We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very beautiful place to stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Casa Beleza

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Casa Beleza
Ranked #2 of 330 Rio de Janeiro B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Very beautiful place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2013

I can only say few words about this place. It has been a really nice discovery and surprise.

The room was "superbe".. Service very good and Bindu has been a great host.
The area is very safe and offers a ritch cultural integration. You can drink with the locals at the bar ,just in the corner, and eat few of their their delicious specialities!

Thanks

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mohamed D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

567 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    497
    61
    8
    1
    0
See reviews for
87
330
49
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2013 via mobile

Looking back on my travels through Brazil, this place really sticks in my mind as one of my favourites. It was a fantastic spot and Bindu was simply outstanding as a host, however, the place really is disappointingly let down by the presence of Antoine. It's nothing personal, we just felt that he wasn't really bought in to the whole 'hospitality' thing and we all felt he gave off a reluctance to share his home with the travellers that come through.
Bindu I cannot praise enough on the other hand- she was down to earth, very laid back and packed full of recommendations for us. She also made a cracking caipirinha, which went down very well after days in the exhausting Rio heat.
The breakfast was great, very fresh and slightly different everyday, with lots of interesting cakes and fruit on offer.
We stayed in the loft room, which was a very sweet little room, though very hot! The air con unit couldn't seem to compete with the soaring temperatures, and Antoine wouldn't let us leave it on during the day- even just as a 'one off' as Rio was experiencing some of the hottest temperatures ever recorded! We usually hate air conditioning but in a 47+ degree heat it's pretty much essential.
Santa Teresa was totally safe and we had no problems there, one of our party did get pick-pocketed in Lapa, but it wasn't the end of the world, just beware of your stuff if you go there.
Would I recommend this place? Absolutely, without a doubt, and would definitely go back.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank LatinAmericaLover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
casabeleza, Owner at Casa Beleza, responded to this review, December 15, 2013
Olá - thanks so much for your review, and I'm so glad to know you have fond memories of your stay with us at Casa Beleza last year.

We remember well the record-breaking heat wave that summer, and it was our pleasure to serve you complementary caipirinhas in the pool to cool off!

Regarding the air conditioner - here at Casa Beleza, we make every effort to consider the environment - we have installed solar panels for the hot water, sensor lights, and use fresh water from our natural spring. We feel that in this day and age, it is unjustifiable to leave an empty room air conditioned all day.

I recall that we arranged for our staff to turn on your air conditioning unit at least an hour before your return so the room would be comfortable after a day's sightseeing. We would happily do this for any of our guests in the future too.

All the best in your future travels!!
Beijos,
Bindu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malmö
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2013

Beautiful and safe place a little bit off on the mountain side. Delcious breakfast and refreshing pool. Two turtles in the wellkept garden.
The owners are very helpful and kind. Convenient walk to bars and restaurants.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Moonstrucke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2013

We were recommended Casa Beleza by friends who went there on honeymoon, we then went there on honeymoon in October 2013 and we have since recommended it to friends who have gone on honeymoon. Highly recommend it.

We stayed in the Bungalow which is rustic, private and has lovely views over Rio. Bindu is so helpful, knowledgeable, friendly and funny. She gave us advice on anywhere we asked about without pushing her opinion on what we should do.

If you have kids then their young son and daughter will love having some company - we were entertained on a few occasions by their antics with another family whilst we were there and despite being on honeymoon, we loved the "life" that this brought to the place. Therefore, don't be put off by the family vibe - there are only a handful of rooms so it was never overcrowded or too loud.

The breakfast was again one of our favourites, every day we were served a different variety of fresh fruit, fresh juice, coffee, tea, bread and a type of egg and meat. All of this was served in the beautiful garden or in the communal area if it rained. You can also help yourselves to soft drinks, water and beer from the honesty fridge and pay on departure. We tried to change our booking to stay there for our whole stay but couldn't due to availability, we did manage 1 extra night though and it is so worth it as there is lots to do around there.

Make sure you ask Bindu about the weekly curry night in the local favela with Tom. One of our most favourite experiences because we felt like one of the locals, eating home made tandoori, drinking beers from the honesty fridge and talking to people from all walks of life. Also, her husband is a Musician so she recommended a number of nights out to see some local music. Make sure you go to Peurto de Sal on a Monday for Workers night - this was definitely our favourite night in Rio after the Curry night.

You may read things about Santa Teresa being unsafe but we never felt uneasy at all. The location was great - it was away from the main touristy area so was quirky but also quieter but was close to everything we needed. We could get a cab to Copacabana which would take about 5-10 mins max or we often walked down to the main station "Gloria" which took around 15 mins and then caught a bus which took another 20 mins or so depending on how far down the beach you want to go.

In Santa Teresa there are a number of restaurants and bars you can walk to if you don't fancy going to the more touristy parts. If you know London well, then we likened the atmosphere to somewhere in East London - like being around Shoreditch, Brick Lane etc. You are also close to Lapa here which is where there are more bars and nightlife. We didn't have enough time to do everything we wanted to do unfortunately.

We are missing this place a lot and have already talked about returning in a few years with our honeymoon buddies with our kids for a family holiday!

Room Tip: The bungalow was separate so great for some privacy and relaxation on the balcony. However, it was a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DanandOdy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
126 reviews
107 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 255 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2013

Casa Beleza was a good choice for us, particularly as first timers in Rio. We were met at the airport, as arranged with Bindu, and it all went like clockwork from there.

We stayed in the loft, which had a lovely view down the hill across gardens and rooftops. It was spacious and comfortable, although access is via a very narrow spiral staircase, not suitable for anybody with mobility issues. The bed was a decent size and firm. We couldn't find a hairdryer, but CB did have wifi. The bed linen and towels were OK.

Outside, the street winds up an easily walkable hill and is quiet. In the morning little vans come up making announcements about their services (gas bottles or hard rubbish collection), which really sets the neighbourhood feel for lovely Santa Teresa - I can't imagine staying in any other part of Rio having been there. There are shops close by, including great atmospheric bars and restaurants.

Although the tram is not working, little buses take you to/from the city centre, and we found it reasonably easy to get taxis - sometimes we had to ask a few times. Apparently some taxi drivers don't like driving on the cobbled streets in Santa Teresa. But most seemed to know where the classic Bar do Gomes was, and we asked to be dropped there (had a drink) and then did the short walk up the hill to CB.

The house itself sits above the street, and is well secured. There is an independent guest bungalow up in the back of the garden, and the guest rooms in the house are in a separate wing to where the family lives. There is a charming garden and a swimming pool.

The breakfast was great - generous and different each day with hold and cold food on offer and lots of lovely (presumably Brazilian) coffee. We ate in the garden except for one morning, when it was raining.

Bindu is very efficient in terms of managing bookings, and she can provide all sorts of information about the city, help with organising tours and all sorts of other local advice. She was making drinks for other guests on the night we arrived, and we were invited to enjoy a caipirinha with them, which was a nice way to arrive. Bindu has been running CB for over 7 years and clearly knows what's she's doing. She greeted the guests each morning, and was around at other times during the day for questions and a quick chat.

We would definitely recommend Santa Teresa and CB to anybody looking for characterful, safe and relaxed accommodation in Rio.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tongi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
regensburg
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2013

best spot to stay in rio. nothing more to say!

ah i see i have to right at least 200. well ...

best spot to stay in rio. nothing more to say!
best spot to stay in rio. nothing more to say!best spot to stay in rio. nothing more to say!best spot to stay in rio. nothing more to say!best spot to stay in rio. nothing more to say!best spot to stay in rio. nothing more to say!best spot to stay in rio. nothing more to say!best spot to stay in rio. nothing more to say!best spot to stay in rio. nothing more to say!best spot to stay in rio. nothing more to say!best spot to stay in rio. nothing more to say!best spot to stay in rio. nothing more to say!best spot to stay in rio. nothing more to say!best spot to stay in rio. nothing more to say!best spot to stay in rio. nothing more to say!best spot to stay in rio. nothing more to say!best spot to stay in rio. nothing more to say!best spot to stay in rio. nothing more to say!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chris s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
casabeleza, Owner at Casa Beleza, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Thanks so much for your kind review! Thanks so much for your kind review! Thanks so much for your kind review! Thanks so much for your kind review! Thanks so much for your kind review! Thanks so much for your kind review! Thanks so much for your kind review! Thanks so much for your kind review! Thanks so much for your kind review!

;-)

Beijos,
Bindu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2013

When I arrived at the airport the driver was waiting for me as agreed 6 month before! Santa Teresa is a beautiful, uphill built neighborhood with narrow and cobbled streets as well as lovely bars and restaurants. Casa Beleza's location is close (3 min walk) to Bar de Gomes, a favourite of the locals, the bus station and the tram station (tram will be out of service until 2014 due to an accident).
I stayed there for five nights in the Garden Bungalow, a lovely place apart from the main house with its own balcony, an amazing view and a lot of privateness.
Bindu and her partner Antoine turned out to be great hosts, being around whenever you need their advice or support. The staff was customer oriented, very friendly and helpful.
You may have your breakfast in the garden accompanied by little lizards: fresh fruit, eggs prepared in different ways, cheese, ham, jams, orange juice, coffee or tea, cake, cereals, milk, yoghurt, toasted bread, currant loaf.
Bindu is very good connected to people providing transportation and individual guided tours. Ask her for Annette Runge as guide and you will experience Rio in an unforgettable way.
Without doubt I can recommend Bindu's Casa Beleza as an excellent B&B I myself will return to whenever I come back to Rio!
Complains? There is not a single complain to mention!!!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DSWT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
casabeleza, Owner at Casa Beleza, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
If you happen to see this man on your travels, I suggest you follow him, because wherever he goes, the sun seems to be shining!!!

It was a pleasure to have you here, and meeting you reminded me of the old adage that traveling is truly a state of mind more than anything else.

Hope to see you back one day, thanks for taking the time to post a review!

Beijos
Bindu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rio de Janeiro hotels
Copacabana
Miramar Hotel by Windsor
Miramar Hotel by Windsor
#3 of 280 in Rio de Janeiro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,290 reviews
Slaviero Lifestyle Rio de Janeir...
#7 of 280 in Rio de Janeiro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 157 reviews
Santa Teresa
Casa Cool Beans B&B
Casa Cool Beans B&B
#1 of 330 in Rio de Janeiro
5.0 of 5 bubbles 755 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Teresa
Rio Panoramic
Rio Panoramic
#4 of 330 in Rio de Janeiro
5.0 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
Santa Teresa
Mama Ruisa
Mama Ruisa
#3 of 330 in Rio de Janeiro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 379 reviews
Santa Teresa
Casalegre Art Vila B&B - Santa Teresa
Casalegre Art Vila B&B - Santa T...
#5 of 330 in Rio de Janeiro
5.0 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Beleza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Beleza

Property: Casa Beleza
Address: Rua Laurinda Santos Lobo 311, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 20240-270, Brazil
Phone Number:
Location: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Santa Teresa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 330 B&Bs / Inns in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our B&B is in an exotic mansion in the heart of Santa Teresa, Rio's historic and cultural district. Guests have to share the tropical gardens with the 3 turtles, butterflies and small monkeys! We are close to all the city's main attractions and the district of Lapa with Rio's best music and nightlife. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Casa Beleza Hotel Rio De Janeiro
Casa Beleza Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing