We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Safe harbour in Ipanema”
Review of The Mango Tree

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Mango Tree
Certificate of Excellence
Leiden, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Safe harbour in Ipanema”
Reviewed September 15, 2013

We already knew this hostel from our trip 2 years ago. Since then they have expanded.
Its good to see that the quality is still the same. We really like staying here. Excellent location, and great breakfast.
Staff can sometimes be more attentive.

Room Tip: We stayed at the small double with private bathroom. Simple but has everything you need.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DutchSamba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

511 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    183
    222
    71
    23
    12
See reviews for
16
176
109
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013

We spent 4 nights at the mango tree on a recent trip to Brazil in a double room with shared bathroom. The room was basic, but clean. Breakfast was very good with fresh fruit, yoghurts, cake, toast, etc. Wifi worked well and there is a nice lounge and bar area. There were no en suite rooms available during our stay, but we did see one of the rooms and it was nicer than ours, so I'd recommend staying in the en suite room for couples. The room was quite pricey for what it was, but this is the case pretty much everywhere in Rio and taking into account the fab location of this hostel (right in the middle of Ipanema near the beach) then its not too bad. Recommended for a good budget option in a great location.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sarahlu84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 2, 2013

we spent i week in mango tree. it was in the best and safest area of rio. Ipenema beach was the best and safest.
breakfast was great (fresh fruit, bread etc)
cleaners were constant
the guys on reception spoke english and portugeses and were very helpful
unfortunatly....the beds squeeked....alot...earplugs didnt help. we were in a dorm room of 6...but there was another dorm of 6 attached to our room that you could only access by walking through our dorm, so it was more a dorm of 12.
we moved to a private room, still a bit noisy.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank e g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 27, 2013

A little deceptive from the outside, this place hides behind a large blank wall with no sign, only a street number. Once you get inside, this expansive hostel has everything you need to enjoy your stay at Rio's best beach. The private room was spacious and very clean. The bathroom was in perfect condition and the hot water was strong. They have a kitchen you can use and bar that is open until 10pm (would have loved it open longer but I think it's in the middle of a residential area so noise is an issue). They had an awesome lounge room with a bookcase full of DVDs but we didn't get a chance to browse their collection as we spent most of our time either at the beach, which is a block away, or out exploring Rio, which should be on everyones must see list. The staff were super friendly and the front desk was manned 24 hours. We payed a little extra for a private room so we are no help on the dorms, but if the rest of the place was anything to go by, you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robguin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2013 via mobile

Very good location, in the heart of ipanema and close to the beach.

Groups or loners: Good for a youth hostel.
If you are a couple/get the double room: Decent and spacious rooms, very good value

However: Poor wifi and poor service. You get what you paid for

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ParinazKL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuttgart, Germany
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2013

The hostel is quite nicely located, just 50 m away from the Ipanema beach. Stayed there for 8 nights and felt very welcomed at any time. The staff was very helpful and gave good advises, regardless what we have asked them. Bar time was always fun and it was quite easy to get to know other travelers, even I wouldn't consider it as typical "party hostel". I absolutely recommend this hostel to everyone who travels to Rio and wanna stay in a nice, secure part of town for a good value.

Room Tip: ask for a bed with a drawer that has a locker, a few beds don't have a drawer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bommelpaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
98 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2013

This place is awesome and is exactly how I enjoy a hostel most! Enough showers and toilets, clean, spacious kitchen, padlocks for your locker, fast and reliable WiFi and hammocks to chill out. This place just has it all. The bar is open between 6 and 10 pm and after that you can enjoy your drinks in the front of the hostel, so everyone in the rooms around the backyard can have a good sleep. The staff is very helpfull and constantly busy with cleaning the place or helping out travellers with their questions. As The Mango Tree is conveniently located in Ipanema it's easy to get to the beach, shops or the metro. If I would go back to Rio I would definitely stay here again!!!!

Room Tip: The more your room is in the back, the more quiet it will be around breakfast-time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LiveLikeTom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rio de Janeiro hotels
Ipanema
Ipanema Inn
Ipanema Inn
#13 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
1,365 reviews
Ipanema
Sol Ipanema Hotel
Sol Ipanema Hotel
#62 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
1,126 reviews
Ipanema
Sofitel Rio de Janeiro Ipanema
Sofitel Rio de Janeiro Ipanema
#38 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
1,674 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ipanema
Golden Tulip Ipanema Plaza
Golden Tulip Ipanema Plaza
#117 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
1,209 reviews
Ipanema
Mar Ipanema Hotel
Mar Ipanema Hotel
#81 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
1,172 reviews
Ipanema
Vermont Hotel
Vermont Hotel
#98 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
621 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mango Tree? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mango Tree

Property: The Mango Tree
Address: Prudente de Moraes, 594 | Ipanema, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22420-040, Brazil
Phone Number:
Location: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Ipanema , Lagoa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 783 Specialty Lodging in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Mango Tree 2.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in one of the best spots in Rio, just a block away from the world famous Ipanema beach, the Mango Tree recently hosted the bronze medal winning rowers, and sailors, of the Norwegian Olympic team for Rio2016, and offers a relaxing place to sleep, meet other travellers, and taste a chilled caipirinha. At our hostel you will find the comforts of a guest house (sprung mattresses, 100% cotton sheets, towels, a real Brazilian style breakfast that includes cereal, granola, papaya, watermelon, bananas, bread rolls, white and brown bread, ham, cheese, jam, yogurt, fresh cake, fresh juice, coffee, hot chocolate, local tea, Twinings English Breakfast and one hot option per day. Also Marmite and Vegemite when available, and our famous gas heated power showers) coupled with the warm welcome and atmosphere of a backpacker hostel. Ipanema is a safe residential district within easy reach of the Sugar Loaf and Corcovado. As well as the beach, it offers a wide range of bars and restaurants to suit all budgets, and plenty of shopping opportunities such as the weekly Sunday Hippie Market. The Mango Tree is based in a newly renovated 1930's colonial style house in a quiet residential area. It has 13 private rooms (2 triple, 2 twin, 10 with en-suite, all air-conditioned), 30 dorm beds, and all the facilities to make your stay with us the most memorable of your trip. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your The Mango Tree reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Mango Tree Hotel Rio De Janeiro
The Mango Tree Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing