We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stunning views” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Casa 579

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Casa 579
Ranked #57 of 330 Rio de Janeiro B&B and Inns
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
133 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Stunning views”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2013

Escape the crazy hustle of the beach area and realx in Santa Teresa! A combi van passes by frequently to allows guests to reach the main city and a subway line - very easy to use. The views from the bed and breakfast are AMAZING. The staff were very helpful - the ATM was broken when we arrived at the airport...so we arrived with no Reals. The staff loaned us money until we could get to an ATM.

The breakfast we not too bad at all and there are monkeys outside the window!
And there is a delicious, reasonable priced restaurant just up the road.

Highly recommend.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tryingtoseetheworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Casa579, The team at Casa 579, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Thanks for recommending Casa 579 and explaining to other travellers about the vans that come past the front of the house every 15 minutes to get you down to the Metro and out to the beach. We're happy you got to see lots of monkeys too as obviously we have no control over if and when they come but generally once breakfast is out on the table they'll pop by to get some banana that guests can feed to them.
Thanks again for the lovely recommendation.
Safe and happy travelling,
Kiri, Natalia and the team at Casa 579.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    132
    51
    8
    6
    5
See reviews for
17
72
52
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2013

We stayed here for 9 nights during Carnaval, and if I was going back to Rio I would definitely stay here again. It is one of the coolest, chilled out hostels I´ve ever stayed in. From the minute we arrived we felt at home. The staff were so friendly and they couldn´t help you enough, they know the in´s and out´s of everything to do and see in Rio. The breakfast is fantastic, keeps you going all day. Views were amazing also. At first when were looking at booking the hostel we were a little nervous that the location might be a bit out of the way, but it was absolutely fine, it was actually nice to come back here in the evenings away from the madness of the city. And buses pass by the Casa almost every 10 minutes, so there was no issues. I can only say, if you are looking for somewhere to stay in Rio, stay here, you won´t regret it. Thanks to Kiri and Natalia and the gang for all your help, chats and hugs. You gals rock. Keep up the good work. Muchos gracias. xx

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank amohopo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Casa579, The team at Casa 579, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
You gals really made our Carnival too. Thanks for choosing Casa 579 and for the great review. Seeing everyone make friends and enjoy the house during Carnival was brilliant for us too. It really was like one big, happy family for the whole 9 days that you were here and you'll always be missed and welcome!
Best of luck with everything you do and everywhere you go.
Kiri, Natalia and the gang at Casa 579.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2013

I stayed in three different hostels in Rio and Casa was by far the best one. I've been there twice. The double rooms are big and really nice. So for couples Casa is definitely a good choice!
But also the commun areas in this Hostel are quiet big (a kind of living room and a terasse with a great view), so it's easy to meet people if you're travelling on your own.


> very friendly and helpful stuff, they speak english, spanish and portugues
> excellent breakfast with different fruits
> coffee and filtered water all day long
> close to the bars of santa teresa
> quiet close to christo

Room Tip: the double rooms are very good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Casa579, The team at Casa 579, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
We'd love to have you back too. Anytime! Thanks for the great review and for choosing Casa 579. We hope you're having a great time in Argentina and that you've found a place there that you like as much as you liked here.
Safe travels and warmest regards from Rio!
Kiri, Natalia and the team at Casa 579.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2013

Wonderful place to stay in Rio. Beautiful views, friendly staff, amazing breakfasts.
It is a little difficult to find initially, but once you are there the staff are able to advise you on how to get to and from the hotel on public transport very easily. Laid back and peaceful atmosphere, gorgeous place to relax in a hammock!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KyraSiera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Casa579, The team at Casa 579, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
We love the title of your review and we agree that Casa 579 is indeed an Oasis. What's better than reclining into a hammock with a cold beer at the end of a frenetic day of sightseeing in Rio and feeling at peace looking out at Sugar Loaf mountain and Christ the Redeemer!
Thanks so much for the great review and for your stay with us.
We wish you all the best for your future travels!
Kiri, Natalia and the team at Casa 579.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2013

Very friendly, clean and a quiet location. Amazing views of el Cristo and down to the sea. great for a non-beach front option - once you nail the public transport is very accessible, both for Copa/Ipanema, and Lapa.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tpkf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newtown, Powys
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2013

What a great place to stay. Excellent views of the city and a nice relaxed atmosphere throughout. the staff were extremily friendly and helpful. Although quite difficult to find (you need a taxi) even the taxi drivers dont know where it is. But believe me, it is worth the travelling to find it as its a hidden treasure. Only takes 10 minutes (in a small minibus which runs straight past the hostel) to get to the beaches. Overall, if i was to return to Rio, i would stay here again. What can i say about the breakfasts - as much as you can eat! Awsome place. Thanks again staff ;)

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2013

Great Place, Friendly Staff, Beutifull views

Definitely a must for any person wanting to see Rio for its beauty. Staff were always keen to help.

The hostel may consider installing aircons in rooms for the summer heat but the fans in rooms do help.

Rooms and bathrooms were always clean.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bernardt S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rio de Janeiro hotels
Santa Teresa
Rio Palazzo
Rio Palazzo
#25 of 330 in Rio de Janeiro
5.0 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
Santa Teresa
Casa da Gente
Casa da Gente
#9 of 330 in Rio de Janeiro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 246 reviews
Santa Teresa
Casa Marques
Casa Marques
#7 of 330 in Rio de Janeiro
5.0 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Teresa
Mama Ruisa
Mama Ruisa
#3 of 330 in Rio de Janeiro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 379 reviews
Santa Teresa
Casa Beleza
Casa Beleza
#2 of 330 in Rio de Janeiro
5.0 of 5 bubbles 567 reviews
Barra da Tijuca
Brisa Barra Hotel
Brisa Barra Hotel
#20 of 280 in Rio de Janeiro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa 579? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa 579

Property: Casa 579
Address: Rua Doutor Julio Otoni 579 | Santa Teresa, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 20241-400, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Santa Teresa
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #57 of 330 B&Bs / Inns in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa 579 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa 579 is a stylish boutique guesthouse located in Santa Teresa, Rio de Janeiro. With excellent facilities and an amazing roof terrace with 180 degree views of Cristo Redentor, Sugar Loaf Mountain and Guanabara Bay, it makes the perfect place to stay to avoid the soulless high rise hotels of Copacabana and Ipanema and see the “real” Rio. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Casa 579 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa 579 Hotel Rio De Janeiro
Casa 579 Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing