We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little restaurant”

Quiteria Restaurante
Reserve a table
2
Thu, 2/25
8:00 PM
Ranked #59 of 13,739 Restaurants in Rio de Janeiro
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Ipanema
Description: QUITÉRIA Located on leafy Rua Maria Quitéria, a cross street off Ipanema beach, the restaurant is specialised in Brazilian dishes that utilises fresh, local and seasonal ingredients, prepared by Chef Alejandra Maidana. The relaxed atmosphere of the restaurant, which was designed by local architect Bel Lobo, is a reference to the Tropical modernism Era, with comfortable chairs by award winning designer Sérgio Rodrigues. The site specific installation created by visual artist Gisele Camargo draws attention to the open plan kitchen, where the dishes are finalised. It is an experience of its own. DRINKS The QUITÉRIA offers a concise but sophisticated wine list, that will pair to your choice of dishes harmoniously. Here you are able to enjoy classic cocktails prepared by our bar attendants, who are masters in classic and signature caipirinhas made with fresh fruits from this season.
Reviewed October 14, 2018 via mobile

We loved everything about this little restaurant that was just a few blocks from where we were staying in Ipanema. Everything we ordered was wonderful, well cooked, nicely seasoned, interesting combinations, and well presented. We really enjoyed meeting and talking with server Priscilla one of the 3 times we had dinner here. But all the other servers were also great. Highly recommend the fish, banana salad, and starter composed of chick and blackeyed peas, mango, avocado, etc.
Entrees and starters here are very inventive!

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank glover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quiteria_Restaurante, maître at Quiteria Restaurante, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2018

Dear customer,
It was with great enthusiasm that we received the incredible comments made regarding your visit to the Quitéria.
The restaurant staff appreciate the compliments made both for our service and for the creativity of our gastronomic creations. It is a great pleasure to know that our menu has pleased you and thank you immensely for the adjectives you have used in describing the dishes.
We are truly flattered that we have given you this gastronomic experience on your trip to Rio and for your three visits !! We look forward to seeing you again!
Thank you for recommending the QUITÉRIA!
With my best regards,
Djalma, maître

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (865)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

40 - 44 of 865 reviews

Reviewed October 14, 2018 via mobile

Terrific restaurant. Genuine fresh brazilian food with fair price. Excelent cost benefit. A must go when u r in Rio.

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank maria s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quiteria_Restaurante, maître at Quiteria Restaurante, responded to this reviewResponded October 26, 2018

Dear client,

Thank you for sharing your experience at Quitéria and for your flattering comments. The restaurant staff appreciate and look forward to seeing you again!
With my best regards,
Djalma, maître

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2018 via mobile

Excellent 1st choice for dinner. Very close to our hotel. Superb fish soup ( stew) and steak. Very hospitable staff and value for money. Would definitely visit again.

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank cenk66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quiteria_Restaurante, Gerente at Quiteria Restaurante, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2018

Dear customer,
What a joy to know that our menu and service surprised you! Thank you very much for sharing your experience here at Quitéria with us!
Just a few steps from the Ipanema beach and next to the Ipanema Inn Hotel, we serve the guests of this hotel and we are pleased to receive passers-by as well.
The staff appreciates your kind words and we look forward to a new visit soon.
With my best regards,
Gabriela Oliveira

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2018

We had a pleasure of dining here daily since we were staying at the Ipanema Inn; it's located on it's ground floor. I tried all meals here, their breakfast buffet, lunch buffet as well as dinner. Everything was amazing! The octopus was delicious. I also loved their Brazilian root chips served with cheese. The standouts for me were actually the staff, specifically Allef & Priscilla!! They were so kind and made sure we were taken cared of and were having a great meal. I seriously would go back just because they were that awesome. If you want a restaurant with good ambience and a great meal Quiteria is the place to go if you're in Ipanema!

Date of visit: September 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank aprildel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quiteria_Restaurante, Gerente at Quiteria Restaurante, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2018

Dear customer,
What a joy to know that our menu and service surprised you! Thank you for sharing your experience here in Quitéria with us!
Just a few steps from Ipanema Beach and attached to the Ipanema Inn Hotel, we serve the guests of this hotel and we are very pleased to receive passers-by as well!
Our menu essentially works with Brazilian, local and seasonal ingredients so that we always have fresh ingredients and encourage the local economy!
We were happy to know that our grilled octopus and Brazilian roots chips pleased us, as did our 100% organic breakfast buffet in which we offer eggs prepared according to customer's preference, vegan yogurt, selected fruits and cereals, tapioca and granola made here .
The kitchen and service staff thank you for your kind words, especially Allef and Priscila for the highlight and care!
We look forward to your next visit soon!
With my best regards,
Gabriela Oliveira

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2018 via mobile

Cosy and elegant place located in the smooth and safe zone of Ipanema.
Service is professional and kind, bit a bit slow.
The menu is various, I tried palmito as starter then red fish with coconut rice. Delicious!
The IPA beer is very good as well.
Price is reasonable maybe just a bit more of the average.

Date of visit: September 2018
1  Thank Luigi P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quiteria_Restaurante, Gerente at Quiteria Restaurante, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2018

Dear Customer,

We are so happy to get such a great feedback.
Thank you for letting us know that the Grilled palm of heart and the Catcth of the day with coconut rice were delicious! We are glad to see that our local beer selection pleased you!
We look foward to see you here again!
With my best regards,
Gabriela Oliveira

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Quiteria Restaurante also viewed

Rio de Janeiro, RJ
 

Been to Quiteria Restaurante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
$USD
United States
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in the United States. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.