We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“sit down and enjoy”

Zaza Bistro Tropical
Ranked #46 of 13,740 Restaurants in Rio de Janeiro
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $35 - $60
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Neighborhood: Ipanema
Banska Stiavnica, Slovakia
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“sit down and enjoy”
Reviewed February 14, 2013

this place was recommended to us by friends who went there few years ago. they said it was one of their best atosphere/gastronomic experiences they had in Rio. we went there and had all the things they mentioned: nice atmosphere and delicious food. we enjoyed both very much.
prices are a little bit higher, but it's worth coming for a nice late lunch or dinner.
if you want to go for dinner, better make a reservation. place is very popular.
they also accept credit cards, so you don't have to worry if you have enough money to have some of their amazing desserts (order chocolate cake with lemon sorbet!)

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank IvaMales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,655 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,550
    812
    188
    56
    49
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Porto Alegre
Level 6 Contributor
90 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“wonderful food and environment”
Reviewed February 14, 2013

This is a beautiful and charming bistro, and the food is amazing - so are the drinks by the way. I like to just order the appetizers, they have a cold and a hot platter of appetizers and they are all excellent. the bathrooms are beautiful - go check them out. You are close to the beach, and everyone is so helpful. definitely, go.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank cbonorino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great food, great place”
Reviewed February 13, 2013

Tasty, yummy. Nice and warm place to sit. Food is creative , delightfully!,
the only thing I have to say, we need to wait for a seat 50 min,
Worth place

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sigalreshef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“One of the best in Ipanema”
Reviewed February 11, 2013

Have been to this restaurant twice in recent days. The decor is rather eclectic and may not be to all tastes. The staff are friendly and there is a good degree of English spoken by the staff. The menu is in English too. The food is tasty, well presented, nicely portioned and good. The service can be a little slower than one would like but this seems to be standard for Brazil. A very nice experience.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank reybro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level 6 Contributor
82 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Bohemian restaurant, full of character!”
Reviewed February 9, 2013

Based on all the guide and hotel reviews, we definitely had this place on our dining list. We walked from Copacabana beach to the cozy neighborhood in Ipanema.

Right away, the special funky decor of the place captivates you. Since we had no reservation, we waited around 30mn for a seat in outdoor terrace. The place was packed that night, with tourists but also locals which was a good sign for a famous place like this.

Their drink menus is pretty unique. I liked the passion fruit caipinrinhas. The food is fusion, morrocan meets brazilian also with heavy Indian, Thai influences. For starters we enjoyed the shrimp samosas. As entrees, I had the Thai Shrimp served with red curry sauce and basmati rice. My husband ordered the lamb baked with potato, ravioli, mint and yogurt and truffles oil sauce. All the dishes were delicious and plated beautifully.

The only drawback, with this place being so upscale, everything was expensive and small portions. The service was lackadaisical.

Overall, great experience. Like others have mentioned make sure to visit the whole place while you're there. The upstairs Moroccan theme is worth seeing

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tayie83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zaza Bistro Tropical also viewed

 
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
 

Been to Zaza Bistro Tropical? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing