We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We stayed here twice, don't stay by the beach just because it's famous!”
Review of Casa Beleza

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Casa Beleza
Ranked #3 of 342 Rio de Janeiro B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed December 29, 2009

If you are looking for somewhere to stay so that you can visit Rio, this should definitely be near the top of your list.

We stayed here for two nights and then spent a couple of nights over in Niteroi, we had planned to spend our last night in Barra with some "couch surfers" but we liked Casa Beleza so much that we decided to have an extra nights stay here :)

We visited the Ipanema & Copacabana beaches and unless you really want to stay right next to a beach because it's famous ( remember these are city beaches... so not really that amazing! ) we would definitely recommend staying in Casa Beleza instead.

It's a lovely house with a great garden with little monkeys living in the trees that we managed to feed one day which was great, you won't find that in a 4* tower block hotel ;-)

One must if you stay here is to have a ride on the little yellow trams, it's quite an experience!

There are a hand full of nice restaurants within 5 minutes walk from Casa Beleza where we ate each evening. There are security guards on most of the streets, which makes you feel the area must have it's share of problems, but it also gives you a sense of feeling more secure than walking around the main city areas at night.

Finally... I must to forget to mention the breakfast which was excellent.. thank you all, and I am sure you will see us again :)

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank readingdancer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (591)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

430 - 436 of 591 reviews

Reviewed December 26, 2009

Our luck was in when we managed to secure a stay at the beautiful Casa Beleza just before Xmas 2009. To find somewhere so stunning and so remarkably welcoming at short notice, in the district we wanted, for a family of four with a very young member and a not so young member; suggests that we must have been blessed by the nearby Christo who looks down benevolently from Corcavados.

We cannot state just how much we enjoyed our stay and as sure as we were sad to leave, we are as sure we will return next year with yet more family to enjoy this idyllic and friendly location.

You must try to get some availability!

Santa Theresa is one of Rio's best locations, and the gorgeous Casa Beleza fits in with the area exquisitely. The building is stunning, the rooms are large, spotless and beautifully decorated and very generously equipped. My wife, baby girl and mother-in-law & I were all extremely comfortable and had our ever need catered for.

The lovely owners and their attentive and friendly staff made us feel like friends rather than guests and looked after our every need and whim, with a graciousness and pleasantness that will live long in the memory. Having such a spread of ages, we put them to the test I can assure you, and the passed with flying colours.

From the cooling pool to the bountiful breakfasts, the facilities were superb. For us bonuses just kept on coming; the owners lovely young girl played with our own daughter, the houses menagerie of wildlife delighted us all and the amicable hosts were never far away to indulge us with some conversation and advice to ensure we were relaxed, happy and that our every needs were pandered to.

We have never had a bad visit to Rio, but this one was special and the gang at Casa Beleza were all very much instrumental in that. I am sure we will return soon, and again I strongly suggest that you give it a try for yourself.

You will not be disappointed.

Hamish / London

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hammilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2009

We stayed here over New Year 2008/2009 (sorry for the late rating!) & it was the best place in Rio. In fact, best place I stayed in over 4 months of travelling through South America, and the city itself was great fun too...

The rooms are really nicely decorated, always clean, the house is in a great area up in Santa Teresa, which is v cool & chilled out! The pictures, although great, can't even begin to describe how good it is... trust all the reviews & stay here!

Bindu made some great Caipirinhas for the celebrations too, lovely breakfasts every day, nice touches throughout the stay in fact! New year on Copacabana was THE best thing ever... ate at some incredible restaurants - a few in Santa Teresa - Aprazivel, Asia, then two incredible local fish restaurants (they're all on one street, it's too easy!) & Zaza down in Ipanema (i think?!) was v romantic, lovely food.

Would also recommend sky diving - see Copacabana, Maracana etc from above... also did paragliding, which was nice... plenty of other fun things - sugar loaf, the lake, beaches, all within a taxi, tram or bus ride! The buses are crazy! Learn Portuguese if you are a traveller, get involved in some local lingo!

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank B8M5E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2009

The welcome,the local knowledge, the personal touches, the spacious bedroom and stunning gardens make this a wonderful place from which to be introduced to Rio! Santa Theresa was by far our favourite area in Rio, with quaint cobbled streets and lively local bars. Antoine and Bindu made us feel very welcome here, and we couldnt have thought of a better place to start our holiday.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CathyPhelv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2009

My Wife and I recently stayed at Casa Beleza, and our little vacation was nothing short of spectacular. The house is absolutely gorgeous, the accommodations very ample and clean, the location is ideal for those seeking relaxation and homeliness, the breakfasts were simple and delicious, and the company was nothing short of generous in every capacity.

Bindu and Antoine, the proprietors, were there for our every need and really set us on the right course to seeing and enjoying Rio. We were met with tasty Caipirinhas from our hosts, which seemed to promptly jolt us into our vacation, and friendships at Casa Beleza.

Santa Teresa itself is just the sort of quaint neighborhood we were looking for. It's quiet and has plenty of character and charm. The hills offer great views of the city. There are a number of little places to grab a bite, a drink, or enjoy some samba and even some forró. The main street is small but has a few quality restaurants and galleries. The bonde (trolley) makes the commute to Centro easy, cheap, and breathtaking. Otherwise Santa Teresa is just a quick taxi ride away from any of the many Rio sights – of which, Bindu is a invaluable resource for recommendations, contacts, planning and the like.

We highly encourage you to experience this gem if you are visiting Rio de Janeiro. Again, our expectations were met and exceeded. We cannot wait until our next visit.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Real922
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2009

My wife an I had a lovely stay in Casa Beleza during our holiday in Brasil. The rooms we stayed was clean and perfectly furnished, the pool gave great refreshment and the Santa Teresa neighborhood great food and cosy bars. Besides this, Bindu and Antoine gave us a great feeling of being home. We definitely will return to Casa Beleza.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sixty_seven67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2009

We recently had the pleasure of staying with Bindu and Anton. We loved staying in Santa Teresa at Casa Beliza, a beautifully restored old mansion dating from the 1920`s. It is a very bohemian area of the city just a short bus or tram ride from historical Centro and the Lapa area. It is only a 30 minute bus or Metro ride from Centro to Copacabana & Ipanema. We took the ride to Centro, as often as we could, on the Bonde (local historic tram); great fun! The restaurants in Santa Teresa are great and just a short walk from the Casa. We stayed for a week and tried a different one every night.
We had the attic room which was light and spacious with a great bathroom and view. There is a lovely pool in the beautiful gardens. Donisette, the gardener, will whistle down the gorgeous small monkeys for handfeeding. There are also 3 large tortoises to feed at breakfast time. A sumptuous breakfast is served by Vilma in the garden where plans for the day`s activities can be made with Bindu`s knowledgeable assistance. Make sure you have Bindu book the Favela tour with Paulo.
We highly recommend staying at Casa Beliza.
Rex & Lyn (Darwin, Australia)

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wildlyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rio de Janeiro hotels
Santa Teresa
Hotel Santa Teresa Rio MGallery by Sofitel
Hotel Santa Teresa Rio MGallery ...
#9 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
337 reviews
Santa Teresa
Casa Cool Beans B&B
Casa Cool Beans B&B
#1 of 342 in Rio de Janeiro
808 reviews
Santa Teresa
Casa 48
Casa 48
#4 of 342 in Rio de Janeiro
115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Teresa
Rio Panoramic
Rio Panoramic
#7 of 342 in Rio de Janeiro
217 reviews
Santa Teresa
Mama Ruisa
Mama Ruisa
#2 of 342 in Rio de Janeiro
413 reviews
Santa Teresa
Discovery Suites Rio
Discovery Suites Rio
#8 of 342 in Rio de Janeiro
61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Beleza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Beleza

Address: Rua Laurinda Santos Lobo 311, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 20240-270, Brazil
Phone Number:
Location: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Santa Teresa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 342 B&Bs / Inns in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range: $44 - $149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our B&B is in an exotic mansion in the heart of Santa Teresa, Rio's historic and cultural district. Guests have to share the tropical gardens with the 3 turtles, butterflies and small monkeys! We are close to all the city's main attractions and the district of Lapa with Rio's best music and nightlife. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Casa Beleza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Beleza Hotel Rio De Janeiro
Casa Beleza Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing