We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good room, gym and breakfast”
Review of Promenade Paradiso

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Promenade Paradiso
Ranked #147 of 282 Hotels in Rio de Janeiro
Florianopolis, SC
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Good room, gym and breakfast”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Promenade Paradiso is located right in front "Downtown Mall" and has relatively good access to the beach, taking a small boat which crosses "Canal de Marapendi". The breakfast is really good but unfortunately opens only at 6:30 in the morning. The room is quite small but brand new. Hotel staff are ok. The Gym and the swimming pool are really good.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank crsbrz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

468 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    104
    202
    105
    39
    18
See reviews for
80
103
20
196
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Maria, RS
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2013 via mobile

If your intention is to stay here and visit or do business in Rio downtown, avoid this Hotel. It's a good Hotel to stay when attending a conference or exhibition at Rio Centro Center or relaxing at the Barra da Tijuca Beach. Check in and check out was not quick and easy, at least the front desk staff was friendly. Rooms are OK, clean, Cable TV and Wireless service good. Room service and loundry service are better than average. Location of the Hotel is very good, if doing business in Barra da Tijuca. The Porcao Barbecue Restaurant is only 5 minutes away.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChrisBoge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bogota, Colombia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2013 via mobile

I was cheated by a travel agency promising that this hotel worth to pay almost USD1000 for 2 nights during the Rio Carnival. It was the narrowest room I have staid ever. (you have litteraly to squeeze your body through the room and the bathroom).

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rudyard11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Rio de Janeiro hotels

Germany
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2013

Stayed there for a week. Room was quite large with included kitchen and a good bed, but due to the thin walls and the non-fitting door it was sometimes really loud, even when somebody just walked down the floor and you always hear the traffic of Avenida Americas (six lanes).
Pool and gym are more than okay. Breakfast offers limited choices of food (for me too less fresh vegetables) and the coffee was awful.
Crew and service is upper-average.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cahorsGermany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nick_yap
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2013

Booked on Hotwire, we were at the mercy of our budget. Still, things one should know:
1. the beach is a 30 minute walk by the side of a major thoroughfarE.
2. one way in and out of Barra Tijuca, and it is a 30 minute cab ride away from Leblon. With traffic, up to two hours.
3. The hotel is on a HORRIFIC 10 LANE HIGHWAY (Avenidas Das Americas). The only thing better than sucking down gallons of bus exhaust is the thrill and terror of being killed by a speeding Peugot just trying to get some morning coffee.
4. The front desk staff would not cross the lobby to pee on you if you were on fire. When we walked in, the woman was on the phone with a friend, and continued her conversation without even a glance upward. She performed the same charming trick when we tried to hail a cab. At the end of our stay, she gave us a wonderful encore: a 45 minute check out while we stood in front of her. (I believe she was either playing tetris or updating her facebook status).
5. The hallways and rooms are tiled. Every morning, we were greeted by the cacophonous gaggling of our hotel maids who seemed to really enjoy dropping objects on the ground, just to punctuate their riotous wall-of-sound conversation. If you like paying 275 dollars a night to stay in a Motel 6 and get treated like poorly... then by all means.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank nick_yap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alicante, Spain
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2013

Despite requesting twin rooms when making the booking they ignored the request, despite e-mailing them 5 times they ignored the e-mails, was told on day of arrival that there where no twin rooms available.

Why any Hotel acts in this way amazes me.

Useless

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank No7Agency
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
montreal qc
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2013

My wife and I stayed in this hotel for 6 nights during the Carnival season 2013. The front desk staff was very friendly and helpful and serviced us in English particularly by Alana who was an ever smiling. We had our room at the back with a view of pools from the balcony. The room was rather small with two beds but it was on the quiter side and away from the very busy highway next to the hotel, so we did not mind. The room price included breakfast, which was very good with plenty of food and well serviced by the staff. The breakfast room was located next to the pools and in lush green trees and vegetation setting. We had some housekeeping problems which were resolved very promptly. Communication with the housekeeping staff can be challenging.

The hotel is situated in Barra Area in South Zone. The whole set up reminded me of Florida. The hotel was in a very secure and safe area. It is a bit far from the airport, City and other well known tourist attractions such as Copacabana, Ipanema and Leblon beaches, Christo the Redeemer, Sugar Loaf peak, etc. A taxi will cost between R$ 60 to100 to most of these places. We explored all areas of Rio.by a superb bus and Metro system that we found the most convenient, cheap and fast way. One can take a bus on a scenic route to Ipanema and then continue on the Metro to anywhere in the City for a total cost of R$4.75. The city buses to almost all locations can be boarded not far from the hotel.

There is a shopping Mall on the opposite side of the highway but for groceries one has to walk to EXTRA super market about 400 m away. A bautiful beach is only 15 minutes walk and a ferry crossing. Ask for complimentary ferry crossing cards at the front desk.

Our flight departure was early in the morning. The front desk arranged for our wake-up call, taxi and advance breakfast.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the back preferably facing the pools.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IKI1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeptEcommerce, Manager E-commerce at Promenade Paradiso, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Dear guest,

We are very happy to know that had great experience in Promenade Paradiso.

We will be happy to have again the opportunity to have you as our guest.

Graciously.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rio de Janeiro hotels
Barra da Tijuca
AC Hotel Rio de Janeiro Barra da Tijuca
AC Hotel Rio de Janeiro Barra da...
#149 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
68 reviews
Promenade Barra First
#116 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
536 reviews
Barra da Tijuca
Royalty Barra Hotel
Royalty Barra Hotel
#161 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
691 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barra da Tijuca
Mercure Rio de Janeiro Barra da Tijuca
Mercure Rio de Janeiro Barra da ...
#63 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
573 reviews
Barra da Tijuca
Hotel Praia Linda
Hotel Praia Linda
#57 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
361 reviews
Barra da Tijuca
Windsor Oceanico
Windsor Oceanico
#21 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
739 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Promenade Paradiso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Promenade Paradiso

Property: Promenade Paradiso
Address: Avenida das Americas 487, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22631-000, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Barra da Tijuca
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#57 Luxury Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Promenade Paradiso 4*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With a privileged location, at the beginning of Barra da Tijuca, Next to Itanhangá Golf Club and to the shopping centers Downtown and Cittá America, the hotel offers ferry service to the beach and has Rooms and suites with modern decor and cozy atmosphere. It also offers a complete leisure area with swimming pool, sauna And gardens, as well as function rooms with all the infrastructure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Promenade Paradiso reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Promenade Paradiso Hotel Rio De Janeiro
Promenade Paradiso Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing