We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Noisy, expensive, but fun!”
Review of Sushi Leblon

Sushi Leblon
Ranked #160 of 13,709 Restaurants in Rio de Janeiro
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Asian, Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Neighborhood: Leblon
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Noisy, expensive, but fun!”
Reviewed November 30, 2013

hate the wait, but always fun once you're seated. quite a scene and sushi is yummy! good for groups of 4-6 since it's a party scene.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bethlahmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,507 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    693
    468
    212
    82
    52
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Over priced, poor quality”
Reviewed November 29, 2013 via mobile

Service was very slow. Quality of sushi was so meh. The overall experience was such a disappointment. I fail to see why this place has any recurring customers.

Instead of going here, go to Beinke in Ipanema and then take a short walk to the happening bar area nearby. You'll save loads of cash and have a significantly better time.

Helpful?
6 Thank Braai-Jedi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio_For_Partiers, Public Relations Manager at Sushi Leblon, responded to this review, February 5, 2014
hi Braai,
Sushi Leblon`s virtue is its audacious innovations in japanese cuisine. So next time, instead of trying traditional sushi staples like sashimi, tekamaki etc, try their "Special" menu items, were they play with high-quality international AND japanese ingredients, like caviar, truffled Chilean olive oil, crispy kale etc. Due to this, the price is on the upper end of japanese restautants in Rio, yet still cheaper than their counter-parts in NY or SF.

Cheers!
Cristiano
Rio For Partiers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Level Contributor
48 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Don't go. Be Happy.”
Reviewed November 25, 2013

I wish I would have read "Chiucharlen's" review before my boyfriend and I decided to go to this obscenely over-rated rip-off; She couldn't have been more on point. The only way that I would have thought the sushi was even anywhere close to 'good' was if I'd never eaten sushi before. Want to know how they make their dishes spicy - they add wasabi. come on, if you're going to charge those prices, do more than throw in overpowering wasabi. The atmosphere wasn't redeeming either as it took the waiter a good ten minutes to acknowledge us and it felt like the place was trying too hard and falling ladders short of succeeding. I have no problem paying exorbitant prices when a meal is worth it. That meal was the worst we had in Rio. Just trust me, don't waste your time. We had way better sushi at Benkei Impanema for 1/4 of the price.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank WhereNextNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RJ
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Sashmi, Poor Service”
Reviewed November 1, 2013

I have been to this place many times - the sashmi is always very fresh and I love the won tons here too. However, the service is always a bit slow especially with drinks and sometimes bring the wrong drinks. I would expect a better service for the price that you pay.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Krishna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
371 reviews
223 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Dinner without meat)”
Reviewed October 18, 2013 via mobile

If you want to have a quality escape from meat menu - this is the place! Most of the crowd are locals living nearby. Be prepared to spend- this is the area if the city. Great service, sashimis, sushis etc. some Japanese beers are available too, so are a few types of sake.

Helpful?
Thank Ksksksksks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sushi Leblon also viewed

 
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
 
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
 

Been to Sushi Leblon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing