We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid this - a true 'budget hotel' at not so budget prices”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Cristal Palace
Ranked #269 of 286 Hotels in Rio de Janeiro
Reviewed March 4, 2009

The hotel isn't as bad as some of the earlier reviews state; the location is good and the rooms are clean. The breakfast is actually very good as well.

Those are the only positives. The rooms are incredibly noisey; not just the traffic but also in my room you could hear everything going on in the other room be it the TV or slightly more intimate things!

Also, the staff are quite rude. I had a guest stay over and did not argue with paying for 2 people (I had paid for a single room but was given a double) - I got a call at 6.30am from the day receptionist telling me my friend had to leave immediately (I obviously told him where to go).

Anyway, all in all the hotel is not cheap enough for the service it gives and the quality of the rooms. Book elsewhere is my advice.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marylehomme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (194)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

42 - 48 of 194 reviews

Reviewed March 30, 2008

This place is disgusting!!! They make you pay upfront because they know their hotel is a complete dump. Our nightmare here started by having to change rooms because the beds were so old and uncomfortable – the springs were coming through the mattress. Then in the middle of the night the air condition stopped working. The next day, we found dust on our bed which came directly from the bed headboard. We later found out that the room had an insect infestation. At this point, I decided to ask for my money back. I had booked for four nights and on my second day, I could not stay there anymore. The guy in the front desk was very unhelpful and said I needed to speak to the manager. When I told the manager that I wanted my money back because the room was inhabitable, he offered for us to move to another room. After finding egg-like things in my room, I was completely put off by this place and just asked for my money back. The manager refused and started YELLING at me. This hotel is hell on earth. If you want to enjoy the beautiful city of Rio in a good budget hotel accommodation, just go to the hotel next door. The Atlantis Copacabana Hotel – it is the same price.

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank Nessi1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2008

This hotel is in a very strategic position one block from Ipanema beach and one block from Copacabana. The room was little but clean and the bathroom was new and spacious. The only tihing to complaint was the air conditioner that was noisy when at high speed. Staff was very polite and charming, speaking italian as well. I had a special packet for the New Years eve with breakfast included. Recommended if you're in Rio and you are looking for a good hotel on a budget.

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank italyItalia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Escolham quartos mais altos em razão do barulho.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Daniela T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: November 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Izasci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BOBLAZIO2014, Gerente at Hotel Cristal Palace, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Os quartos de fundo são mais silenciosos.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2017, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank zeduardo_44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BOBLAZIO2014, Gerente at Hotel Cristal Palace, responded to this reviewResponded May 19, 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: April 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Maggiy-Rivero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BOBLAZIO2014, Gerente at Hotel Cristal Palace, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rio de Janeiro hotels
Copacabana
Copacabana Praia Hotel
Copacabana Praia Hotel
#82 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
618 reviews
Copacabana
Mercure Rio de Janeiro Arpoador Hotel
Mercure Rio de Janeiro Arpoador ...
#125 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
810 reviews
Ipanema
Hotel San Marco Ipanema
Hotel San Marco Ipanema
#193 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Copacabana
Royalty Rio Hotel
Royalty Rio Hotel
#148 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
160 reviews
Ipanema
Arena Ipanema Hotel
Arena Ipanema Hotel
#22 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
320 reviews
Copacabana
Rio Design Hotel
Rio Design Hotel
#43 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
638 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cristal Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cristal Palace

Address: Rua Francisco Otaviano 56 | Arpoador, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22080-041, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Copacabana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#31 Spa Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range: $60 - $133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Cristal Palace 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A little beautiful hotel situated between Copacabana E Ipanema No Bairro Do Aspoador recently renovated with Italian style, near all the sightseeing in the city, we try to give the taste of a second house for your holidays. 24 rooms with all the comforts for your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and Orbitz so you can book your Hotel Cristal Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Cristal Palace Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing