We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Executive Inn and Suites in Lakeview Oregon”
Review of Trip Hostel

Trip Hostel
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Rio de Janeiro
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Trip Hostel
Grants Pass, Oregon
1 review
“Executive Inn and Suites in Lakeview Oregon”
Reviewed July 13, 2012

The hotel is older and poorly lit rooms, clean but nothing extra. If you book with them and decide you want to stay else were YOU will NOT get your money back!!!!!!!!! No parking lot, your parking on the street. The breakfast they serve is something you could get at the store.....

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeetslady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    15
    2
    3
    0
See reviews for
5
10
2
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2006

We had mixed feelings about this property, but they were all of our own making. We arrived in Rio without having booked and, on a good recommendation from a friend, we called the hostel. The chap told us he had a room which he hadn't finished, but we could have it for a bargain price. He warned us it was small and it still needed work doing, but we were only going to be in Rio for a few days and he was offering a good price (for Rio).

In short the room was small, but we had said that was OK, so that was OK. The rest of the hostel was spacious, clean, full of excellent facilities and nice people. We had a lovely time for the duration of our stay, even meeting the lovely couple that live behind the property who were very nice to us.

I would definitely recommend this, but Rio is very expensive, so listen to the advice of the owner.

  • Liked — Staff and facilities
  • Disliked — Our room, please read review
  • Tips/Secrets — BOOK IN ADVANCE
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank draftvader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2006

The Trip Hostel had a good location for my needs. I could walk to clubs along a safe route, catch buses to the beach and other attractions easily, and the views were nice from the balcony (it's located on a hill)

The thing that set this place apart was the owner operator, Fausto. The man did everything he could to try and make my girlfriend and I feel at home. He invited us to the beach, clubs, and other events and offered to drive us to many of the those places. I know this may seem standard but having been to hundreds of Hostels in my time this one will be memorable.

On a separate note, the free Internet was a big plus. We also enjoyed the fact that the place wasn't massive and crowded. It was instead mellow, clean, comfortable, and friendly. If I need a hostel in Rio again I would go back the Trip Hostel.

  • Liked — The Staff
  • Disliked — Showers need hooks (not much)
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Mlogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2006

Our stay at the Trip Hostel in Rio was perfect in every way. The owner, Fausto Lopes, has only been open a short time, however, most of it is absolutely bang on, and we were wanting for nothing. The house is set in a beautiful bohemian part of town, called Santa Teresa. It is slightly away from the usual hostel spots by the beach, but it has a lot mroe to offer. The beach is great, but the cobbled streets, old architecture and street life of Santa Teresa is something speacial. If you want to go to the beach then there are many buses to carry you there. We felt like family for a course of our stay, and were treated to hospitality beyond the cause. Make sure when (not if) you stay there that you ask for one of his caipirinas, with his father Cachasa, awesome!

Beautful, well kept old house in Santa Teresa, with three balchonys and wide open living spaces. Pool table!

Stayed October 2006
Helpful?
2 Thank Tofaus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2006

This hostel is a real find, if you want a little more than beaches and clubs then this is the place for you. Situated on a hill in Santa Teresa overlooking Lapa this old colonial house has lots of charm, big airy rooms, great kitchen, fabulous balconies and great living space. A good breakfast is included and runs up until 11am for those wanting a lie-in after a Rio style night out! Fausto, the owner is a great guy who is never too busy to help you. He or the rest of the helpful staff can organise tours for you or just give you helpful advice on where you want to go. After 18 months of travel it is a real treat to find somewhere that feels like home. Transport is no problem and the old yellow Bonde (tram) is a great ride from right outside the door!

Santa Teresa is a fantastic old neighbour with cobbled streets and lots of bars, restaurants and the Park of the Ruins which offers superb views over Sugar Loaf mountain and the harbour area. There is great nightlife in Lapa which is about 5 minutes walk away. You really feel like your getting a true sense of life in Rio by staying in a neighbour such as this, it is far more cultural than the touristy beach areas.

I would definitely recommend this hostel and can guarantee that you won't be disappointed!

  • Liked — it felt like home
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Tips/Secrets — stay here!
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank bobetto360
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2006

we stayed at the trip hostel in rio de janeiro, which is in the Santa Theresa neighborhood (safe bohemian neighborhood with good restaurants and atmosphere). We had a lovely time there as the hostel as a converted large residence. Much of the place is common area with decks including views pool room and TV room. There are not many rooms in the place so it doesn't get crowded. The owner is a 30-ish-year-old guy who speaks perfect english and knows all about rio from a travelers perspective. The house is located off cobblestone streets that wind their way up above rio. prices are reasonable. check out the website: [--]. we stayed one night. our room was relatively simple, but comfortable. The bathroom was outside of the room and would have been shared with another room. The breakfast is included.

  • Liked — I felt like it was our own house, very comfortable.
  • Disliked — there weren't many other people there.
  • Tips/Secrets — book online.
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank bgus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rio de Janeiro hotels
Barra da Tijuca
Brisa Barra Hotel
Brisa Barra Hotel
#26 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 424 reviews
Copacabana
Hilton Rio de Janeiro Copacabana
Hilton Rio de Janeiro Copacabana
#13 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,591 reviews
Copacabana
Copacabana Rio Hotel
Copacabana Rio Hotel
#67 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,043 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Copacabana
Rio Othon Palace Hotel
Rio Othon Palace Hotel
#39 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 984 reviews
Copacabana
Ibis Copacabana Posto 5
Ibis Copacabana Posto 5
#32 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 635 reviews
Ipanema
Hotel Fasano Rio de Janeiro
Hotel Fasano Rio de Janeiro
#6 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trip Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trip Hostel

Property: Trip Hostel
Address: Rua Joaquim Murtinho 514 | Santa Teresa, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 20241-320, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Santa Teresa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #248 of 765 Specialty Lodging in Rio de Janeiro
Number of rooms: 26
Also Known As:
Trip Hostel Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing