We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly Staff”
Review of Casa 579

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Casa 579
Ranked #63 of 337 Rio de Janeiro B&B and Inns
Reviewed January 20, 2013

What a great place to stay. Excellent views of the city and a nice relaxed atmosphere throughout. the staff were extremily friendly and helpful. Although quite difficult to find (you need a taxi) even the taxi drivers dont know where it is. But believe me, it is worth the travelling to find it as its a hidden treasure. Only takes 10 minutes (in a small minibus which runs straight past the hostel) to get to the beaches. Overall, if i was to return to Rio, i would stay here again. What can i say about the breakfasts - as much as you can eat! Awsome place. Thanks again staff ;)

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (202)
There are newer reviews for Casa 579
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

44 - 50 of 202 reviews

Reviewed January 20, 2013

Great Place, Friendly Staff, Beutifull views

Definitely a must for any person wanting to see Rio for its beauty. Staff were always keen to help.

The hostel may consider installing aircons in rooms for the summer heat but the fans in rooms do help.

Rooms and bathrooms were always clean.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bernardt S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2013

having stayed in a very poor hostel before checking in to casa 579,the first thing that struck me when arriving was a message on the check-in desk saying dont hesitate to ask for any info about getting around rio!and after staying 2 weeks here there wasnt anything the staff could not help you with which in a new country like brazil was a important point! there was nothing that was too much trouble for any of them and really made it a very enjoyable stay,the wealth of knowledge was incredible and i went to places where alot of people would never go.
the hostel itself is lovely.stunning views on the top deck with hammocks and a sun lounger to chill out and have a drink.the rooms and showers were excellent for an hostel with fans to keep you cool allover the hostel.
and then there was breakfast,a great big table full of food,drinks and a homemade cake every morning,would put some hotels to shame!amazing!
the location up the hill in santa theresa is very good too,quiet and not the madness of rio,a few minutes away from bars and places to eat and with buses and vans running past frequently to take you to the busy parts of rio its a great place to be!
i loved my 2 weeks here and if there is a better hostel in rio i would love to see it as this was a pleasure to stay here! brilliant

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ukcolin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2013 via mobile

We booked Casa 579 after reading the great reviews to have experienced quite the opposite.
We arrive to be told we had been double booked,
A good thing as we were told we'd be upgraded to a room with ensuite (we booked one with shared as this was all that was left online).
Nice Room, no air con and just a fan which is a difficult to sleep with in summer months.

Then the bad luck started,
We wake up to be told the couple who were in the room we booked want to move so we were told (not asked) that we are moving into that room that day.
Since that was morning I better review the breakfast.
Nothing exciting, just basic.
As we're a young couple we're not bothered about a lot of things older folk would be.
So we come back after a day out to get our room key for our new room.
We're told it's acctually not in the same building, its across the road in the building where the staff stay and we have the owners room who is back in England.
Its across the road, out the back of the house up some steps in the loft.
We just accepted it although we were acctually paying quite a lot.
We try settle in and start noticing some things
The windows don't close, ill explain later what happened.
The 2 fans in the room are on their last legs and barely work.
And there isn't a lock!!!! You need to see this room to see how ridiculous this is. Opposite the door there is a courtyard anyone could get to, and as on our last night proven!
I raised my concern to the hostel manager who said "it's fine, its the owners room its safe" despite the 4 doors which get you from the street to our room have massive signs mentioning everything needs to be locked at all times.
After mentioning it a few times I had to say our stuff wasnt safe which then prompted the manager to fit a padlock on thinner than on suitcases which only locked the outside but at night there was no safety.
The communial area lights don't work so you sit in darkness and when I mentioned that, that was ignored.
Eating in pitch black....really?!!!
The Wi-Fi doesn't work, and when I mentioned that she told me "yeah the owner says that too when she's here"
Because its high season we had no other hostel options in the city.
Stringing this out for 3 nights on the last night we had enough...
I didn't mention that you have to walk outside down a staircase into the house to use the toilet so its not really shared, its more like heading into someone's house for the toilet.
So that kicks tarted my night getting absolutely pissed on by rain going to the toilet. When I return I noticed the windows that don't close are now letting in the rain from the storm. Using my fresh towels (you only get fresh ones every 3 days) I had to soak up the rain so it wouldn't get to the plug socket on the floor.
Then to finish things off after we finally fall asleep there was a Big Bang and noises outside the room which woke us both us instantly. My girlfriend quite rightly was worried as we didnt have a lock on the door, the room was not secure at all! I ended up having to put a mattress up against the door.

Trying to not make this too long, in the morning I went to the main house to explain that we are moving out today (I booked a nice hotel in Copacabana to make it for this joke of a hostel).
The manager acctually tried to tell me it wouldn't be possible to cancel 2 nights as its their policy but after listing off all the things that were wrong and the simple thing of no lock she had no choice!

To finish it off, at the end she tried to say "in return I ask you not to write a bad review", which just made me laugh & I wasn't going to bother writing one till then!

Our experience had to be shared, so you aren't stuck in the house across the road and get to stay in the main house which is acctually decent!

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ben K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Casa579, Manager at Casa 579, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2013

We would firstly like to point out that this review is actually a duplicate of the one above titled " A big let down" for the same stay rather than 2 separate guests / bookings making similar complaints, but would of course like to offer our response to any additional issues here.

Firstly, we would like to make it clear that none of our rooms have air conditioning as is explicitly stated on our own and all third party websites so we feel that this as a complaint is unfair as the guest was definitely aware that the room did not have air conditioning when booking it. Also, due to being located in Santa Teresa, even in the summer months it is cooler here than in other parts of Rio which means fans are adequate ventilation.

We of course asked, not told, the guests if they could move rooms and this was done when they checked in the first night at which point they said they were completely fine with this and were happy to do whatever worked best for the other guests. We also definitely explained exactly where the room was located when they first arrived so this is something they were aware of. Furthermore the guests had contacted us directly via email before booking online via Hostelbookers and we had explained to them that we did not have availability at Casa 579 for all the nights of their stay.

On one of the nights these guests stayed with us, during the electrical storm that we experienced the main lights did in fact go out in this house but the table lamps were definitely working and the guests did not need to eat in the dark, but were aware that they could have come across to the main Casa 579 house and eaten in our welcoming kitchen or spacious dining room with incredible views of Christ and we could have given them spare lamps and/or candles during the storm.

In terms of the Wi-fi, I did in fact say that we had had problems with it in the past, however I also explained to the guest that we had had a technician in to fix it and that it was most likely because of the heavy rain that there were problems right now but if it continued after the rain we would get someone in again to look at it and of course at any time the living room at Casa 579 is always available and if there was something they needed to do urgently we would have happily let them use the computer in our reception.

At no point do we feel we ignored the concerns of the guests and we can only apologise if the guests feels we did. As the guest himself mentions they did end up going to a hotel which they felt could meet their needs more, so perhaps in this case we, as a bed and breakfast (which is what we are and how we are positioned on TripAdvisor and our own website) was not the best choice for these guests.

We would also like to highlight that other guests staying in this house over the same period did not feel the same as these guests about the lighting, security, wi-fi, breakfast or their overall stay with us in fact giving us a score of excellent for everything on our in-house feedback form. Also looking back over the reviews we have had on TripAdvisor you will see that the vast majority of guests who stay at Casa579 rate us as a 5-star B&B.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2013

The view here is stunning, and it's an interesting neighborhood. The communal spaces are comfortable and ideal to use, and as a family with a small child we were welcomed and treated very well. If you like to be somewhere different and with character this is the place to stay in Rio -- with a few issues.

First, there were a few things which weren't really within the control of the hotel which impacted our stay and are worth considering. We had arranged airport pickup with them and no one every showed up. They use a transport company who had, apparently flaked. Fair enough,a dn they promised us the return to the airport for free which was helpful. However, when the time came, they sent only a standard car for 5 people and luggage (despite other arrangements being made and confirmed). They said since we were getting it for free this was all they could do. So, then we had to scramble and try to get a cab, which took a while, and we were running late. And we had to pay for the cab, so it didn't save us a penny. Sigh....During this busy season we had trouble getting taxis, both from the Casa and return -- we waited up to 45 minutes for one to come about 6pm for dinner to pick us up and were informed there just weren't any, so we changed our plans and took a bus. Returning we would need to ask 5-6 taxis before one would be willing to travel up to Santa Theresa.

The other thing was that it was very hot there without AC. There was an incredibly noisy ceiling fan so they gave us a floor fan (the ceiling fan was ongoing issue, clearly) and this helped. There weren't any mosquitoes which was great so we slept well.

This place is a gem, just be careful with transport!

Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
Thank trientalis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Casa579, General Manager at Casa 579, responded to this reviewResponded January 4, 2013

We're really happy to hear that you felt welcome and were treated well here as we try very hard to meet everyone's needs and make everyone feel at home, in fact we hope that everyone who stays at Casa 579 feels that our house is your home away from home, but we are disappointed that issues completely out of our control made your stay here less than perfect
We are extremely sorry that there was no taxi waiting at the airport on arrival, we had reserved this taxi but the taxi company (used by us on a regular basis but not linked to us in any way) made a mistake and did not send a taxi at the correct time. To its credit the taxi company did offer the return journey free of charge but unfortunately sent a taxi that had the car fuel tank in the boot so there was not enough room for a family with luggage too.

In terms of problems with taxis coming up here we have such great public transport links that this is not usually an issue however we do understand that as a family with a small child it is often more comfortable to take a taxi. We ask everybody to give 15-20 minute's notice for a taxi to arrive and would say that waiting 45 minutes is out of the ordinary even at one of the busiest times of the year. In terms of taxis coming back to Santa Teresa we have the directions written in Portuguese for guests to give to taxi drivers and ask that people come up Rua Alice (Laranjeiras) rather than through Santa Teresa as this is an easier and quicker route for taxi drivers.

It is true that one of the rooms in which this family stayed has a problem with the ceiling fan but we made a management decision to buy brand new silent turbo floor fans for each room and actually put 2 in this room as the family was using both beds and had just arrived from a much colder climate. Since buying these new fans we have had no complaints whatsoever even though this January has seen record temperatures in both Rio and Sao Paulo.
We are glad to hear that you slept well in the end and truly hope that your stay here was enjoyable in spite of the issues experienced with the taxi company and hope that people who read the review will understand that this was an isolated problem outside of our control.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2012

Rio was my first stop in Brazil and I stayed at Casa 579 for the first 4 nights. I arranged to have the airport transfer which was helpful and reasonable since I was flying in on a red-eye and just needed to get to where I was going. The room was clean and quiet, but I suppose that depends on who you're bunking with. The staff was very hospitable and friendly, it really felt like home after a long day of exploring. It is a bit farther from convenience, takes about 15 minutes to get to the nearest grocery, bank, metro, etc. and costs R$2.50 to and from the hostel. There is a restaurant on the corner that was convenient and good, nice view on the terrace. Breakfast was good and sometimes cute little monkeys would visit. All in all, I enjoyed my stay and felt very welcome here. Would definitely stay again!

Room Tip: The sambadromo room has single beds that aren't bunk beds which is nice if you want to sit up in...
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travel4freedom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2012

Stayed here for 4 nights with y girlfriend while in Rio in December 2012. The place is in the good area of Santa Teresa. Maybe a little far from the beaches if this is what you are looking for. Instead you will be facing the Cristo Corcovado while eating breakfast of taking a beer on the wonderful rooftop.

The staff is super friendly and helped us a lot with recommendations regarding where to go and how to go there. Sice we were leaving for Ihla grande for 3 days they offered us to leave two bags there and pick it up when we were coming back to Rio. We could even spend an entire afternoon and take a shower before heading to the airport that same evening.

I defenitely recommend this place if you are looking for a relaxing stay in Rio!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Seb2215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rio de Janeiro hotels
Santa Teresa
Rio Palazzo
Rio Palazzo
#29 of 337 in Rio de Janeiro
95 reviews
Santa Teresa
Casa Geranio
Casa Geranio
#10 of 337 in Rio de Janeiro
113 reviews
Santa Teresa
Rio Panoramic
Rio Panoramic
#7 of 337 in Rio de Janeiro
213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Teresa
Mama Ruisa
Mama Ruisa
#4 of 337 in Rio de Janeiro
395 reviews
Santa Teresa
Casa Marques
Casa Marques
#8 of 337 in Rio de Janeiro
101 reviews
Santa Teresa
Casa 48
Casa 48
#3 of 337 in Rio de Janeiro
102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa 579? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa 579

Address: Rua Doutor Julio Otoni 579 | Santa Teresa, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 20241-400, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Santa Teresa
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #63 of 337 B&Bs / Inns in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range: $31 - $61 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa 579 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa 579 is a stylish boutique guesthouse located in Santa Teresa, Rio de Janeiro. With excellent facilities and an amazing roof terrace with 180 degree views of Cristo Redentor, Sugar Loaf Mountain and Guanabara Bay, it makes the perfect place to stay to avoid the soulless high rise hotels of Copacabana and Ipanema and see the “real” Rio. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire and HostelWorld so you can book your Casa 579 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa 579 Hotel Rio De Janeiro
Casa 579 Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing