We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Vibe - Great Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Albergue Tupiniquim
Reviewed July 31, 2012

My wife and I stayed in the double room with private bathroom and except for the visiting pigeon that somehow snuck in it was really good! Great spread of food for the occasional dinners (pay extra for that) and wonderful roof top bar. The caipirinhas were quite a good deal and fellow travelers were very mellow and friendly.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joseph L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (189)
There are newer reviews for Albergue Tupiniquim
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

12 - 18 of 189 reviews

Reviewed July 17, 2012

We stayed in Tupiquinim due to its good reviews. However, I have to say I was deeply dissapointed. Im not really fussy when it comes to hostels, all I ask for is a clean room and a smile at reception. If youre coming to merely sleep, then this hostel is fine. If you think a smile on arrival should be a given then you will not like this place. We were not made to feel welcome at all, were not given any info about services they provide or the area and could not wait to leave. Will not be returning.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eleanor M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2012

The hostel was nice and clean. They serve meals. Lots of options for sleeping. The staff was fun to talk with. Full bar and great staff.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Veronica B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2011

I stayed in Tupiniquim for almost a week and absolutely appreciated the comfortable beds, clean bathrooms, good common area, the possibility of using the refrigerator where I could store kilograms of watermelon...
Internet access was a bit more expensive than I would like it to be.

On the other hand, their breakfast is simply scrumptious - lots and lots of fruit :)

I liked the location - it was only a 15 minute run from the famous Ipanema - for running freaks - there's an asphalt running trail along Ipanema and Copacabana and there are many beautiful people running there.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trvlgrll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2010

We stayed at Tupiniquim twice in Feb either side of Carnaval. Unfortunately we couldnt actually book for that period because the hostel was so popular (If you want to book for next year get in asap!), but that didnt stop us spending most of Carnaval period in their bar!

The staff were amazing, especially the owner. They organised Samba shows and barbecues through carnaval, nights out in the town, boat parties, football matches - you name it really - and always for affordable prices. When no specific events were happening the small bar and courtyard area was always a great place to hang out and socialise, but they had the thoughtfulness to turn music off at 12 so you actually could sleep if you wanted, or head into town with a group if you wanted to carry on the party.

In the day time there were lots of different areas to hang out on different floors of the hostel whether you wanted to play pool, chill in a beanbag, or watch a DVD - all were catered for.

The breakfast was amazing with lots of options including fruit, fresh breads, meats, cheese, juices and hot drinks. They also had a great cook who made an awesome homemade buffet meal each night (always different) for a ridiculously cheap 4 pounds - all you can eat.

Dorms were not huge, but there were big lockable lockers under the beds to safely store all your bags and belongings which was great for piece of mind, and meant the rooms stayed reasonably tidy. The hostel itself also had big iron gates out front so you always felt secure in that respect.

The location was good.. Botafogo is a reasonably safe feeling neighbourhood (though id still always get a cab at night rather than walking round) with lots of reasonably priced street bars and restaurants, and a couple of clubs nearby. There is also a supermarket a 3 min walk from the hostel if you want to self cater, and the beaches of Copacabana and Ipanema are between 10-20 mins bus ride away with the bus stop right next to the hostel. You can also walk to the Sugarloaf mountain in 15 mins, and Christ hovers on the hill over Botafogo!

If i was going back to Rio i would DEFINITELY stay at Tupiniquim again. Whether in a large group or alone its the best place to meet people and have an amazing time.

And if you are going for Carnaval there is no better place to be!!

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jocypri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 days ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Joelma T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 days ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017
1  Thank Thiago P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rio de Janeiro hotels
Botafogo
Injoy Hostel
Injoy Hostel
#12 of 815 in Rio de Janeiro
260 reviews
Botafogo
BotaHostel
BotaHostel
#23 of 815 in Rio de Janeiro
82 reviews
Botafogo
Contemporaneo Hostel
Contemporaneo Hostel
#97 of 815 in Rio de Janeiro
149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Botafogo
Gaia Comfort Hostel
Gaia Comfort Hostel
#13 of 815 in Rio de Janeiro
145 reviews
Santa Teresa
Santa Tere Hostel
Santa Tere Hostel
#5 of 815 in Rio de Janeiro
312 reviews
Botafogo
Enseada Rio Hostel
Enseada Rio Hostel
#337 of 815 in Rio de Janeiro
1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albergue Tupiniquim? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albergue Tupiniquim

Address: Rua Paulo Barreto 79, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22280-010, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Botafogo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #75 of 815 Specialty Lodging in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range: $16 - $59 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rio de Janeiro has so much to offer that we honestly think that you could use our help. Tupiniquim is not just a place to sleep, it is an experience, a dive into the unknown, Terra Incognita … Tupiniquim is about the experience of being in Brazil, our cook only makes regional Brazilian food, our film selection has an emphasis for Brazilian cult films, the music that we play is selected among the best in Brazil, we call it 'brasilidade' in Portuguese and our goal is to make you feel that by the end of your stay. Tupiniquim is also about quality. Given the few resources that hostels usually have, we make the best out of them, our customer support level is unheard of ... think of Leonidas and his 300 Spartans, they were in another league compared to the Greeks of their times, so are we in hostel management. Of course, that does not mean that we are by all means perfect, not in the slightest all, it only means that we try to improve by the minute, we have been like that for the last 10 years. I mean, are you really willing to pay up to double the price so you can stay in some dumb-dirty hostel just because it is like 100 meters nearer Ipanema beach ?? ... we are at a 5 min. bus ride from the beach with is at the bottom of the Sugar Loaf Mountain (it is called the Red Beach) but we are light years ahead the vast majority of the hostels in terms of service, staff, personality, fun, etc ... Perhaps you are willing to stay on just another hostel full of Europeans, Americans, Aussies and Israelis ?? ... what if you could stay in a place where 60 % of the guests are Brazilians ?? then you would get a real Brazilian experience starting at the hostel, wouldn’t that be bloody cool ?? My friend, half of the hostels in Rio are complete crap and most of the other half are just dumb-nothing-to-do-except-for-sleeping places ... so you think you are pretty smart by booking a place 5-10 reals cheaper ?? a place with triple bunks, 12 + people dorms, no air conditioning, thin mattresses, lousy breakfast, no bar, no fun ?? We have rooms for all kinds of needs, I am pretty sure there is one that will fit you perfectly: • You want to come with your family, parents or kids ?? Private rooms that can accommodate 1 to 4 people are perfect for you. • You want to come with a small group of friends ?? A quadruple private is hands down your best choice. • You are a girl and you are old school, or have a jealous boyfriend or just want to feel more comfortable among ’sisters’, we have a very nice 6-people girls only room :) • You are the poorest guy on earth ?? Don’t worry, we have a 10-bed dorm that is pretty cheap and still has all our free services. • You do not want to deal with lots of people but do not have the money to pay a private ?? our 3-people mixed dorm is almost like a private room. • You want the best cost/benefit, not a private, but not an overcrowded mixed dorm ?? We have 6 and 8 people dorms. We accept all debit and credit cards: Debit Cards: Visa Electron, Maestro. Credit Cards: Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Diner’s Club. All our rooms (except for two 6-people shared bathroom dorms) have their own bathroom inside the room (hence ensuite) and include the following facilities free of charge: • Air Conditioning from 8 p.m. to 10 a.m. (full day costs an extra R$ 20 (aprox. US$ 5) • Wi-Fi all over the hostel, also within the rooms: 50 Mbps speed. • Linen included: pillow with pillowcase, 2 bedsheets and a blanket. • Security lockers big enough for your backpacks (1 m x 1 m x 0.5 meters each) • Solid-wood double bunks with plenty of space (1 meter) between each bed ... I said double and not triple bunks :) • 17 cm high and 120 kg resistant, comfortable, mattresses (not those cheap and dirty ones you get in many hostels) • Continental breakfast, Brazilian style, from 8 a.m. to 10 a.m. Besides that we have many other services, most of them for free: • 24 hour Reception • Multi-lingual staff: Portuguese, English, Spanish, French, Italian, Hebrew. • Free Pool Table & Bar service, open 24/7: water, soda, beer, whisky, caipirinha, etc … • Open terrace with a view of the Christ the Redeemer Statue open from 7 a.m. ‘till 10 p.m. • Dinner service from 7 p.m. ‘till 10 p.m. for R$ 20 (aprox. US$ 5), regional Brazilian food, self-service style. • Open kitchen for our guests to prepare their own food (except for the fridge) • TV room with a massive 54” screen, full cable TV (HBO, Telecine, Cinemax, etc …), Netflix and a selection of more than 1200 selected films, all of this for free … • We have a place for you to wash your clothes by hand and dry them. • Rent (R$ 1 per day) or buy (R$ 15) a 30 mm padlock to use in our lockers. • Luggage storage room (in case you have already checked out and want/need to hang around) • Lots of the most popular board games such as: chess, backgammon, checkers, risk, domino, cards, etc ... • Multicultural library for all your reading needs. • All the travel info you might possibly need, tours as well. • Car parking (third party) available near the hostel. • Taxes included. • No minimum or maximum stay (except for New Year's Eve, Carnival or Olympic Games) • No lockout or curfew. Central location to all major attractions: • 4 min. subway (one station) to Copacabana Beach. • 10 min. subway (4 stations) to Ipanema Beach. • 12 min. subway (5 stations) to all the Historical Downtown of Rio. • 15 min. bus to Lapa, Domestic Airport (Santos-Dumont), Lagoa, Botanical Garden and the Sugar Loaf Mountain. • 25 min. bus to the Statue of Christ the Redeemer. • 30 min. subway (12 stations) to the Maracana Stadium. • 40 min. bus to the Central Bus Station (Rodoviaria) • 50 min. bus or taxi to the International Airport (Galeao) • 70 min. bus to Barra da Tijuca Beach. General Policies for New Years Eve, Carnival, Rock in Rio, Olympic & Paralympic Games: • Minimum Stay: 3 nights. • Payment Method: Credit Card or Wire Transfer (Western Union or Moneygram) • Payment policy: 50% in advance is required. After your booking is confirmed you will be contacted to proceed and arrange the payment method. Failure to complete the payment in 2 working days will result in cancellation of your booking. • Cancellation Policy: Non Refundable. • No-Show Policy: It will be charged the remaining due at check in. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and Priceline so you can book your Albergue Tupiniquim reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albergue Tupiniquim Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing