We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel and fantastic location”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Praia Lido Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Rio de Janeiro
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Praia Lido Hotel
Ranked #180 of 281 Hotels in Rio de Janeiro
Ennis, Ireland
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great hotel and fantastic location”
Reviewed June 28, 2012

We stayed in a hostel for the first 4 nights in Rio. Really wanted to stay a few more days nearer the beach and by chance went into Praia Lido hotel to check the price. You will not find any hotel as cheap as this in the Copacabana area. The rooms are big with fridge, Aircon, good shower only problem is the plastic mattress which I found a little uncomfortable. Had a great choice of hot and cold food for breakfast. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lizzyOD1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    29
    22
    1
    4
See reviews for
13
21
12
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2011

I had the misfortune to be booked into this hotel this week, I checked out the first morning and went elsewhere.

If you love mirrors you'll love it here. There's one on the ceiling, both large walls and the side wall. Everywhere you look you can see yourself about 50 times.

The room was very small, smelled very musty and there were two small lizards playing racing round the walls, probably accessed through the large hole in the wall where the a/c piping entered. There were also a large quantity of small crawling insects.

I got there very late in the evening and ended up with hardly any sleep for various banging of doors, singing and the constant noise from various 'ladies of the night' entertaining their guests, I'll leave that bit for your own imagination.

The room was sort of stuck in the 1980's in decor and not very clean, there were some large marks on the bed sheet. The bathroom is also very cramped and various fittings were loose or broken.

The mini bar prices are also very high, I can't comment on the food as I didn't risk it.

Personally, I'd avoid, unless you enjoy the constant coming and going of 'ladies' and enjoy looking at yourself at all times. It did remind me to go on a diet however.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Ian_C96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Rio de Janeiro hotels

Minnesota
Level Contributor
39 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2011

Rio's hotel prices are very expensive so it is hard to find any decent hotel with a good location to the beach and a good price. This hotel is nothing special but for the price and the location nothing else in the area compares.

The best part about the hotel to me was that the staff was nice and wasn't greedy like many other hotels are. For example, when we asked about a late check out they said that was fine and didn't charge us a half day like every other hotel in the area did. Their answer was "why complicate things?" This was very refreshing for me to hear.

The pros about this hotel are the staff, the price, the breakfast and the location. The cons are the views (cement walls outside the windows), very hard beds and non-functioning wifi.

Given the options and prices in Rio I would stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MateoVerito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2011

After 1 horrible night spent in the Hotel Bandeirantes we were recommended the Praia Lido by some friends who had just stayed there. From the moment we arrived until the moment they took us to the airport in the hotels own taxi service it could not have been better!
The hotel staff are friendly and helpful, speak good english and offer tours without pushing them on you!
The double room was spacious with comfy bed, chair and desk area, great aircon, free wifi, cable tv and a decent bathroom.
The free breakfast was the best we have had anywhere in South America and its served until 12pm which was great for us! Hot eggs and sausages, cereal, lots of fresh fruit, bread and cakes. Plus juice, coffee and even chocolate milk!
The hotel took us to the airport in their own taxi service which was fine and cheaper than a cab. They also stored our luggage for the day before we went with no hassle.

I would definately recommend the Praia Lido to anyone wanting a decent budget hotel in a nice part of Copacabana and only 1 block from the beach! Excellent 2 nights stay here!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JonnyRedUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
215 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2010

I spent a little time wandering around Rio trying to find a replacement for a booking that fell through. I came across the small entrance to the Praia Lido hotel. I went up the stairs and was impressed with how clean and pleasant the reception area was.

A guy on reception showed me to a room, which looked a bit dated, but was clean. The price of 130 reais seemed reasonable enough as it included breakfast. The bathroom was a little bit cramped and dated. The mattress on the bed was also a little bit hard. I had a fridge in this room. I eventually stayed here for 7 days as I got to like the place and know the staff a bit better.

The free wireless is good, when it works. And I have no complaints about the self service breakfast. The quality and choice of food was good. The fact that it is available until 12pm daily is also a big plus, if you like to party late in Rio.

I was moved to a different room for the last few days of my stay. There was a mirror above my bed which made it look a bit like some kind of porn room. The soundproofing between this second room and the rooms next to it wasn't as good either.

All in all this is a good hotel, at a good price if you consider that you are only 1 block from the beach and a 5 minute walk to the metro station.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank thejournalist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marrickville, Australia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2010

You get what you pay for. This is very cheap for Rio. Tired and a bit dingy. But some surprises. Nice breakfast, free internet, and a wake call that occurred.
Recomend but don't expect any frills.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brianoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naamah
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2007

We had a really nice stay at the Praia Lido Hotel. The staff was friendly, it was clean, the rooms were nice and the location was just one street from the beach.

We found the hotel by accident since the entrance is quite small, but once you come up the stairs the rest is really nice. Since it was low-season (June) we got a really good price, and payed 120 reais per night for a double room (The prices posted on the wall were higher).

The rooms were nice, with radio, TV and airconditioning. The beds were a little hard, and with plastic wrapping around mattresses. That made them a little uncomfortable, but at least you know they're clean that way.

I recommend a room in the back, instead of facing the street where it got quite noisy.

Decent breakfast was self-serve until noon, which was great when you want to sleep in.

Safes are available for free, and using the internet in the lobby was quite cheap.

  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Naamah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rio de Janeiro hotels
Copacabana
Copacabana Mar Hotel
Copacabana Mar Hotel
#98 of 281 in Rio de Janeiro
517 reviews
Copacabana
Ibiza Copacabana Hotel
Ibiza Copacabana Hotel
#159 of 281 in Rio de Janeiro
252 reviews
Copacabana
Real Palace Hotel
Real Palace Hotel
#116 of 281 in Rio de Janeiro
276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Copacabana
Hotel Rio Lancaster
Hotel Rio Lancaster
#124 of 281 in Rio de Janeiro
432 reviews
Copacabana
Hotel Astoria Palace
Hotel Astoria Palace
#99 of 281 in Rio de Janeiro
962 reviews
Copacabana
Ibis Copacabana Posto 2
Ibis Copacabana Posto 2
#60 of 281 in Rio de Janeiro
1,981 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Praia Lido Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Praia Lido Hotel

Property: Praia Lido Hotel
Address: Avenida Nossa Senhora de Copacabana 202 | Copacabana, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22020-001, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Copacabana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#69 On the Beach Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
Hotel Class:3 star — Praia Lido Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 53
Also Known As:
Praia Lido Hotel Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing