We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fun place, excellent food and cocktails”

Zaza Bistro Tropical
Ranked #46 of 13,740 Restaurants in Rio de Janeiro
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $35 - $60
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Neighborhood: Ipanema
Calgary, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“A fun place, excellent food and cocktails”
Reviewed February 15, 2013

Do not miss this experience! We each had the scampi and lemon risotto, it was cooked to perfection. If you wish to dine later in the evening a reservation is a must, particularly on a Friday or Saturday night. English is understood at the Zaza. Prices are reasonable.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank beaway24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,655 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,550
    812
    188
    56
    49
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hagerstown, Maryland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“LOVED this restaurant!”
Reviewed February 14, 2013

My son and I were in Rio de Janerio in January. We loved the intimate ambiance of Zaza and well as the friendly staff, right from the start. The drinks and the food are very creative and are exquisite and delicious! We loved it so much, that we returned once again for our last night in Rio, as a celebration of our wonderful trip.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DMKross
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banska Stiavnica, Slovakia
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“sit down and enjoy”
Reviewed February 14, 2013

this place was recommended to us by friends who went there few years ago. they said it was one of their best atosphere/gastronomic experiences they had in Rio. we went there and had all the things they mentioned: nice atmosphere and delicious food. we enjoyed both very much.
prices are a little bit higher, but it's worth coming for a nice late lunch or dinner.
if you want to go for dinner, better make a reservation. place is very popular.
they also accept credit cards, so you don't have to worry if you have enough money to have some of their amazing desserts (order chocolate cake with lemon sorbet!)

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank IvaMales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porto Alegre
Level 6 Contributor
90 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“wonderful food and environment”
Reviewed February 14, 2013

This is a beautiful and charming bistro, and the food is amazing - so are the drinks by the way. I like to just order the appetizers, they have a cold and a hot platter of appetizers and they are all excellent. the bathrooms are beautiful - go check them out. You are close to the beach, and everyone is so helpful. definitely, go.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank cbonorino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great food, great place”
Reviewed February 13, 2013

Tasty, yummy. Nice and warm place to sit. Food is creative , delightfully!,
the only thing I have to say, we need to wait for a seat 50 min,
Worth place

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sigalreshef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zaza Bistro Tropical also viewed

 
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
 

Been to Zaza Bistro Tropical? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing