We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely!”
Review of L'Etoile

L'Etoile
Reserve a table
2
Thu, 2/25
8:00 PM
Ranked #17 of 13,739 Restaurants in Rio de Janeiro
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Neighborhood: Leblon
Description: Located on the 26th floor of the Sheraton Grand Rio Hotel and with a breatheaking view, L'Etoile offers refinement and sophistication with the highest quality service. The menu prepared by Chef Felix Sanchez offers the best of French cuisine with local and fresh ingredients for our client, always aiming to provide an incredible dining experience at the highest level. Come have this experience with us!
Reviewed May 27, 2019

We had dinner here our first night in Rio. It was a wonderful beginning to a month long journey that eventually took us to Barcelona. The food and presentation were excellent and we appreciated the staff attention. The hostess recognized that I was a little chilly from the air-conditioning and brought me a pashmina for the evening. It was nice to have a quality restaurant right at our hotel.

Date of visit: April 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Karen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marina L, Gerente de relações públicas at L'Etoile, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2019

Hello Karen,

Thank you for share your experience with us. We appreciate that you choose L'Etoile to celebrate your first night in Rio, our staff always look for ways to make the dining experience unique and special.
I will share your comments with the staff.

We hope receive you again soon!

Greetings,

Marina Lanes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (949)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

12 - 16 of 949 reviews

Reviewed April 14, 2019 via mobile

Amazing view amazing food, but best of all, amazing attention. French food for French people, high five!! It was my Bday and my wife Bday (yeah, born same day!!!). The chef at etoile (Felix) treated us so well with a beautiful Bday gift and entertained us as well. Our waiter, David from Cali colombia treated us like kings. Highly recommended , both this restaurant but also the stay at sheraton where everyone seems happy and friendly: you can tell when the management is doing is job well!!! Will go back!!!!

Date of visit: April 2019
2  Thank nicolassH3120GP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marina L, Gerente de relações públicas at L'Etoile, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2019

Hello Nicolass,

Thank you for your comment and for sharing your experience with us, we receive it with delight and make us feel proud about our gastronomy and team work.
At L'Etoile the costumer it's the main star and we do all our best to achieve the expectations and offer an unforgettable dinner.

We hope receive you again soon!

Best regards,
Marina Lanes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2019 via mobile

Now, let’s talk openly. This is an outstanding restaurant, with beautiful decor and impeccable table setting — for me the meal starts with quality table cloths and utensils — all clean cut. The food, ah, the food was delicious. I had a medium rare high fillet that came high and medium rare; service was International standard. The wine selection was great, and we had a Cabernet Franc from Mendonza, Argentina. If you come for the restaurant, though, make you you don’t mind being inside of a hotel, in this case Sheraton. The view is great, but the food is better! So be it!

Date of visit: April 2019
3  Thank nelsoncerqueira1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marina L, Gerente de relações públicas at L'Etoile, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2019

Hello Nelsoncerq,

Thank you for your comment and for share your experience with us.
It's a pleasure for us to know that you enjoy the environment, wine selection and gastronomy.
All the details are made to surprise our guests and receive comments like yours shows us that we are reaching our goal.

We hope receive you again soon!

Greetings,

Marina Lanes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2019 via mobile

What a deception ,first of all I would never choose that restaurant if I New it was in a Sheraton ,the absence of ambiance and the lack of costumer on a Friday night was awful and sinister we order two menu , that where dégustation so we take a seven course and a five courses menu
IShould know better when o see the amuse bouche , it was a all bowl of very blend mushroom (cream maiinly ) Flavorless .
Then we got a ceviche that was good the beef tartare Abd pepinillo was very good to.
And half of a coconuts wit two big fried shrimp( over cooked)
Swimming in a very sweet and unpleasant coconut cream with mango and a very pronounced extract of very cheap vanilla .
It was sucjh a weird and heavy mix I felt nausea .
We live the all think .
And then we got a all rack of lamb ( four triple lamb chop with a heavy sauce ,the meet was perfectly cook but sadly the Sybil
Sauce on the top was so so salty it ruin totalynthe great quality of the meet , the à all portion of robolo that was to cooked too !
We left half of it .
We eat almost all the fish .
At that point we just wanted end ithe disaster and go home .
We ask if it was possible to get the rest to go ,we where totally alone in the restaurant ,and we start to feel very uncomfortable ,since it was obvious that nothing was at the highs of our expectations..
We ask for the bill 780 real ,about 200 us and we left with seven boxes of left over !
We did not touch the duck .nor the cheese nor the desserts !
What a terrible dinner that was ,and so full
of promesses .
The service was perfect and the dressing of each plate was beautiful
To bad the flavor where so
Off and blend ,for most of it or wrong combination that makes the dish so weird that it makes you sick !!
Think twice before visiting l étoile very expensive, if the food was as good as it is beautiful .
I would put five star , but we live sad and unhappy !!

Date of visit: April 2019
3  Thank parislola92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marina L, Gerente de relações públicas at L'Etoile, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2019

Hello Parislola92,


Thank you for spend your time and sharing your experience with us.

Our kitchen staff is prestigious and authentic, Chef Felix Sanchez elaborates the dishes with passion and quality.

We are sorry to know that your experience did not reach the expectations. Our clients feedback is very much appreciated and is an important measure to guarantee we still remain as a reference restaurant in the City of Rio de Janeiro.

Hope we have a chance to welcome you back to next time to provide a real L’etoile food experience.

Once again thank you for your comment, I will share it with the kitchen staff.

Best Regards,

Marina Lanes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2019

Fantastic food, friendly staff and a great selection of wine. We had dinner at L’Etoile twice. The choice of foot is varied and the quality is excellent. Renato was our waiter and he was very attentive.

Date of visit: January 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Mairi5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marina L, Gerente de relações públicas at L'Etoile, responded to this reviewResponded March 28, 2019

Hello Mairi,

Thank you very much for your comment.
It is a pleasure to know that we enchanted your palate, we also thank you for the two visits to our restaurant.
I will pass on your comments to the team.

We hope to see you again soon!

Best Regards,

Marina Lanes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed L'Etoile also viewed

 

Been to L'Etoile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
$USD
United States
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in the United States. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.