We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Casa Beleza
Ranked #3 of 342 Rio de Janeiro B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed September 22, 2013

We also stayed at Casa beleza as part of our honeymoon trip to Brazil. We arrived after having missed 2 nights sleep (1 in jungle and 1 travelling back from Manaus) and were so grateful to find such a beautiful house, lovely room and hot shower! We stayed in the loft which had great views out over the city.

Bindu was really welcoming and gave us helpful tips about her favourite places in Rio and how best to travel around. She also organised taxis from the house for us when needed, including an early one to the airport and sorted a breakfast for us to take away on that day which was a nice touch. On the other days we enjoyed excellent breakfasts in the garden before heading out into the city to explore.

We were so pleased to have chosen to stay in Santa Teresa - we had some reservations as our (slightly out of date ) guide book said that it can still be a bit dodgy, however we enjoyed walking around and sampling the local bars and restaurants. It is a great neighbourhood and quite different from the rest of Rio. We ate locally and ended up being sat next to Alicia Keys at our restaurant on one night! We went out to a samba bar in Lapa which was excellent, close proximity to Santa Teresa and was easy enough to get cab there and back. We had some problems getting a cab back from Sugarloaf to the neighbourhood - some taxis aren't keen on the hills so do ask a few if the first ones won't take you and make sure they're on the meter rather than charging a fixed rate, as this will be over the odds.

We enjoyed Rio but definitely appreciated being in at Casa Beleza in Santa Teresa instead of staying in one of the big hotels on the beach, which aren't really our scene. So if you're after great service in a lovely house in a laid back neighbourhood this is the place for you!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jenni058
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (591)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

192 - 198 of 591 reviews

Reviewed September 20, 2013

Where to start? We stayed at Casa Beleza for 4 nights at the start of our honeymoon in Brazil and Argentina, and we absolutely loved it. Bindu and Antoine were lovely hosts, incredibly helpful with recommendations, booking taxis and organising transfers. Their 'door always open' approach is unusual for a family-run hotel and really useful. Its position in Santa Teresa is great to be close enough to everything in the city, but far enough away to get a more authentic experience, and see a different and culturally interesting side to the city. We were glad we chose to stay there rather than Copacabana or Ipanema.

The property itself is beautiful and set in lovely gardens. We stayed in the garden bungalow which was tucked away in a really private spot up the hill. It was gorgeous, beautifully decorated and furnished inside and with a large private terrace with hammock. The floor to ceiling windows gave us a fantastic view, and it was also fun to sit and watch the monkeys on the terrace!

Breakfast each morning was served outside (so long as it wasn't raining!), and varied each day. A selection of fruit, eggs, and ham and cheese were brought to your table, then you could help yourself to bread, toast and cake from inside. Everything was beautifully prepared and presented, each morning felt like a real treat.

All in all, Casa Beleza was a great place to stay - and our favourite from the whole honeymoon. We would recommend it to anyone! Thank you Bindu and Antoine for a fabulous stay.

Room Tip: The garden bungalow is worth every penny!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lnb164
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2013

Casa Beleza was one of the highlights of our South America trip, we were made to feel at home by Bindu who gave us tips and advice to see the highlights of Rio safely and conveniently.
The room we had was first rate with a separate bathroom which was decorated from top to bottom in old tiles of the period of the house.
Breakfast was excellent and was served outside on the terrace.
A great place to stay just 100 yards from Bar de Gomez , a favourite place to take refreshments

Room Tip: Each room would appear to have a character of its own, all would be good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roxy12013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2013

There could not be a better point of arrival in Rio after a long haul flight from London. Antoine and Bindu are wonderful, friendly and helpful hosts. The rooms and the garden are beautiful and within easy reach of possibly the best bar in Rio...thanks for having us to stay.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Calum S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
casabeleza, Owner at Casa Beleza, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2013

Hey Calum, it was great having you here with us, and glad you got to be here for the arts festival in Santa Teresa. Hopefully you will be back one day to see one of Antoine's show's live!

Thanks so much for the kind review,
Beijos
Bindu and Antoine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2013

Situated in Santa Teresa, a lovely bohemian area in the hills of Rio, Casa Beleza proved an excellent choice for the start out trip to Brazil. We had the "orange" room which was attractively decorated although the ensuite bathroom was fairly small. A lovely breakfast was served on the garden terrace outside and it was just a short stroll to the shops and restaurants in the neighbourhood. We particularly enjoyed Sobrenatural, an excellent neighbourhood fish restaurant. There always seems to be a party atmosphere in the place, with people spontaneously dancing in the street to music coming from one of the restaurants. Bindu was a lovely host, always available to give helpful information and make us feel welcome. The pretty garden around the house is home to humming birds, monkeys and exotic plants. Santa Teresa is an easy bus or taxi ride away from the centre up a very steep cobbled hill and also fairly close to the Cristi Redentor cog railway.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Graham2109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2013

We stayed in the blue room mid August 2013 for five nights and we were delighted to have chosen Casa Beleza. We arrived exhausted after 15 hours of flying, to be picked up by their driver who gave us lots of hints and tips about Rio. Antoine welcomed us with a fresh fruit juice and some advice on the area, where to hail taxis etc and we immediately felt at home.

Breakfast is amazing and Bindu was so helpful with booking tours, providing info on how to get around, security in Rio, where to eat and so on - we also really appreciated her help when we had some difficulties with ATMs in town.

Santa Teresa is a beautiful, safe area and we regularly went to Bar de Gomes at the end of the street and walked back, no problem. Only thing is that it can be a little difficult to explain to taxis where to go, but it isn´t an insurmountable experience. Bindu also provides a map of the area, and details for taxi directions, so all good.

All in all we had an excellent stay - the perfect balance of a personalised welcome, giving guests their space at the same time. The house is also incredible and should be mentioned! We had a huge bathroom to ourselves and got lots of photos of monkeys, hummingbirds and spotted some toucans too.

Highly recommended.

Room Tip: The bathroom outside the blue room is huge!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 115Grace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2013

We stayed in the bungalow for 4 nights at the beginning of August. It was so private we left the curtains open & woke up to the views of the beautiful gardens each morning, It was so nice lazing in the hammock on your own private terrace.
All the reviews about Bindu & her lovely family are true. She is so helpful & knowledgeable.
Breakfasts were great sitting out in the garden watching the monkeys.
The pool was a welcome cool down after a great walk up to the ruins on the hill which Bindu recommended we did after breakfast. The Seleron steps were only a short walk away from here & well worth the steep walk back but only if you stop for a beer in one of the bars on the main street.
Santa Teresa will not disappoint. This lovely B & B will not disappoint.
We also booked Junior for our airport pick up & a day tour. Very reasonably priced & a lovely guide.
I'd say this was or perfect choice to stay in a wonderful city. Loved it.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PaulnDeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rio de Janeiro hotels
Santa Teresa
Hotel Santa Teresa Rio MGallery by Sofitel
Hotel Santa Teresa Rio MGallery ...
#9 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
337 reviews
Santa Teresa
Casa Cool Beans B&B
Casa Cool Beans B&B
#1 of 342 in Rio de Janeiro
808 reviews
Santa Teresa
Casa 48
Casa 48
#4 of 342 in Rio de Janeiro
115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Teresa
Rio Panoramic
Rio Panoramic
#7 of 342 in Rio de Janeiro
217 reviews
Santa Teresa
Mama Ruisa
Mama Ruisa
#2 of 342 in Rio de Janeiro
413 reviews
Santa Teresa
Discovery Suites Rio
Discovery Suites Rio
#8 of 342 in Rio de Janeiro
61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Beleza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Beleza

Address: Rua Laurinda Santos Lobo 311, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 20240-270, Brazil
Phone Number:
Location: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Santa Teresa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 342 B&Bs / Inns in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range: $44 - $149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our B&B is in an exotic mansion in the heart of Santa Teresa, Rio's historic and cultural district. Guests have to share the tropical gardens with the 3 turtles, butterflies and small monkeys! We are close to all the city's main attractions and the district of Lapa with Rio's best music and nightlife. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Casa Beleza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Beleza Hotel Rio De Janeiro
Casa Beleza Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing