We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Very nice place to stay in Rio!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel 1900

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel 1900
Ranked #28 of 274 Hotels in Rio de Janeiro
Certificate of Excellence
Roma
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Very nice place to stay in Rio!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014 via mobile

Recommended hotel in Catete neighborhood in Rio de Janeiro.
Small rooms but very nice indeed. Clean and comfortable. The people working at the hotel are very nice. Moreover the hotel is really close to largo de machado metro station, whereby you can reach all the most important attractions of the city.

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank alamogordo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerente H, Gerente at Hotel 1900, responded to this review, September 1, 2014
Dear Guest.
Thank you very much for your comments and your evaluation! Is always a pleasure receive compliments of your clients!
We hope see you again.
Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

311 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    119
    152
    31
    7
    2
See reviews for
34
116
38
61
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

The 1900 is located in the quaint neighborhood of Catete, the former seat of Brazil's government. The colonial surroundings might be a little run-down by time and lack of relevance the days, but the 1900 looks as shiny and new as could be. The hotel took its name from the year the house was built. Rooms are small but well designed and structured with all the modern amenities needed (42'' HDTV). The only little setback: There's no bar and restaurant, breakfast could be better – but that's easily compensated by the overwhelmingly friendly and helpful staff (everybody speaks excellent English and Spanish). A perfect home base to explore the wonders of the "Marvelous City". Sweet detail: The rooms carry the numbers of last century's years, I was staying in 1958.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank jannekubik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerente H, Gerente at Hotel 1900, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Dear Janne Kubik
Thank you very much for your comments!
We were very happy with your evaluation!
You can be sure that we are already trying to improve our breakfast!
We hope see you again.
Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
87 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

The hotel has the best location - it is near the metro and bus stops, near shops and restaurants, but in a secure and quite street. It is a great starting point for a visit of the whole city!
The staff was simply great with very good English - they answered every my question and helped us with everything!! Thank you.
The hotel is modern and reconstructed. The basic double-bed room is simple, with good and clean bathroom, TV with basic Brazilian stations, good air-conditioner and free safe-box. The breakfast is simple but OK.
The nice surprise were evening soups...

I really missed any vegetable and cold water during a breakfast.
The basic room is very small with almost no storage space - but for me it is OK.
Some basic rooms on the first floor have a window to the corridor (these rooms are on the same level as the street) so the only way how to ventilate is using the air-conditioner.

Room Tip: The rooms in higher floors are better. The rooms on the first floor are on the same level as the str...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ondrej N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerente H, Gerente at Hotel 1900, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Dear Ondrej.
We are extremely grateful for your detailed comments and evaluation! Our objective is always make the best to our clients.
We hope see you again!
Best Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

The hotel is very nice, the rooms are nice but small. The hotel's breakfast room totally insufficient (7 tables) and the quality of the breakfast is very poor over the poor service. The front desk staff leaves much to be desired. Cleanliness is good and the location is great for exploring the city. For the same price, it gets better in the city.

Room Tip: room at the ground floor is very small. Never again in room 1972, I had too much problems.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tullio2k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerente H, Gerente at Hotel 1900, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Dear Tullio.
We sincerely thank you for your comments.
All the points that you wrote will be analysed.
We hope see you again.
Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014 via mobile

Very nice stay at hotel 1900, staff were all very helpful and polite. Especially Luciano! The room was spotless and cleaned daily. The only downside was the location (bit far from copacabana) although there is a metro station just around the corner. All in all happy with our stay!

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Marc W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerente H, Gerente at Hotel 1900, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Dear Marc.
Thank you very much for your comments and your evaluation! Is always a pleasure receive compliments of your clients!
We hope see you again.
Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rio de Janeiro hotels
Elegance Praia Hotel
#31 of 274 in Rio de Janeiro
4.0 of 5 stars 295 reviews
Copacabana
Ibis Copacabana Posto 5
Ibis Copacabana Posto 5
#27 of 274 in Rio de Janeiro
4.5 of 5 stars 380 reviews
Botafogo
Ibis Rio de Janeiro Botafogo
Ibis Rio de Janeiro Botafogo
#38 of 274 in Rio de Janeiro
4.0 of 5 stars 1,714 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Copacabana
Merlin Copacabana Hotel
Merlin Copacabana Hotel
#22 of 274 in Rio de Janeiro
4.0 of 5 stars 1,041 reviews
Centro
Windsor Asturias Hotel
Windsor Asturias Hotel
#37 of 274 in Rio de Janeiro
4.0 of 5 stars 609 reviews
Slaviero Lifestyle Rio de Janeir...
#19 of 274 in Rio de Janeiro
4.5 of 5 stars 81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel 1900? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel 1900

Property: Hotel 1900
Address: Rua Artur Bernardes 29, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22220-070, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Catete
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Best Value Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel 1900 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Practical, charming and close to downtown. Welcome to Hotel 1900 Rio! The history of the Hotel can be told by the history of Rio de Janeiro. Originally built in 1900 under the name of Hotel Rio Lisboa was always reference both in customer service and in location due to its proximity to the City Centre. Today reopened and renamed the Hotel 1900 has a new structure and a steady improvement in their service in pursuit of excellence in customer service ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel 1900 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel 1900 Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing