We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Mango Tree Hostel Ipanema
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 18, 2012

I only had 40 hours in Rio and I was travelling on my own I wanted somewhere easy, safe and friendly. I also wanted somewhere I could organise some trips from. I got all this from the Mango Tree - I booked a single room, which was perfectly adequate. I was able to leave my luggage safely for the whole day even after I'd checked out which was SO useful! There was a pleasant area to sit and relax and it was not far from shops and the beach. Breakfast was enjoyable and perfectly adequate - fresh fruit and cereal and fresh bread.

I was totally satisfied by my brief time there - it wasn't a larhe place, but it had all I required! It was also great to go somewhere where my lack of Portuguese wasn't an issue. I received good advice about trips and I thoroughly enjoyed the one I did which took me round the sights I'd hoped to see. If back in Rio I'd probable go back there.

Room Tip: Not sure about the shared bedrooms, not sure how much space in those rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank teachersuse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (628)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

210 - 216 of 628 reviews

Reviewed June 15, 2012

I stayed here in April 2012 and after staying at other hostels in Rio, this is the best one.
Great safe location. Close to Ipanema beach, subway, many bars and restaurants. Staff is nice and helpful. It can be quite noisy as I stayed at a dorm outside overlooking the courtyard area. Bathrooms are not the cleanest but ok. Good breakfast too. I totally recommend it.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ana D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2012 via mobile

The only downer was that our room was minuscule. If you can forgive that (or pay a little extra for a bigger room) this place would be phenomenal. Highly revomm

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SPSSB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2012

The Mango Tree is a friendly hostel with a nice, quiet outdoor bar area that plays music until about 10pm. The double room we had was basic, nice and clean and there were a number of nearby bathrooms, which were generally clean and tidy. The breakfast was tasty and the staff helpful in getting your days full of activities. Probably one of the best aspects of the hostel is it's location given it is a block back from Ipanema beach near beach post 9. There's a great number of nearby places for snacks and lunch and everything is accessible via nearby bus-stops. Recommended.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mrenage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2012

Stayed in a double in mid May. In my opinion Ipanema is the best area to stay in Rio, but also the most expensive, so this hostel is a way to stay in the area without spending all of your money!

Not the best hostel in terms of room- very small, bathroom had a few issues (toilet smelling of sewerage, shower blocking up and flooding the bathroom) but the hostel was clean and quiet. Staff were great- always quick to answer questions, and helped us out when we had flight issues.

Definitely the best value in Ipanema- I would recommend it!!!

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AmyH27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2012

I really enjoyed staying here. Stayed in the luxury double. Nice room, great service. They have an outdoor bar, a kitchen, hammocks and a mango tree. The front desk is very helpful and speak English. It's in a great location in Ipanema, near a subway stop and about 2 blocks from the beach. They offer a lot of tours and information. If you're looking for clean, comfortable, convenient and affordable don't think twice and stay here!

Room Tip: Luxury Double is Luxurious!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CraigZap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2012 via mobile

We stayed at the Mango Tree for almost two weeks and enjoyed it so much! The rooms are very nice, especially the new ones with ensuite bathroom. The atmosphere is really laid back and the location is just great, a few minutes from gorgeous Ipanema beach. The staff were all very helpful at any time! Thanks for the lovely stay! It was really sad to leave and we'll definitely come back to the mango tree one day!

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank evaschreva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rio de Janeiro hotels
Ipanema
Ipanema Inn
Ipanema Inn
#12 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
1,442 reviews
Ipanema
Sofitel Rio de Janeiro Ipanema
Sofitel Rio de Janeiro Ipanema
#42 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
1,739 reviews
Ipanema
Sol Ipanema Hotel
Sol Ipanema Hotel
#80 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
1,170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ipanema
Mar Ipanema Hotel
Mar Ipanema Hotel
#81 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
1,195 reviews
Ipanema
El Misti Ipanema
El Misti Ipanema
#3 of 826 in Rio de Janeiro
489 reviews
Ipanema
Ipanema Beach Hostel
Ipanema Beach Hostel
#6 of 826 in Rio de Janeiro
202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mango Tree Hostel Ipanema? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mango Tree Hostel Ipanema

Address: Rua Prudente de Moraes, 594, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22420-040, Brazil (Formerly The Mango Tree)
Phone Number:
Location: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Ipanema
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 826 Specialty Lodging in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range: $13 - $249 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Mango Tree Hostel Ipanema 2.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in one of the best spots in Rio, just a block away from the world famous Ipanema beach, the Mango Tree recently hosted the bronze medal winning rowers, and sailors, of the Norwegian Olympic team for Rio2016, and offers a relaxing place to sleep, meet other travellers, and taste a chilled caipirinha. At our hostel you will find the comforts of a guest house (sprung mattresses, 100% cotton sheets, towels, a real Brazilian style breakfast that includes cereal, granola, papaya, watermelon, bananas, bread rolls, white and brown bread, ham, cheese, jam, yogurt, fresh cake, fresh juice, coffee, hot chocolate, local tea, Twinings English Breakfast and one hot option per day. Also Marmite and Vegemite when available, and our famous gas heated power showers) coupled with the warm welcome and atmosphere of a backpacker hostel. Ipanema is a safe residential district within easy reach of the Sugar Loaf and Corcovado. As well as the beach, it offers a wide range of bars and restaurants to suit all budgets, and plenty of shopping opportunities such as the weekly Sunday Hippie Market. The Mango Tree is based in a newly renovated 1930's colonial style house in a quiet residential area. It has 13 private rooms (2 triple, 2 twin, 10 with en-suite, all air-conditioned), 30 dorm beds, and all the facilities to make your stay with us the most memorable of your trip. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Mango Tree Hostel Ipanema reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Mango Tree Hotel Rio De Janeiro
Mango Tree Hostel Ipanema Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing