We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not for vegetairians” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cafe Lamas

Cafe Lamas
Ranked #14 of 278 Coffee & Tea in Rio de Janeiro
Cuisines: Brazilian, Portuguese, South American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Delivery, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
78 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Not for vegetairians”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2014

My host family told me that this is a very good restaurant and is close to the house. It was New Years Day, and I had not eaten in almost 24 hours and I was absolutely famished. I walked in off the street (where it was about 35 degrees- centigrade) to a bustling, air conditioned place. The menu is huge (ask for an English menu) but I just wanted some simple meat, potatoes and veggies.
I ordered the simple filet with french fries and a salad of lettuce an tomatoes- simple but good. The salad had nice butter lettuce with a whole tomato sliced on top of it. The tomatoes tasted like real tomatoes (not the tasteless mush we get in the US) and just plain olive oil was all it needed. I then got a big piece of meat (cooled perfectly) and a plate of great fries.
The meal was simple and good. The place has been around for 140 years so I guess it has staying power- highly recommended.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank msinfosd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

579 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    165
    277
    95
    26
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Best Beef”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2013

Crowded!

We asked a local to take us to the best beef and he took us here to have lunch.
It was in 2012 Feb.

Definitely will go back

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank AdrianTing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“EXPENSIVE and rubbish food. Living on reputation. Hopefully not for long.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013

What experience from hell i had with my partner last Sunday. I just wanted to revive a delightful experience had over 11-years ago. I was expecting to find it crowded and while we were queuing up we had managed to had a very good view of the kitchen and how they work. My first sight was of a man working on the meat dishes and I have seen something from hell, raw meat (chicken filet) placed next to cooked food. Already prepared food piling up). Mu initial thought was to go away, however I gave them the benefit of doubt and we stayed with a common agreement in not order any chicken, therefore we ordered some filet Mignon alla parmigiana - 90 reals - a fortune! and we raised our expectations. For our disappointment, it came with some chips (burned and kind of cold). the meat was smelly, sort of old and tasteless. Really a bad experience, never more and far too expensive. Poor tourists in view of fore coming Confederation Cup, World Cup and Olympics. Will be for sure ripped off.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Marc6711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“interesting old resto”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2013

like most places in Rio , the idea that someone might be vegetarian, vegan, or simply not want to eat dead animals and fish is alien, however , just to take a beer or coffee and look at the old building is worth it

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank rodrigo s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
105 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Great for an excellent meal and bustling atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2013

A Brazilian friend recommended Cafe Lamas to us as a great place to get a traditional Brazilian meal. The place was buzzing with life, the food was excellent (many dishes are for two people, so be sure to ask), the service was gracious, and the bill for four people (with soft drinks) came to 240 reais (or about $120). Not cheap for South America, but not over-the-top for a capital city.
We shared filet mignon and another steak dish that was recommended. One of our party is severely allergic to wine, and the waiter altered the order to avoid risk.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Peggy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Lamas also viewed

 

Been to Cafe Lamas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing