We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced for what if offers”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Che Lagarto Suites Copacabana Anita
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 5, 2014

location is ok but the rooms are small and quite expensive compared to other options - basically the same price as a hotel room but without your own bathroom and WI-FI DID'NT WORK WELL AT ALL for all 3 days / 2 nights we were there. A nice enough breakfast buffet, but it starts at 8 am which is a bit late in case you need to get out someplace early.

Room Tip: 2nd floor, away from the common areas.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (351)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

52 - 58 of 351 reviews

Reviewed February 15, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for 2 nights in a double bed private room with my wife. The room was clean and not so small so there's room for the luggage, the breakfast is simple but good, wifi works well and the staff is super friendly. We booked a city tour through them to the Corcovado, sugar loaf etc. and it was good and comfortable, they also have favela tours and paragliding. The hotel is about 10 minutes away from copacabana beach which is great. From here we're going to Ilha Grande for a few days and then we're coming back for another night.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank smickeywe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013

We stayed at this hostel for 4 night and were generally very pleased.
It is located on a quite street, but very close to the metro station and about 10 minutes walk to the beach.
The hostel looks new and modern, and breakfast was good.
We had a room with private bathroom, it was a little bit small but very nicely decorated and was cleaned on a daily basis.
The staff were also very smiley and nice.

2 things we were less pleased about were the showers, which were not hot enough, and the airport transportation service they offer, which just didn't show up !!! - we had to look for a taxi on the street in the last minute, after we realized that the transport they ordered for us is late/not coming. so you should not count on that and arrange transport by yourself....

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank leeat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2013 via mobile

Staff is friendly and helpful and the facilities are clean. Location is ok, close to everything you need and the beach. The rooms on ground floor are incredibly noisy as they are all next to the communal and breakfast room. Our room (5) did not have any windows and the shower was always ice cold! For our second stay we booked something nearby for less money (half than the che lagarto advertised rate if USD 130) which was much better! Since there are better options, We cannot recommend this hostel at all!

Thank Rubaen
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

It's not the first time in Che Lagarto Hostels. But this one in Copacabana was not so good as the others like in Sao Paulo or Florianópolis. Bedroom is too simple, shower was inconstant with hot and cold water. During one night the hostel was out of water during 5 hours. Breakfast just ok. I will not come back.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bruno M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2013

Stayed for 2 nights here, it's definitely one of the nicest hostels I've stayed in. The room was very clean, the breakfast was good and the staff were great - they all spoke excellent English and were very helpful with booking transfers and recommendations for restaurants etc. The location is great, the neighborhood is very safe and it is a quick walk to the beach. The only con was the wifi - it didn't work in the room, and even in the TV room the signal wasn't always very strong (however this is fairly common in all the places I've travelled in South America, not unique to this hostel).

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pdub P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2013

I had a few days in Rio after a business trip. The Che Lagarto Anita was the perfect place for me. If the term "hostel" to you means shared accommodations with dirty backpackers, this will definitely change your mind! The room was very clean, quiet and comfortable, with air conditioning. En suite bath with shampoo, etc., even daily maid service. The breakfast was hot and fresh. The staff spoke very good English and were very helpful with tours, recommendations, and directions. I felt perfectly safe and even slept with the windows open because the weather was beautiful. I will definitely be back!!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AmyD142
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rio de Janeiro hotels
Copacabana
Che Lagarto Suites Copacabana Santa Clara
Che Lagarto Suites Copacabana Sa...
#90 of 826 in Rio de Janeiro
161 reviews
Copacabana
El Misti House
El Misti House
#16 of 826 in Rio de Janeiro
826 reviews
Ipanema
Che Lagarto Hostel Ipanema
Che Lagarto Hostel Ipanema
#12 of 826 in Rio de Janeiro
1,178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Copacabana
Che Lagarto Hostel Copacabana
Che Lagarto Hostel Copacabana
#43 of 826 in Rio de Janeiro
869 reviews
Copacabana
Villa Budget Hostel
Villa Budget Hostel
#40 of 826 in Rio de Janeiro
282 reviews
Copacabana
Bamboo Rio Hostel
Bamboo Rio Hostel
#59 of 826 in Rio de Janeiro
431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Che Lagarto Suites Copacabana Anita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Che Lagarto Suites Copacabana Anita

Address: Rua Anita Garibaldi 87, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22041-080, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Copacabana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 826 Specialty Lodging in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range: $34 - $89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Che Lagarto Suites Copacabana Anita 2*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
CLH Suites Copacabana is located in Rio de Janeiro. Free WiFi access is available. Extras include bed linen. At CLH Suites Copacabana you will find a 24-hour front desk, a garden and a shared kitchen. Other facilities offered at the property include a shared lounge, a tour desk and laundry facilities. The hotel is 800 metres from Copacabana Beach, 2 km from Dorival Caymmi Statue and 2 km from Army Historic Museum and Fort of Copacabana. Rio de Janeiro/Galeao International Airport is 18 km away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Che Lagarto Suites Copacabana Anita reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Che Lagarto Hostels Copacabana Hotel Rio De Janeiro
Che Lagarto Suites Copacabana Anita Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing