We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best food experience I had in Brazil! How comes this restaurant doesn't have a Michelin star?”
Review of L'Etoile

L'Etoile
Reserve a table
2
Thu, 2/25
8:00 PM
Ranked #17 of 13,739 Restaurants in Rio de Janeiro
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Neighborhood: Leblon
Description: Located on the 26th floor of the Sheraton Grand Rio Hotel and with a breatheaking view, L'Etoile offers refinement and sophistication with the highest quality service. The menu prepared by Chef Felix Sanchez offers the best of French cuisine with local and fresh ingredients for our client, always aiming to provide an incredible dining experience at the highest level. Come have this experience with us!
Reviewed January 6, 2018 via mobile

Ok
This is one of the best restaurants in Brazil. No doubt about that!
This Michlein-standarts restaurant is located in the 26th flor of the Sherton Hotel in rio, fine designed with purple Orchids on white tables, and the beach view from here is relaxing and beutiful.

The food is European fine level and the tastes are (not like tipical Brazilian I had before...) fresh, light and surprising.

I definitely recommend this restaurant as a fresh fine experience of Rio.

Date of visit: January 2018
1  Thank RavidFastrope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gabriel P, Gerente de relações públicas at L'Etoile, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2018

Dear Mr. Ravid,

Thank you very much for sharing with us your experience.
We have no words to express our gratitude.
We hope to see you again soon.

Best Regards,
Gabriel Pereira

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (949)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

46 - 50 of 949 reviews

Reviewed December 28, 2017 via mobile

Really, you need to choose a table close to the window so you will see a panoramic view of Rio De Janeiro! The food is excellent, the price is fancy and the service is amazing. It is better to do a reservation before leave your hotel to go to L'Etoile.

Date of visit: December 2017
2  Thank Mary L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gabriel P, Gerente de relações públicas at L'Etoile, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2018

Dear Mary,
Thank you very much for sharing with us your experience.
Glad to hear that we were able to meet your expectations.
Your comments about the service and food show us that we are on the right track.
We hope to see you again soon.
Best Regards,
Gabriel Pereira

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2017 via mobile

We eloped to get married and decided to celebrate at the highest rated restaurant in Rio. And even with high expectations, it blew our minds! The food is exquisite, all the dishes on the menu looked amazing. First complementary amuse bouche, seared frog legs with quinoa risotto and delicious bread. Then we chose duo of foie gras and trilogy of the sea to start with and absolutely loved it, and then duck confit with orange and a rack of lamb with cacao nibs, scraping the plates clean even though we were already full. But what really made it very special was the warm, friendly and extremely professional service. Staff held our table an extra half an hour as our flight got in late. And to round off the dinner they surprised us with glasses of champagne, a scrumptious chocolate mousse and a little box of truffles and offered to take some photos. We didn’t even look at the bill, just paid happily and vowed to come back for an anniversary. Thank you for putting your love into our celebration dinner!

Date of visit: December 2017
2  Thank 474linnl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gabriel P, Gerente de relações públicas at L'Etoile, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2018

Dear Linn,
Thank you very much for sharing with us your experience.
Glad to hear that we were able to meet your expectations.
Your comments about the service and food show us that we are on the right track.
We hope to see you again soon,
Best Regards,
Gabriel Pereira

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2017

I couldn't recommend it enough. I went there with my wife and she absolutely loved it. I am half french so I know French food really well.

Date of visit: August 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Mark C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gabriel P, Gerente de relações públicas at L'Etoile, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2017

Dear MarcoCLZVN,

Thank you very much for sharing with us your experience.

Glad to hear that we were able to meet your expectations.

Your comments about the service and food show us that we are on the right track.

We hope to see you again soon,

Gabriel Pereira

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2017

I have been here to celebrate a PhD dissertation of one of my students. Service is outstanding and food as well. I took the six dish menu all harmonized with great wines. the chef came to say hello and we received a lot of gifts. it was an amazing night.

Date of visit: June 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Gilberto K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gabriel P, Gerente de relações públicas at L'Etoile, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2017

Dear Gilberto K,
Thank you very much for sharing with us your experience.
Glad to hear that we were able to meet your expectations.
Your comments about the service and food show us that we are on the right track.
We hope to see you again soon,
Gabriel Pereira

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed L'Etoile also viewed

 

Been to L'Etoile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
$USD
United States
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in the United States. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.