We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Maria Santa Teresa
Nearby Hotels
Arena Copacabana Hotel(Rio de Janeiro)(Great Value!)
$105
$101
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
$208
JW Marriott
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
PortoBay Rio Internacional Hotel(Rio de Janeiro)(Great Value!)
$151
$111
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Ipanema Inn(Rio de Janeiro)(Great Value!)
$118
$99
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$172
$142
Sheraton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of $158/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Miramar Hotel by Windsor(Rio de Janeiro)(Great Value!)
$125
$106
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$215
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Rio Othon Palace Hotel(Rio de Janeiro)(Great Value!)
$85
$79
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
$486
$435
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
$327
$316
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (219)
Filter reviews
219 results
Traveler rating
192
24
3
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
192
24
3
0
0
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
33 - 38 of 219 reviews
Reviewed September 24, 2012

I cannot say enough about this B&B. The locations is great, up on a high hill with panoramic views. Breakfast was great, fresh fruit and anything else you might want. The hosts very helpful for recommendations of where to go, where to eat, etc. Rio is a stunning city although a bit pricey but it has lots to offer!!!

Room Tip: There are a lot of stairs but try to get a room with a terrace looking out over the city, they are the best!!!
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ischu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2012

We were guests of Um Meia Tres for one week in July 2012. Our hosts, Bill and Sue Moore were gracious, friendly, and accommodating. It was our first visit to Rio, and they provided us with an excellent introduction to this exciting and storied city. A few highlights of our stay:

The neighbourhood -- Um Meia Tres is situated in Santa Teresa, which provides a great view of much of the city, as well as wonderful restaurants, shops and winding, hilly, cobblestone streets. We were in Rio for a conference, which was located in a hotel on Copacabana. The conference site was easily accessible on a daily basis from Um Meia Tres, at half the price of the conference hotel.

Our hosts -- Bill and Sue are originally from London, relocating to Rio about 5 years ago. They provided us with a friendly introduction to the city, as well as a really good breakfast on the terrace -- complete with fresh baking delivered every morning. It was such a nice atmosphere. We met other guests from around the world, chatted, and fed the marmosets, who greatly enjoyed the bananas that Bill and Sue had set aside for them.

The accommodations -- Our room had a generous terrace, a very comfortable bed, a large bathroom with a shower and plenty of hot water. We were very impressed by this combination of good company, and having a nice private space to unwind after the conference.

The bottom line: Um Meia Tres is a great place to stay in a wonderful city!
Terry and Rillah Carson

Room Tip: The hotel is situated on a hillside -- all of the rooms have great views over the city.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Terry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2012

We stayed at Um Meia Tres for nine days. We read about it here on Trip Advisor and in other places and felt like we knew the place before we even got there. Bill and Sue were excellent hosts, with lots of tips for places and things that were not to be missed. Their pousada felt like home after the first day. In fact, by being located in Santa Teresa and staying here, we felt were able to experience Rio in a way that we wouldn't by staying at a mainstream hotel. We got a real feel for the place and its people, and its flora and fauna! Being located adjacent to the rain forest, there were daily visits by a family of marmosets and all kinds of interesting birds. Breakfasts were a tasty mix of very fresh tropical fruits and baked goods. Everything was laid back and relaxed.

We would certainly recommend Um Meia Tres to our friends, and will likely stay there again if we are lucky enough to travel to Rio in the future.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank davesills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2012

We stayed at the Um Meia Tres with our children and can only confirm all those positive reviews and give an excellent voting to this outstanding B&B and their owners.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SIEBENMEERE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2012

Pure class and magical

My girl friend and i stayed at Uma Meia Tres for two nights in July 2012. The reason why we chose to stay there was we had read such nice things about the area of santa teresa, and this hotel. So we had so much expectation before we arrived. Well i can honestly now say from experience that it really is special, and Bill and Sue who run the hotel are so helpful and nice. They provided us with all the information we needed to make the most of our stay in rio, and the breakfast they make is so fresh and nice . This hotel is partly sourouned by a tropical rain forest and is set up on a high hill at the top of santa teresa. We were given a room with a terrace and view of the bay, and when sue showed us to our room we were speechless. It was night time and the view over the bay of rio with thousands of lights twinkling in the distance was magical.

WOW what a speacial place, and how romantic.

Thank you so much Bill and sue, we cant wait to return.

Jamie and Ivonnie

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jamie263
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews