for the internet - you can have free internet on a B&B in Portuguese countryside or on a hostel in Patagonia! And the breakfast is very expensive. Hope Novotel, just on the next door, have a better service.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patricia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redding, California
Level Contributor
213 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2010

If you need convenience to the city centre/downtown, as well as being the closest hotel to Santos Dumont (domestic flights) airport, then this is your business hotel. High-speed Internet and breakfast are extra, not included normally.

It is a basic business traveler hotel, no extra amenities (no pool, fitness center, sauna) but they do have a lobby bar with free wifi, and restaurant on the 2nd floor. It's a 15-20 minute tax ride to Copacabana for an afternoon walk, or 5-10 minutes to Flamengo/Botafogo beaches.

Note: there is a Novotel that is in the same building, one door over - opening mid-2010.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank InternationalCare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
239 reviews
125 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 253 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2010

We stayed at the Ibis Santos Dumont for 3 nights to experience the New Year's party at Copacabana Beach. Since all the hotels at Copacabana charged peak rates during this period, the Ibis was a welcome alternative. It is located next to Santos Dumont Airport. When you arrive at SDU, take the pedestrian bridge over the highway and keep walking straight. You will pass the rear side of the hotel, you will realize this when you see the entrance of the Ibis parking garage. Easy to walk with light or mid-size baggage. To the subway it is a 10-minutes walk, the stop is Cinelândia. However, there are people living on the street in this area, to return to the hotel late at night I would recommend to use a taxi. Lapa is a nice area with lively bars, it is a 15-minutes walk away. Here again, a taxi is recommended to return late at night.

Breakfast is served from 4am till noon, though the full breakfast buffet (11 R$) is only available till 10am, during after-hours a late- or early-risers breakfast is available at the bar for 5.50 R$. We bought an internet package for wireless access in our room for 12 R$, for 24 hours.

The NY's party at Copacabana Beach was overwhelming! Though, getting home after the fireworks was kind of tricky. Traffic in the Copacabana area came to a complete standstill, so we walked quite a way, through the tunnel, till Botafogo, I think. There we managed to get a taxi to take us home (for 40 R$, which was about double of what this distance would normally cost).

I would definitely recommend the Ibis Santos Dumont!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank luke.traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2010

I had read from tripadvisor that this hotel was clean and reasonably priced. Both correct. However several people commented on lost reservations, so when I booked (a week before the trip), I was really careful to reiterate all details to woman over the phone. She told me not to worry and credit card details, as long as we arrived before 5pm. I insisted she took them as I wanted to be 100% sure of the booking. She gave me no confirmation number, so I assumed this was normal. Of course when we arrived offa 20 hour journey, there was no reservation and we were told they were 100% full. I was so angry. Barely any English was spoken so I had to struggle in Spanish, which was barely understood either. The woman refused to get a manager to sort out the issue and only for a couple had to leave earlier than expected, we would have had no room. I paid fully for the 2 nights in cash and am now horrified to see that they actually took a night off my credit card. I can't call them to complain as no one seemed to care or speak English. I am hoping someone in Ibis HQ sees this and responds.... Warning to all travellers - reservations get lost in this otherwise decent hotel.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thesmilingleprauchan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Everywhere
Level Contributor
41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2010

Well, as I wrote in the title "ibis is ibis". Nobody would expect to much to be on an Ibis hotel. The room is quite ok, internet is free, there is a little frige on the room it a couple bed. All the energy conector are 220V and american type, there is air conditioning that works fine, the room is well cleaned. The breakfast is a standard for Brazil: there are some fruits normally 4 kinds (always the same), scrambled eggs, ham, cheese, some types of breads and cakes, coffee, milk and tee.
The reason I wroted this review is that this "Standard" hotel is one of the best I know here in Rio de Janeiro, where the hotels are old and Expensive. And I think the only "problem" is the location - it is next door to the airport santos dumont that means the beaches (good ones) are more or less far away.

Would I recommend it? Yes, for sure! if you are travelling for business, if you are looking for cost - benefit hotel.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Guga2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2009

The Ibis Santos Dumont is centrally located in Rio de Janeiro, near the domestic airport (Santos Dumont - SDU). The hotel is very modern, clean and has a restaurant which serves healthy and tasty food at reasonable price. Internet wifi/cable available. It is a fairly good bargain in a city with expensive hotels. The location is not near the beaches but it has easy access with public transportation.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hardii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rio de Janeiro hotels
Centro
Hotel ibis Rio de Janeiro Centro
Hotel ibis Rio de Janeiro Centro
#114 of 281 in Rio de Janeiro
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,099 reviews
Centro
Hotel Novotel Rio De Janeiro Santos Dumont
Hotel Novotel Rio De Janeiro San...
#52 of 281 in Rio de Janeiro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,352 reviews
Centro
Hotel ibis budget Rio de Janeiro Centro
Hotel ibis budget Rio de Janeiro...
#152 of 281 in Rio de Janeiro
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,907 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro
Aeroporto Othon
Aeroporto Othon
#257 of 281 in Rio de Janeiro
3.0 of 5 bubbles 516 reviews
Copacabana
Ibis Copacabana Posto 2
Ibis Copacabana Posto 2
#59 of 281 in Rio de Janeiro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,982 reviews
Arcos Rio Palace Hotel
#126 of 281 in Rio de Janeiro
3.5 of 5 bubbles 376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Rio de Janeiro Santos Dumont? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Rio de Janeiro Santos Dumont

Property: Ibis Rio de Janeiro Santos Dumont
Address: Avenida Marechal Camara 280, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 20020-080, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Centro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#18 Best Value Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#37 Business Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#46 Family Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Rio de Janeiro Santos Dumont 3*
Number of rooms: 330
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ibis Rio de Janeiro Santos Dumont has 330 rooms and is located downtown offering easy access to the main entertainment district of the city. It is 200 m from Santos Dumont Airport, less than 500 m from the beach and only 10 minutes from Copacabana where you will find great bars, restaurants and nightclubs. The Ibis Hotel features a restaurant, a bar and private parking. All the apartaments are No Smoking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotel.de, Agoda, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Ibis Rio de Janeiro Santos Dumont reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Rio De Janeiro Santos Dumont Hotel Rio De Janeiro
Ibis Rio De Janeiro Santos Dumont Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing