We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ambiance 10 - Food/Service 7”
Review of L'Etoile

L'Etoile
Reserve a table
2
Thu, 2/25
8:00 PM
Ranked #17 of 13,739 Restaurants in Rio de Janeiro
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Neighborhood: Leblon
Description: Located on the 26th floor of the Sheraton Grand Rio Hotel and with a breatheaking view, L'Etoile offers refinement and sophistication with the highest quality service. The menu prepared by Chef Felix Sanchez offers the best of French cuisine with local and fresh ingredients for our client, always aiming to provide an incredible dining experience at the highest level. Come have this experience with us!
Reviewed December 26, 2018 via mobile

The restaurant is located at the Sheraton Hotel!Food was reasonable overall. My wife’s fish was overcooked and tough, however mine and my daughter’s were good! Honestly I was expecting more. Service needs some improvement. Maitre and waiter were kind and corteous but some more training would be a great help for the restaurant. Food from another table almost ended on ours...
Ambience was nice and chic and the location is spectacular. However the windows were completely foggy and blocked the gorgeous sight of Leblon and Ipanema beaches and the magnificent moon rising on the sky.

Date of visit: December 2018
1  Thank pbonesio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marina L, Gerente de relações públicas at L'Etoile, responded to this reviewResponded January 4, 2019

Hello Pedro,

Thank you for your comment and feedback, your impression about the restaurant it's important for us to improve some aspects and make our guests experience even better.

We hope receive you and your family again soon, to improve the impression on the last visit.

Best regards,

Marina Lanes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (949)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

20 - 24 of 949 reviews

Reviewed December 14, 2018

The Michelin Star L'Etoile Restaurante exceeded all expectations - we had the 7 course degustation with matching wines. Every course was so tasty and exquisitely presented. Ramon the Sommelier chose the most amazing wine selection - a great mix of South American as well as a few French wines. Renato and Fabio were our waiters - they were so attentive and just spoiled us. They cemented a great experience. We will come back

Date of visit: November 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank Suzana B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marina L, Gerente de relações públicas at L'Etoile, responded to this reviewResponded December 15, 2018

Hello Suzana,

Thank you for your detailed comment. Our tasting menu was created by Chef Jean Paul Bondoux and is executed by the excellent staff of L'Etoile. The passion of our staff makes the entire dining experience unique and special.
I will pass on your comments to the team and this will motivate them to continue offering the best every day to our clients.

We hope receive you soon as possible!

Best regards,
Marina Lanes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2018

The presentation of food and wine was superb. All four of us had the beef tenderloin which was delicious. I was disappointed there were no vegetables to choose from. The entree did come with grilled onions which were very delicious although small. I will return.

Date of visit: December 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Beevpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marina L, Gerente de relações públicas at L'Etoile, responded to this reviewResponded December 15, 2018

Hello Bee,

Thank you for your comment, we are glad that you liked our food and wine service, I will take your comment to the Chef, for us is very important know what our costumers like or dislike.

We hope receive you again soon!

Greetings,
Marina Lanes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2018 via mobile

I was doubtful about grading this restaurant. The decor is very nice, the view from the windows of Sao Conrado beach is wonderful and the food is sometimes very good. However, some caveats are unforgivable in Sheraton network. First of all, I liked the food, but it is not great. My impression is that the chef was not there. The entree, octopus was tasteful. The main dish, rabbit, was nice but the side dish was not brilliant (carrots and some bland purees). I did not like the dessert, a new conception of tarte tatin. The service was sometimes neglectful, including the wine service. And they do not have suitable glasses for wine! Should improve!

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank carlosmp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marina L, Gerente de relações públicas at L'Etoile, responded to this reviewResponded December 8, 2018

Hello Carlos,

I would like to thank you for taking the time to comment about our restaurant.
Yes, L'Etoile has one of the most beautiful views of the city and the decor is cherished by the comfort of our guests.
About the food I am sorry that we did not surprise your taste, I have already passed your comment to the Chef and the kitchen staff, we are between a changing menu so for us your comment is valuable.
When you commented on the wine service, we recognized that some points deserve to be improved and we are working towards this, as the quality of the glasses. We have in the team one of the best sommeliers in Brazil and this is a privilege for us and for our clients.
We hope to recive you again soon, so you can taste our gastronomy again and make it positively surprising.
Greetings,
Marina Lanes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2018 via mobile

The food here was very nice and the way they presented the food was very nice as well. Offering sparkling wine and water from the beginning and just the way each course comes out. Would recommend

Date of visit: October 2018
1  Thank SpartacusX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marina L, Gerente de relações públicas at L'Etoile, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2018

Hello Spartacus

Thanks for your comment, for us it's important that the service and the gastronomy are aligned, making dinner a remarkable experience.

We hope welcome you again soon.

Best Regards,

Marina Lanes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed L'Etoile also viewed

 

Been to L'Etoile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
$USD
United States
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in the United States. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.