We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great view, great breakfast, great people” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Casa 579

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Casa 579
Ranked #57 of 330 Rio de Janeiro B&B and Inns
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great view, great breakfast, great people”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2012

We spent four nights here and found the staff very helpful, the views of the city and Christ the Redeemer fantastic, and the breakfast (especially the cake) wonderful. If we return to Rio, this is where we'll stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Davo W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    132
    51
    8
    6
    5
See reviews for
17
72
52
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2012

I wish to rave about the views you enjoy whilst staying in this lovely hostel. To recommend it for all it offers from excellent facilities to its wonderful staff and great environmental ethos and thought but I wish above all to dispel this myth about it being far away. Yes, thankfully this great hostel is not in Copacabana (who wants to stay in a sleazy place?!) or in Lapa with its endless sleepless nights but it has wonderful transport to anywhere in Rio! Buses are few paces away on the main road and Combivans , the local way to travel by the way, pass just outside its door. By the way fares are very cheap.
We met Theresa, Natalya and Hilga who helped us so much and encouraged us to go to a Samba school rehearsal which turned out to be the highlight of our stay. Go and find out yourself what wonderful place this is.

Room Tip: Please do not be put off by the location, I think it is a plus really to be somewhere quiet and wond...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BathBun_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012

I have stayed here twice now 6 months apart. While it is not in Copa or Ipanema, CASA 579 sits in Santa Teresa. The view is unreal and away from the hustle of the beach areas. The morning breakfast is plentiful and the staff is more than friendly. This older home has been transformed to a "hostel" with dorm rooms and also private rooms. I stayed in the dorm rooms so I don't know what a private room is like, but I would only imagine it is in line with the rest of the high standards at this property. I have traveled a significant amount and stayed in a ton of different places and CASA 579 rates as one of the best. I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank James101579
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2012

I totally loved this hostel:Our beautiful room with fantastic view, plenty of hammocks and the great breakfast made me want to stay in this hostel all day. However, due to friendly and helpful staff and buses, that are running very frequently right in front of the door we did make it uptown, to the beach etc.
As it has been said before, the hostel is not centrally in Santa Teresa, but neither is it far away and the way down leads through very nice streets, so I didnt mind this at all. Safety was not a problem either.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SkinnyDupree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2012

Highly recommend this friendly and cosy hostel with a splendid panorama of the city. Santa Teresa is a beautiful area of Rio and access to vibrant Lapa is easy. The hostel atmosphere is very inviting and relaxed - the staff also very helpful in advising on public transport or entertainment options. Great breakfast is served!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Piozaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2012

This is a fantastic homely place to stay, with an amazing roof terrace view. There is also a welcoming lounge. The best thing was the staff who are very friendly and really helpful with tips on where to go out, and which buses to get etc. It is a great place to wander around Santa Teresa or Lapa from, and really easy on the bus or vans. I also had a lovely afternoon visiting the nearby favela with Nathalia, and I would really recommend this!
Self-contained rooms are reasonably priced and comfortable, and include an abundant breakfast.
Swinging in a hammock on the roof terrace is the perfect end to a Rio day.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank anna m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schagen
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2012

It's a very nice place to stay! A great view from the roof. The staf is also great. If you want some to do, they have a lot information and they arrange it directly.
If you like breakfast, or a freshly baked cake. Then is this the place to be!
Instead traffic in the morning you will hear birds.

A little problem is the distance to the centre of Rio. You always have to take a bus or a van. And there are two dogs in the hostel of the owner.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Erik B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rio de Janeiro hotels
Santa Teresa
Rio Palazzo
Rio Palazzo
#25 of 330 in Rio de Janeiro
5.0 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
Santa Teresa
Casa da Gente
Casa da Gente
#9 of 330 in Rio de Janeiro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 246 reviews
Santa Teresa
Casa Marques
Casa Marques
#7 of 330 in Rio de Janeiro
5.0 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Teresa
Mama Ruisa
Mama Ruisa
#3 of 330 in Rio de Janeiro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 379 reviews
Santa Teresa
Casa Beleza
Casa Beleza
#2 of 330 in Rio de Janeiro
5.0 of 5 bubbles 567 reviews
Barra da Tijuca
Brisa Barra Hotel
Brisa Barra Hotel
#20 of 280 in Rio de Janeiro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa 579? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa 579

Property: Casa 579
Address: Rua Doutor Julio Otoni 579 | Santa Teresa, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 20241-400, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Santa Teresa
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #57 of 330 B&Bs / Inns in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa 579 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa 579 is a stylish boutique guesthouse located in Santa Teresa, Rio de Janeiro. With excellent facilities and an amazing roof terrace with 180 degree views of Cristo Redentor, Sugar Loaf Mountain and Guanabara Bay, it makes the perfect place to stay to avoid the soulless high rise hotels of Copacabana and Ipanema and see the “real” Rio. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Casa 579 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa 579 Hotel Rio De Janeiro
Casa 579 Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing