We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sublime! GO GO GOOO”

Zaza Bistro Tropical
Ranked #46 of 13,709 Restaurants in Rio de Janeiro
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $35 - $60
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Neighborhood: Ipanema
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
114 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Sublime! GO GO GOOO”
Reviewed May 23, 2014 via mobile

we ate here on the recommendation of Lonely planet, and crumbs did it live up to its expectation.
The starters were nice, but it was all about the main courses. I had the salmon sashimi, and there was a lot of it. It sat in a wonderful gingery curry sauce and and big heap of tasty couscous. However, my girlfriend's meal stole the show. I think it was called Flambeed Scampi Risotto or something. A few HUGE shrimps, and I'm talking really big and juicy, and a lemon risotto. Simple, but absolutely divine. I'd go as far as to say one of the best meals I've tried in over 3 months of travelling the world so far.
For dessert the banana carpaccio brûlée was something new and delicious, and the devils chocolate cake was equally as tasty.
It was just a fantastic meal with fantastic service and waiters (English speaking too), and I would thoroughly recommend it. We will be returning for sure before the end of our trip to Rio for the shrimp and risotto again!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Augustuscalv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,639 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,538
    810
    188
    55
    48
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“GREAT FOOD!”
Reviewed May 19, 2014

A group of us went to Zaza for a late lunch and everyone had bites of everyones meals, everything was delicious! The best thing was the sea bass!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bzutz_international
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The best contemporanea food in Rio”
Reviewed May 17, 2014 via mobile

It is a beautifull place in the middle of ipanema, next to the beach of ipanema. It is cozy place, you can eat seated on the floor or on the table. The food is delicious and diferrent of what you eat in rio, if you want to run away of picanha and beans and rice to there. Go there if you are in Rio you'll enjoy.

Helpful?
Thank Marlene F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
602 reviews
235 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 252 helpful votes
“Wonderful and eclectic dining”
Reviewed May 8, 2014 via mobile

We had a most enjoyable lunch at this local Ipanema icon.The setting is unique in a hotch botch of decor but it has a wonderful casual feel about it.
The staff are on the ball.
The food was great.... Different and very tasty.
We had the organic chicken & vegetable curry and a beef & beer stew. Both dishes were outstanding.
Up stairs one has to take your shoes off to walk on the grass.
Prices are very reasonable.
Just go and enjoy.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank djhallett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
54 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Amazing place! One of the best place in Ipanema/Copacabana”
Reviewed May 7, 2014

I've been there with my girlfriend 2 weeks ago. We didn't reserve the table but we found the last one available. I suggest to book before going.
We took 4 cocktails con vodka, 2 starters, two main dishes and 1 cake for 300 reis! Amazing dinner! Little expensive but it was really a great place! I recommend it to everybody!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank duarte82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zaza Bistro Tropical also viewed

 
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
 
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
 

Been to Zaza Bistro Tropical? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing