We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good enough”
Review of Stone of a Beach

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Rio de Janeiro
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Stone of a Beach
El Calafate, Argentina
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good enough”
Reviewed January 31, 2011

Fun, cheap and very good location. But it could have been a lot cleaner and the air conditioner should be on during the day!!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CharlotteB87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    8
    8
    7
    7
See reviews for
3
4
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Valparaiso, Chile
Level Contributor
25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2011

Great hostel for young travellers whose priority is a good location (close to the beach and the nightlife). Helpful staff, great breakfast and security. They had special pizza or bbq night....all you can eat! and it was great, very yummy and gave people a chance to share with the other visitors. I appreciated the fact that the showers and toilets were cleaned often, but they should try to do it earlier, not in the middle of the morning when most are still showering. And Rio is so freakin' hot, that it would've been great if they kept the air conditioner all day, and not only at night!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chrisolito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dubai
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2010

Just stayed there for 6 nights in both dorm & private rooms.

The Good -
* the bfast is yummy & goes from 9am-12pm. Especially the home made chocolate cake.... Mmmmmn!
* the roof top bar is a great way to meet people, although the staff play their bob marley cd over and over and over and... You get the picture!
* location is great, close to beach, metro and dozens of bus lines
* staff pleasant and helpful
* good price for taxi to international aport - 50BRL
* felt very safe, even walking around at night

The Bad -
* not the cleanest but okay if you have an ensuite dorm
* the football tour is a rip off. 80BRL for ticket, transport & one free beer. They were so disorganised we missed the start of the game and also this meant all the seats had been taken so we stood for the game. And no free beer! The ticket cost them 15BRL, plus if you taxied, you'd save at least 40BRL!!!
* the sheets are old with stains and holes. We had 3 different sets of sheets because of our room changes... All were the same!

The Ugly -
* bed bugs in one of the beds in the dorm we stayed in
* checkin at 1pm yet no sheets available till 11pm! Yes 11pm! And this happened EVERYDAY to lots of people!
* they screwed up our reservation and the hostel was full. Lucky some people hadn't arrived and we insisted we have their room as we had already been there 2 nights and we had already had to move twice!
* incredibly noisy!!! If its not the people staying in the hostel, its the music from either the bar upstairs or the nightclub under the hostel which you can hear the bass through your pillow and then at around 6am the traffic noise starts and hell it is noisy! And that was from all 3 different rooms we stayed in!
* the mattress are disgusting! Need replacing!

All in all I probably wouldn't recommend it! But it was great for meeting people and being social!

  • Stayed November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nicjames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2010

I had a cramped, messy dorm right below the bar, with really loud music playing all night. Not the place to stay if you want to get some sleep.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HottySaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Rio de Janeiro hotels

Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
Reviewed October 12, 2010

My boyfriend and I stayed at Stone of a Beach for a total of 5 nights during our trip to Brasil, and stayed in a variety of the room options. If you are planning on staying here, I would definitely recommend booking your room in advance. We were lucky enough to get a bed on the nights that we did not pre-book, but I witnessed many travelers in the lobby who arrived late without reservations and were unable to get a room.

For the first night, we did not make advance reservations, but arrived early enough in the day to book a small private room with a twin bunk. It was upstairs next to the bar/restaurant/hot tub, and was extremely noisy. That room would not have been ideal for our entire stay due to the noise, but we stayed there as we needed to stop for one night before continuing on to Cabo Frio. We left to Cabo Frio, and one week later returned to Copacabana to Stone of a Beach. We had booked reservations for a private double bed room with a private bath, but arrived one day early, and by chance they had two beds open in one of the shared rooms. The beds were clean, as were the bathrooms. We stayed there one night, and then moved into our private room for three more nights, which was clean and very nice. We had a balcony to the front of the hotel as well.

The staff was very helpful and friendly, spoke a variety of languages, and the rooms/bathrooms were over all clean. The only thing that was not very clean was the shared kitchen, but this is more the fault of other travelers and not the staff. The atmosphere was very fun and laid back. My boyfriend and I opted for a more relaxed, quiet vacation, and the hostel fit our needs just fine. Other travelers definitely seemed to come to party, and the rooftop bar and lounge seemed a good fit for this type of traveler as well. The free breakfast was healthy and presented a variety of options.

I would definitely return to Stone of a Beach (this was my boyfriend's third time at this hostel), as we enjoyed our time very much there. One thing to keep in mind is that it IS a hostel, so there will be many people coming and going with a variety of living habits... it won't be as sparkling clean as some hotels may be, but by choosing a hostel like this you are able to have the experience of meeting more people (as amenities are shared), and also you are able to save financially.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jen_ijb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 24, 2010

Stayed here during carnival during feb 2010, although the rooftop has appeal and draws a crowd, people from surrounding buildings threw boiling water in glass coffee jars at the rooftop over a number of nights. Secondly, we were indecently assaulted in the middle of the night by a male staff member this was in our dorm when my boyfriend was right next to me. Ew! Terrifying to feel unsafe in a foreign country. And last but not least I had my ipod touch stolen from our dorm and staff did nothing to help infact refused to write a letter recording that the event occured.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank starkers_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed March 11, 2010

Stayed in this hostel for xmas in 2008 and had the best time. In fact I'd go as far to say that this is probably my joint favourite hostel (tied with spicylaos vang vieng) out of all of the ones I've stayed in across the world.

Staff were all super friendly and helpful and they really worked hard to make sure they place has an awesome social atmosphere and that everyone there was quick to make friends with other people staying there (great for me as i was travelling solo). The bar upstairs has a jacuzzi and is a great place to meet other people. They also organise loads of cool trips for people that stay there (went on the boat cruise, favela tour and favela funk party all of which were wicked). The place is pretty pricey for a hostel, but it's worth paying IMO.

Be warned though, this is party hostel so don't bank on getting much sleep if you try to go to bed early. If that's what you're looking for however, then this is the place to go to...

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yohankiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rio de Janeiro hotels
Copacabana
Che Lagarto Hostel Copacabana
Che Lagarto Hostel Copacabana
#40 of 783 in Rio de Janeiro
852 reviews
Copacabana
Che Lagarto Suites Copacabana Anita
Che Lagarto Suites Copacabana An...
#27 of 783 in Rio de Janeiro
344 reviews
Copacabana
CabanaCopa Hostel
CabanaCopa Hostel
#92 of 783 in Rio de Janeiro
476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Copacabana
Copacabana Sol Hotel
Copacabana Sol Hotel
#139 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
480 reviews
Copacabana
Hilton Rio de Janeiro Copacabana
Hilton Rio de Janeiro Copacabana
#14 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
2,615 reviews
Barra da Tijuca
Brisa Barra Hotel
Brisa Barra Hotel
#25 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stone of a Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stone of a Beach

Property: Stone of a Beach
Address: Rua Barata Ribeiro 111 | Copacabana, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22011-001, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Copacabana
Hotel Style:
Ranked #387 of 783 Specialty Lodging in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An old 1930's bohemian mansion in the middle of Copacabana! Just a minutes walk to the beach! FREE Internet - FREE breakfast. This place is massive, so we've given you the most spacious rooms with en-suites & air conditioning. Our top floor is a large open sun area with a swimming pool, BBQ and shaded chill out area. We also have a TV room with cable and a wide range of DVDs. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Stone Of a Beach Hotel Rio De Janeiro
Stone Of a Beach Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing