We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Amazing place surrounded by nature, perfect for...”
other travelers have booked this property
open kitchen in the jungle
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
open kitchen in the jungle
The Master Bedroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
15 reviews
open kitchen in the jungle
The Master Bedroom
Terrace
The Master Bedroom
The Master Bedroom
The Master Bedroom
The Master Bedroom
Bathroom
Bathroom
Bathroom
Bathroom
Bathroom
Dining Room
Dining Room
Kitchen
Dining Room
Kitchen
Dining Room
Second bedroom.
Living Room
Living Room
Living Room
Living Room
Living Room
Grounds
Grounds
Grounds
Terrace
Terrace
The Master Bedroom
The Master Bedroom
The Master Bedroom
Dining Room
The Master Bedroom
The Master Bedroom
Dining Room
Grounds
The Master Bedroom
Dining Room
Grounds
The Master Bedroom
Grounds
2nd Bathroom
2nd Bathroom
Bathroom
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Private Room, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 3
Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 15 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Johan V
1 review
“Amazing place surrounded by nature, perfect for an adventurous stay”
Reviewed April 25, 2018 for a stay in April 2018

Look no further: you’ve found the hidden gem you were looking for.

We had an absolutely amazing stay at this apartment. The location and flat are the way it is described. It is not the most central place, but definitely a challenge for those who are up for living the real experience. You’ll be surrounded by nature and silence, and might be woken up by the sounds of monkeys and toucans. From your balcony you’ll have a spectacular view on the Cristo.

The apartment is located in the district Santa Teresa, a bohemian area that still breathes the vibes and architecture of a century ago. Buses drive every 5 minutes and will provide you with plenty of panoramic views. Within 10-15 minutes, you reach Lapa and the Centro, where you find the modern cathedral.
Marjon is a charming hostess who will provide you with all the necessary inside information you need.

This might not be the most common spot or typical airbnb you have in mind, but if you’re up for an adventurous trip in Rio, then this is the right place for you.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 27, 2018
Thank you so much! Always welcome back.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A L
Luneburg, Germany
2 reviews
“Great experience”
Reviewed December 18, 2017 for a stay in November 2017

The flat was clean and comfortable and it had everything we needed (including a great view of the Redentor every day). Sometimes we had breakfast or dinner on the beautiful balcony. Marvellous! We enjoyed taking the dogs out for a walk around the neighbourhood.
Marjon gave us lots of advice about nice places to visit and places of life music. From the beginning we felt very welcome and safe. So that really means:
The area outside the door is super safe! We enjoyed to take local bus transport and throughout our 1 month stay we often came back by bus late in the evening.
Only twice we took a taxi. Santa Teresa's charme at night is unbeatable (life music, artists exhibition).
Marjon is a wonderful and kind host making it easier for us to enjoy our stay at all times. We recommend it to anyone who wants to have a natural, genuine experience in Rio.
PS: the

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 22, 2017
Thank you so much! Always welcome here. Have a good trip.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nikolai_v...
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
“Incredibly romantic apartment overlooking Rio de Janeiro”
Reviewed September 10, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

We booked our holiday with Marjon having seen the pictures of her apartment but we couldn't believe how romantic, stylish, and charming her place really is!
From the moment we got there, easy ride from the airport, we were very impressed with Marjon's beautiful, art deco house.
(I am a fan of Egon Schiele's work and so is she!)
She showed us to our well maintained and well prepped apartment and we were greeted by Christ the Redeemer overlooking us and the odd monkey coming down to check out the new guests :)
Our stay with Marjon was made all the better by her knowledge of the city which came in very handy. She gave us great tips about where to go and how to get everywhere from her part of town, the bohemian 'Santa Teresa' neighbourhood, to other interesting parts such as Lappa, Centro, the famous Copa Cabana and Ipanema beaches, as well as a host of other places.
The great thing was we could just hop in public transport and get to most places in about 15min, or take a metro connection to the beaches. Not bad for such a big city so we were very happy that our apartment was in Santa Teresa.
We were told by people that we would need to watch out for our safety but frankly we have not felt unsafe once during our stay in Rio so that might have been a bit exaggerated.
All in all, we couldn't be more happy with our stay, Marjon was an exceptional host; helpful, knowledgeable, sweet and relaxed, and her place was more than we could have hoped for, a beautiful celebration of Brazilian life, we even got to meet some of her Brazilian friends over caipirinhas!
Thanks again Marjon, we'll be back for sure!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex_Amst...
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Cool house with a great view”
Reviewed September 5, 2017 for a stay in August 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Beautiful location, the house has a cool style and is nicely decorated. It has a gorgeous "postcard" view over Rio. Outside you can see monkeys at sunset in the nearby trees. I had a great time, and Marjon, the host, was very helpful with all sorts of information on getting around.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeffCnd
Hamilton, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“We loved this house and our host!”
Reviewed January 3, 2016 for a stay in December 2015
1
person found this review helpful

From the moment Marjon greeted us warmly on arrival we had a very good feeling about our stay. The house is wonderful with exceptional views of the mountains and Christ the Redeemer. There is a very well equipped and beautifully designed kitchen and dining area, both of which are open to the outdoors. Its like living outside! The living and sleeping spaces are fully enclosed and the bedroom has large sliding glass doors to another terrace with amazing views. The location provided easy access to the lovely Santa Teresa neighbourhood, which has lots of bars, cafes and cool shops. The local bus service is easy, safe and cheap. Transfer from bus to the subway was also easy for longer day trips. The subway is modern, clean, air conditioned, safe and an easy ride for a day at the beach. Taxis are also readily available. Marjon was extremely helpful and knowledgable about Rio and Brazil. She gave us alot of helpful advice and we really enjoyed getting to know her. We were very pleased with our stay and would highly recommend it to anyone looking for a lovely retreat in the city. And yes, the monkeys do come to visit but you have to get up early to see them!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Views
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 9, 2016
Thank you. Always welcome back!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary H
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“quirky place with lovely views”
Reviewed November 15, 2015 for a stay in November 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Hold on to your hats as you join the locals on a bus ride over the cobblestones and up the mountain to get to marjons place. There awaits a quirky place with lovely views especially of the Christ statue. A narrow spiral staircase takes you up to a lovely bedroom with even better views. We had expected a near proximity to a bohemian style village with craft shops and cafes but we did not find any. Marjon made us feel most welcome.

Liked best: the view was lovely
Liked least: my 74 year old husband was concerned using the spiral staircase.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 19, 2015
Haha. I had to look 'quirky' up in the dictionary. It means: original, eccentric. Yes, that it is! The Bohemian village is 3 busstops away!
Anyone you doesn't like exitement of the bus, can also go to and from the house with the languid (and chaep) Rio taxi's :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yumantic
Montreal, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful views within the largest urban forest in the world!”
Reviewed October 12, 2015 for a stay in October 2015

My husband and I were very warmly greeted by the owner Marjon who even stocked our fridge with a few things upon arrival. Marjon is incredibly lively, open and fun. She explained to us how we can get around as well as the best sites and restos. Arty House in Santa Teresa is outstanding because it is located in Tijuca National Park, the largest urban forest in the world! In the early morning if you get up with some coffee you can see monkeys eating berries on the trees just outside the balcony as well as humming birds and toucans. The drawback is that it may be a bit far from some of the action. We ended up using Uber to get around 99% of the time which made travel incredibly easy and used the bus that passes every 3 mins or so just a few times. The apartment and views are better than the photos with the statue of Christ the Redeemer. We had a great time relaxing in the hammocks, drinking wine and listening to music.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing