We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“room was ok and staff tried to help” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Promenade Paradiso

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Promenade Paradiso
Ranked #140 of 280 Hotels in Rio de Janeiro
Rugby, United Kingdom
1 review
“room was ok and staff tried to help”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2012

we stayed during the carival. It was a bit far from the airport and all the attractions. Tour companies will not pick up from this hotel. Staff cannot speak good english. Very good swimming pool and room was good size and clean. There is a good shopping centre nearby.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rubychandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

460 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    197
    103
    39
    18
See reviews for
76
102
20
193
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Colnbrook
Level Contributor
234 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2012

This is a fairly good hotel, located in the Barra District of Rio.
It is not located by the Beach, but along the main road of Avenida das Americas.
The hotel rooms are very large and spacious, with tiled floors.
My room had a small kitchenette.
TV is provided with a cable box, with a range of TV stations, some are in English.
The bathrooms are well maintained and the showers work very well.
Wifi is provided, but it does not work in all rooms, the staff kindly moved me into another room, when I stopped receiving wifi signal in my room.
The hotel has all the basic amenities for a business traveller but does feel a touch bland, however this should not deter the holidaying travellers.
The bed is always an important consideration for me and the
Opposite the hotel is a small shopping complex, with shops and restaurants. A 10 min trip up the road can get you to the Barra Shopping mall.
It is possible to walk to the beach from the hotel in 15-20 mins.

Room Tip: Choose a room facing towards the pool, you're less likely to have mosquitoes entering into the h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank T_Virdee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2012 via mobile

I stayed only 1 night for business purpose.
The good: people were very nice and kind, breakfast was quite good.
The bad: room was very small. Beds were two single small and it was bit unconfertable to my opinion. Maybe it's because I used to queen or king bed, not single.l. I did not in single bed since I was 17 years old.

I would recommend to book this hotel if price will be a bit cheaper and getting bigger bed.

Stayed March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jaksirak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belo Horizonte, MG
Level Contributor
143 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2012

I am always going to Rio for business or work but it was my very first time at Barra district, as I have always stayed around Ipanema or Copacabana.
I must say that I really really liked this hotel.
First: the swimming pool. What is that? The BEST swimming pool of Rio. You can stay until late at night, the water is very good, there is a jacuzi next to it, its a very big pool, one you won't find in other hotels in Copa or Ipanema...you won't want to leave it, believe me.
Second: I found the staff to be very very polite and helpful, anything I wanted I got it. I had a problem with the air conditioning of my room and they've immediately changed my room. The guys at the reception would always give me towels to the pool and give me information about my way around in Barra. So you know, I have just arrived in the hotel late at night, the night service was closed, but still they prepared a very tasty cheese and ham sandwich with fries for me. They could have told me no, but they didn't. Thumbs up.
My room is very spacious, I have a balcony out and its surrounded with trees, which I love. My bed is huge, the bathroom is great, with lots os specialties. No complaints.
I noticed they have internet in the lobby, but I can't say if you have to pay or not, as I am using my own. This way, I can't tell if they have wireless or not.
Breakfast was delicious, lots of fruits and other palstry, loafs, eggs, yougurt, etc. I have been here for 4 nights now and I'm always anxious for breakfast.
The hotel is right in front of "Downtown" commercial center and near lots of restaurants in Barra. If you are a tourist looking for the Rio scenarios(corcovado, sugar loaf, etc), probably this is not the place for you, just like other hotels in Barra. Still, it wouldn't be a problem. I've spoken to lots of tourists that were at this hotel and visiting the best attractions of Rio. If you don't want the hustle and bustle of Copacabana and Ipanema you can easily stay in Barra, at this hotel, just like many others prefered. If you have a car, there are planty of parking spots in the hotel, so easy...
The hotel is nearby Barra beach, a very beautiful and cleaner beach than Copacabana and Ipanema. Most of tourists only pay attention to Copa or Ipanema, but the fact is that we brazilians, do not appreciate Copa very much as its too croweded, mixed...messy...Ipanema and Leblon, in my opinion are better, but Barra and Recreio beaches are also very very very nice.Get a map so you can visit it, its worth it.
If you are in a business trip around Barra, you should stay here. If you are in a business trip in Rio, you can stay here too!
I do not agree with some negative posts about this hotel, I can't believe some people in tripadvisor sometimes.
I'm a traveller and I have posted several posts about hotels all around the world. This is a very good hotel, much cheaper compared to those OLD hotels in Copacabana. Its a quiet hotel, you will have a great night of sleep.
By car or cab it only takes 15 min to Ipanema and 20 to Copa, so whats the problem with staying here. People are too spoiled and only want to stay in Copa, but now that I found this hotel, Copa no more for me lol.
I'm going back to Rio next month for business and I'll stay here for sure.
Nationalities I've seen in the hotel: Americans, French, Colombians, Argentinians, Spanish, Portuguese.
You will have a great time here.
My new hotel in Rio.

Room Tip: Try to get rooms turned to the pool, its a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DeMarco10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brasilia, DF
Level Contributor
103 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2011

The hotel is good, new, clean, fairly good breakfast and vicinity. The staff on the other hand did not charge me correctly for minibar comsumption, even though I assured the items used .. careful about the bill. The fitness center opens too late.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rmabeci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BRAZIL
Level Contributor
62 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2011

This hotel is my home in Rio de Janeiro since its opening.
It´s well located in Barra da Tijuca, close to good shopping malls and restaurants. Not the best place to stay if you are a first time tourist and want to go to Copacabana and Ipanema beaches and the other famous attractions of Rio (Cristo, Pão de Açúcar, etc). In my opinion this is a hotel more for people that go often to Rio and already know their way around and, even better, if you have a rented a car.
The hotel is nice, clean and convenient. Nice breakfast, pool and sauna. The gym is not so good.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank erinleite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2011

We stayed in one of the smaller rooms. It was small indeed. The beds were twin beds and there was practically no room to move around. The shower took forever to heat up.

The grounds are pretty nice. Also, the hotel is on a very busy road, so you will hear the traffic at all hours.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JoeBay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rio de Janeiro hotels
Promenade Barra First
#103 of 280 in Rio de Janeiro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 523 reviews
Barra da Tijuca
Ibis Rio de Janeiro Barra Da Tijuca
Ibis Rio de Janeiro Barra Da Tij...
#45 of 280 in Rio de Janeiro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 824 reviews
Barra da Tijuca
Hotel Praia Linda
Hotel Praia Linda
#41 of 280 in Rio de Janeiro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barra da Tijuca
Brisa Barra Hotel
Brisa Barra Hotel
#20 of 280 in Rio de Janeiro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 406 reviews
Barra da Tijuca
Mercure Rio de Janeiro Barra da Tijuca
Mercure Rio de Janeiro Barra da ...
#59 of 280 in Rio de Janeiro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 531 reviews
Barra da Tijuca
AC Hotel Rio de Janeiro Barra da Tijuca
AC Hotel Rio de Janeiro Barra da...
#152 of 280 in Rio de Janeiro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Promenade Paradiso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Promenade Paradiso

Property: Promenade Paradiso
Address: Avenida das Americas 487, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22631-000, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Barra da Tijuca
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#57 Luxury Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Promenade Paradiso 4*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With a privileged location, at the beginning of Barra da Tijuca, Next to Itanhangá Golf Club and to the shopping centers Downtown and Cittá America, the hotel offers ferry service to the beach and has Rooms and suites with modern decor and cozy atmosphere. It also offers a complete leisure area with swimming pool, sauna And gardens, as well as function rooms with all the infrastructure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Despegar.com and Travelocity so you can book your Promenade Paradiso reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Promenade Paradiso Hotel Rio De Janeiro
Promenade Paradiso Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing