We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reasonably priced hotel with great breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Windsor Asturias Hotel
Ranked #48 of 286 Hotels in Rio de Janeiro
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 31, 2013

Stayed 1 night here in March 2013. We took the REAL Bus number/service 2145 (R$10.00 per person) from GIG airport. Alight at Av. Rio Branco. Note that the hotel is located towards the end of the avenue. The bus driver dropped us off at the start of Av. Rio Branco and we walked some distance to the hotel. There is actually a stop closeby to the hotel. Reasonably priced hotel as compared to those at the Copacabana area. We arrived on Friday (Good Friday) late afternoon and most (if not all) shops near by were closed. Hotel is near to the Metro (we did not take the metro due to time constrain). Great and delicious breakfast (included with room rate). Pool at the top of the hotel is tiny - more for soaking than doing laps. Great views from the roof top. Only downside is that the walls are really thin. We could hear doors opening/closing and also the sound of water/plumbing from the adjacent room! (A minor issue for us - we slept well).

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank quarks77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerencia_Asturias, Gerente at Windsor Asturias Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2013

Dear Sir,

We would like to thanks your review andyour preference for Asturias Hotel.
Your comments are highly valued as they help us with the continuous training of our team aiming at exceeding your expectations.
We thank again and hope to see you soon in Rio de Janeiro again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (681)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

58 - 64 of 681 reviews

Reviewed March 24, 2013

Location is everything?
I was in Rio for a few days and found that I traveled into Centro several times. This hotel is very well located for any in town activities. Walking distance to the new City of Rio Museum as well as the new Art museum, many restaurants and the Cruise ship piers.
It is a really new and modern building, completely central A/C and excellent breakfast. The selling point for budget minded people- it is less $ than the beach. If you are going for the beach, than it is a 20+ minute ride on the Metro or cab.
Excellent staff, walking distance to the National theater and lots to do during the week. On weekends there is not much open, although there are 2 restaurants available.
This is my choice for a clean and cheerful space with a large modern bathroom.
Location: 7
Room: 8
Cleanliness: 9
Staff: 9
Charm; 5

Room Tip: High floors view either harbor or Christ the Redeemer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ed G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerencia_Asturias, Gerente at Windsor Asturias Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2013

Dear Guest,

We truly appreciate your kind response related to your stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2013

Everyone sees Hotels differently and has diferent expectations. I am here on Business for 10 days ( a long time in one Hotel) with client offices close by.

The plusses, it is clean, very quiet, rooms are of a reasonable size, TV has a few international channels. The Bar and Pool (very small splash pool but great after a dusty day out) on the roof a haven. Just wish that it was staffed all the time during the day. Wifi works all over the Hotel including the roof - good speed as well. Breakfast is fine. not exciting but all the obvious cold cuts... not much hot. Hotel food - Poor. Outside the front door in the main street and the square behind 4 or 5 local restaurants - all fine but very similar. (One with a great view of the Municipal Theatre. This is the business district so very quiet (I am told not a good thing) on Sat and Especially Sunday. No shopping at all. Some nice buildings close by. Metro Cinelandia 2 mins from Hotel - 20 mins to Copacabana. 3 is probably unfair but 4 is too much

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank summerlea45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerencia_Asturias, Gerente at Windsor Asturias Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments. We are very happy to know about your remarkable stay and impressions.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2013

Perfect Carnaval location, particularly from rooftop where poolside bar staff serve wonderful caiparhinas. All the staff were efficient, and attentive. Reception staff were very helpful, spoke English and were well informed about Carnaval activities. The room was a good size, air con a blessing, cable tv, wifi and a window which opened. Breakfast buffet selection was very good and the restaurant served lunch and dinner over extended hours. I'd recommend the hotel and stay there again.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank caminowalker2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerencia_Asturias, Gerente at Windsor Asturias Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2013

Dear Guest,
We would like to express how we are grateful to read such a delightful and kind comment.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2013

Good location, reasonably attentive desk staff, the females are best and most helpful. Friendly doormen etc. Breakfast good. One problem there was WIFI breaking down and not getting fixed for over 2 days. They blamed something outside the hotel but made no effort to find an alternative solution or were even able to suggest a nearby internet cafe. Did not seem to be bothered much about it! As we were on business, this was very disruptive and caused problems to several of us. Apart from that all OK. But get the yellow taxis outside the door yourself: if you get the doormen to wave one in for you, the price you will be charged is more than double what you would be charged normally. A typical hotel taxi scam. The yellow taxis are waiting about 10 m from the front door so no effort on your part!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Goldenthigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerencia_Asturias, Gerente at Windsor Asturias Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your impressions about your last stay with us. We are very concerned to the topics you highlighted and we will verify each of them carefully. We assure you they are not usual and are away from our standards as well, please accept our apologies.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2013

The building is beautifully restored and the location is great for those who arrive by the Santos Dumont airport, or who are in town for business. The premises are not very safe but no saftey issues were experienced. The room was a bit too small but everything looked new and worked fine, standard 3-star business hotel. Although hotels in Rio are way overpriced, this was the most affordable option I could find.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Guto M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerencia_Asturias, Gerente at Windsor Asturias Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for sending your comments and that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Staff is very kind,they organised trips for us, they gave us a lot of information and they were speaking English!!! Conditions are good, the only thing is that the hotel is far away from beaches, about 6-7 metro stops. There are some restaurants near by, and metro station just behind the hotel. The area around the hotel is kind of old town style, totally different from Copa Cabana and Ipanema.

Room Tip: Maybe better to be on higher floor as otherwise the music from the restaurants below is too high som...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tanya_Nikolova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerencia_Asturias, Gerente at Windsor Asturias Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for posting your comments about your last stay with us. We are very happy to know that your experience here was quite amazing. Our high priority is provide the best in excellence in the services and products and when read reports like yours, they emphasize that we are achieving our goals.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rio de Janeiro hotels
Centro
Windsor Guanabara Hotel
Windsor Guanabara Hotel
#86 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
1,324 reviews
Flamengo
Windsor Florida Hotel
Windsor Florida Hotel
#33 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
1,092 reviews
Centro
Novotel RJ Santos Dumont
Novotel RJ Santos Dumont
#59 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
1,393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro
Atlantico Business Centro
Atlantico Business Centro
#113 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
1,253 reviews
Vila Gale Rio de Janeiro
#32 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
676 reviews
Centro
Ibis Rio de Janeiro Santos Dumont
Ibis Rio de Janeiro Santos Dumon...
#114 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
3,039 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Windsor Asturias Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windsor Asturias Hotel

Address: Rua Senador Dantas 14 | Praça Mahatma Gandi, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 20031-203, Brazil
Phone Number:
Location: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Centro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Business Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#29 Family Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range: $61 - $117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Windsor Asturias Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 166
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Cinelandia one of the most beautiful and friendly downtown area. It is close to the domestic airport Santos Dumont and many cultural and tourist attractions, such as the Teatro Municipal, the Museu de Arte Moderna e Belas Artes, the beautiful Praca Paris and only five minutes’ walk from the charming and bohemian area of Lapa, with all its bars and shows in different styles. For those who want to explore Copacabana, the "Princess of the Sea" it is only a ten- minute drive from the hotel. Apart from the excellent location, the hotel offers comfortable and new accommodation, and a service renowned for cordiality, a typical Brazilian characteristic and of the Windsor Hotels. Whether for business or for leisure, guests can find the Windsor Asturias Hotel the best choice to stay in the Center of Rio de Janeiro. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Splitty, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, getaroom.com, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Orbitz so you can book your Windsor Asturias Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Windsor Asturias Hotel Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing