We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“quiet in rio” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Castelinho38

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Castelinho38
Ranked #44 of 330 Rio de Janeiro B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Vaucluse
Level Contributor
81 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“quiet in rio”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2012

beautiful quiet hotel in the centre of rio in a very nice street with beautiful views from the terrace over the city to the beach..breakfast would have been better with some home made bread and fresh fruit juices but that is the only small remark! from here you can walk to a lot of good restaurants!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank simone_wim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    99
    54
    13
    1
    4
See reviews for
22
84
28
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
75 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2012

stayed here for 3 nights while visiting rio de janeiro. Beautiful view from the balcony and breakfast area over Rio de janeiro. It's not off great luxury but definately nice place to stay when you want to retreat in the evening from the noisy and busy centre of rio! The tram doens't work anymore, so best way to get into town is by taxi. Taxis are not too expensive. Breakfast was standard, nothing special. we stayed in the Limoeira room which was perfect. Bathrooms could be refurbished though! They have a beautiful garden at the bottom of a little path from the terrace, unfortunately they don't really make any use of it. This could become a great place for a pool, bar, loung area... The neighbourhood is fantastic, santa teresa is very quiet, can be dangerous apparently, but we did not have any problems. It has lots of nice little cafés and restaurants just 5min walking where you can have caipirinhas before dinner! also nice little antique boutique shops! I would definately stay in this area if i would come back to Rio.

Room Tip: limoeira room is a duplex room, with the bed upstairs. the bathroom should be refurbished though..
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travelling006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2012

Booked this through i-escape and expected better based on reviews, but did enjoy my stay.

Positives:
Staff and hotel's dogs were lovely and made me feel very safe! The hotel had a welcoming and relaxed atmosphere about it. Rooms were cleaned daily and felt fresh. We checked the more expensive rooms and would advise travellers to book these - they are newer, higher quality, better decorated and only £10 more expensive per night. Great location with nice restaurants, bars and things to see nearby. Lovely view from breakfast area / bar.

Negatives:
The first room we were given had a tiny bathroom including tiny sink with one tap. The room contained two double beds and felt more like a hostel than a hotel. There was no wardrobe, only a chest of drawers. After the first night we asked to see alternative rooms for the same price. Staff were very accommodating and and we stayed in a different room for the remainder of our stay. It wasn't perfect but better than the first room. There was a larger sink, but the bathroom looks as though it has not been upgraded since the 70s. The wardrobe and drawers were old and dusty and we didn't unpack. Breakfast was on, with bread, coconut cakes, fruit, juice, tea and coffee.

Overall, I expected better based on i-escape reviews and pictures. Despite my disappointment, I ended up enjoying my stay due to the hotel staff, welcoming and relaxed atmosphere and location.

Room Tip: I would advise travellers to pay an extra £10 a night to stay in the more expensive rooms - these we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GreenApple85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sverige
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2012

Overall we liked the Castelinho38, and the service was absolutely superb. Good breakfast, great location and the hotel provided us with subway passes and umbrellas for the New Years celebration. It was also nice and clean and the staff very friendly. We were however very disappointed since we had booked the Suite Deluxe and expected an old colonial style room with a view (as the website only described the facility of having one Suite Deluxe) and instead got a modern, low ceiling room with fake wood floors and no view. The hotel said this was a new suite and priced in the same category, but it was definitely not the room we had anticipated. Especially not at that price. They did give us a small discount at check out, but we still felt a bit cheated on our nice room, and paid an incredible amount for a quite poor room. I would still recommend the place except for New Years when everything in Rio is way too expensive and so not worth it!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GunLun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marylouretton
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2012

location, design, price, service -- perfect.

take a cab, bus or train to the beaches / christ / sugarloaf if you must -- this place is just seconds away from all the great bars & restaurants of santa teresa (sobre natural, bar do mineiro, aprazivel), yet on a quiet gated street for total quiet.

the terrace overlooking the city -- awesome.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank marylouretton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice, Italy
Level Contributor
243 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2011

We stayed here & enjoyed it, the place is interesting as a building, it has been well restored by Marco to create a gem. The terrace overlooking the city is fine, the breakfasts good & the staff helpful & friendly. The room we had was quite small, the bathroom tight.

At the start it seems far from the centre but S.Teresa is closer than Ipamena, we know we tried both. The whole of the area is becoming better known & there are many small places to eat.

Overall well worth staying here.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lagoon08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
114 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2011

This Is a lovely place to stay, clean with very friendly and helpful staff, lovely area of rio, bars and food very close. I found the area to be very safe, no trouble at all and never felt threatened even at night. The only thing I can say against this place is that the tram no longer runs so getting up and down the very steep hill is a problem.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank monumentchaser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rio de Janeiro hotels
Santa Teresa
Rio Panoramic
Rio Panoramic
#4 of 330 in Rio de Janeiro
5.0 of 5 bubbles 201 reviews
Santa Teresa
Casa Beleza
Casa Beleza
#2 of 330 in Rio de Janeiro
5.0 of 5 bubbles 567 reviews
Santa Teresa
Mama Ruisa
Mama Ruisa
#3 of 330 in Rio de Janeiro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Teresa
Casalegre Art Vila B&B - Santa Teresa
Casalegre Art Vila B&B - Santa T...
#5 of 330 in Rio de Janeiro
5.0 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
Santa Teresa
Modernistas Hospedagem e Arte
Modernistas Hospedagem e Arte
#47 of 330 in Rio de Janeiro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
Santa Teresa
Pousada Casa Aurea Boutique
Pousada Casa Aurea Boutique
#49 of 330 in Rio de Janeiro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castelinho38? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castelinho38

Property: Castelinho38
Address: Rua Triunfo 38 | Santa Teresa, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 20240-320, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Santa Teresa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 330 B&Bs / Inns in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Castelinho38 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Castelinho38 is a real castle in Santa Teresa, Rio de Janeiro's bohemian neighborhood. With its friendly atmosphere and huge space, the castle is ideal for couples, families and groups. Each room has its own personality and is equipped with queen-size beds, hot shower and fans. Our exotic breakfast is served in a beautiful terrace with view of the centre of Rio. Our friendly staff is always available for travel advice and tips for day & night life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Castelinho38 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castelinho38 Hotel Rio De Janeiro
Castelinho38 Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing