We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Che Legarto Ipanema”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Che Lagarto Hostel Ipanema
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 17, 2011

Great location, but that was all.
During my week stay rooms were cleaned daily however was more of a sweep the rubbish under the mat type job.
3 floors had bed bugs and had to be sprayed.
Bar was empty on numerous occasions and when there was some alcohol in there was minimal. Hostel lacked vibe and staff were only nice from time to time.

Went over Carnival and was definitely over priced and would not go back.

Room Tip: Stayed in 12 bed mixed dorm and found it fine. most people there were nicely and considerate of othe...
  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank DaniW_86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,159)
There are newer reviews for Che Lagarto Hostel Ipanema
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

156 - 162 of 1,160 reviews

Reviewed October 15, 2011

Stayed there for 5 days in 12 bed mixed dorm. Beds and rooms cleaned every morning. Staff extremely friendly and helpful in organising tours, nights out, taxis etc. Most nights bar downstairs has plenty people around and good for meeting new people. Literally 2 minutes from ipanema beach. 2 mins from bus stop and 20 from metro station. Definitely recommend this Che Legarto..

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nealmbyrne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2011

nice hostel, good location but no atmosphere and unhelpful staff. it tried to create a party hostel vibe but there was never any partying and the bar was always empty. several times we asked the reception about rates about the che lagarto in buzios and they couldnt be bothered looking it up for us so we had to ask over and over and then gave up.

the air con in the room is really noisy.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jasage87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2011

Have spent 3 great nights in a 6 bed mixed dorm with ensuite bathroom - the room was spacious (as were the lockers in which you could easily fit a big backpack) and clean as well as the bathroom. Beds can be a bit unstable so watch out, but is usually not a big issue to fiy them.
Location is perfect as it is only a few meters down the road from the beach (close to Posto 10), a lot of snack bars and restaurants are around as well as supermarkets and drug stores.
The staff organises events on a regular basis, such as beach volleyball every afternoon, transport to the Lapa street party and a Brasilian night with typical music, food and decoration.
There's music and a bar every night, but it's not a party hostel, they make sure that at 11 or 11 p.m. they close the terrace and people calm down, but they'll share with you where there are places to go to for party.
The people are very friendly and helpful, esp. ehen my luggage was delayed they were speaking to the hotline in Portuguese on my behalf as it turned out to be a lot easier.
Sometimes they seem to be disorganised and diverted by other requests, but that is just the Brasilian way of business ;-)

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AKW1903
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2011

I stayed here for a few weeks in mid November 2010. When I arrived, I was sleep deprived from traveling for nearly 3 days from Germany through Italy, Argentina and Sao Paulo to get to Rio (after originating in Australia). My friend had arrived earlier that day and had already checked in, so when I got there I just gave the front desk my name, they gave me a key, I put my bag in the room and then starting drinking!

The hostel itself is quite basic - You can choose the room you stay in when you book (e.g. how many other people will be in the room), and breakfast is included. I guess the thing to keep in mind when you stay here is that it IS A HOSTEL. Other people have mentioned that the rooms are crowded, too hot, etc etc. They seemed to have forgotten it is not a swanky hotel - Not suitable for families or business travelers, unless you have kids that adore partying into the wee hours of the morning.

The staff are friendly, but travelers themselves, so don't expect world-class service - They are here to experience Rio, just the same as you are (they just happen to be earning money whilst they do it!). They will point you in the right direction, tell you where the good bars are (and come with you most of the time!) and help you if you need the basics.

The rooms themselves are a little warm, but there are fans and sheets, so after the first few nights you don't notice it. The bathrooms are good for a hostel, and there is a communal kitchen it you don't want to eat out every night. The bar on the first level is a destination for people staying in other hostels - So be prepared to meet A LOT of people, and be entertained every night!

In my humble opinion, I think that this place is the bomb. I will stay here again when I return to Rio next year, and will remember the friends I made there for the rest of my life.

Room Tip: Don't be scared of getting a mixed room.
  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ukunbanshee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2011

I liked this hostel. The staff there were very friendly and helpful. There were a few annoying thigs, like only 3 computers for a lot of travelers (and they charge you for the cost of the internet - i only found out on check out). And one small bathroom for my room (it was always full i used one of the share bathrooms). And the price is pretty expensive for those on a tight budget. But over all it is very very clean, there is a bar downstairs and its a good place to meet others if you are traveling solo. I liked it, i would stay at another Che Largarto again in a different location....

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank n_mcdonald81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2010

6 beds crammed in a sweaty room with one microscopic bathroom that got dirty after 5 minutes. no AC till later in the night and blasting music with no luggage security. Truly, the phrase " you get what you pay for" holds true in this case. the only worse hostel is the che lagarto in ilhe grande. little exposure to anything genuine brazilian. no amenities and difficult to access internet.

Stayed: December 2010, traveled with friends
2  Thank Kman4ever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rio de Janeiro hotels
Ipanema
Ipanema Inn
Ipanema Inn
#13 of 283 in Rio de Janeiro
1,419 reviews
Ipanema
Mar Ipanema Hotel
Mar Ipanema Hotel
#83 of 283 in Rio de Janeiro
1,190 reviews
Ipanema
Sofitel Rio de Janeiro Ipanema
Sofitel Rio de Janeiro Ipanema
#41 of 283 in Rio de Janeiro
1,728 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ipanema
El Misti Ipanema
El Misti Ipanema
#3 of 815 in Rio de Janeiro
466 reviews
Ipanema
Ipanema Beach Hostel
Ipanema Beach Hostel
#10 of 815 in Rio de Janeiro
181 reviews
Ipanema
Mango Tree Hostel Ipanema
Mango Tree Hostel Ipanema
#7 of 815 in Rio de Janeiro
608 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Che Lagarto Hostel Ipanema? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Che Lagarto Hostel Ipanema

Address: Paul Redfern, 48, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22411-001, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Ipanema , Lagoa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 815 Specialty Lodging in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range: $12 - $132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Che Lagarto Hostel Ipanema 2*
Number of rooms: 94
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Che Lagarto Hostel Ipanema reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Che Lagarto Hostels Ipanema Hotel Rio De Janeiro
Che Lagarto Hostel Ipanema Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing