We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beware price hikes” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pousada Casa Aurea Boutique

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Pousada Casa Aurea Boutique
Ranked #49 of 330 Rio de Janeiro B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Beware price hikes”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2013

One month after I got a confirmation of booking via hotels.com the hotel contacted me to double the price. Reason= world cup is on at time of my stay. But the world cup dates were kown when I booked in October 2013! I can cancel but hotels elsewhere in Rio have since filled up. Hotel has increased prices when client has booked (non-refundable flights) and has few other hotel options. BEWARE BOOKING THIS PLACE.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
Helpful?
3 Thank Broomhillal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    34
    7
    3
    2
See reviews for
22
39
21
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Clarkston, Michigan
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2013

When my taxi pulled up to the iron gate, I had no idea what would await me behind the walls of this guesthouse, barely visible from the cobblestone streets of charming Santa Teresa. As I entered, I climbed a few stone steps to a magical courtyard oasis of tropical plants and gorgeous wooden furniture, comfortable hammocks and cushioned benches, all beckoning the weary traveler to take a rest. High ceilings and lovely rooms gave everything an open feel. A warm, helpful staff is always available to answer questions you may have. Close proximity to city and tourist sites. Perfect place to get away or relax with the family. Reasonable rates. Highly recommend Casa Aurea - will stay here on next visit to Rio.

Room Tip: En suite rooms are available or you can use shared bathroom. There is never a wait to get in becaus...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Annette T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
silkbyregina, Manager at Pousada Casa Aurea Boutique, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Thanks for your comment, we improving our antique house every day to create more comfort for our guest
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2013

I found this to be a fantastic place from which to absorb brazillian culture, music, art, food and spiritually. I happily spent much time here instead of rushing out to see more sites of Rio. The location is perfect to wander around Santa Teresa from. Its clean, comfortable, fairly priced, relaxed, organised and informative.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MikeJShaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bologna, Italy
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2013

I stayed for a weekend at Casa Aurea and I enjoyed it very much. It has a beautiful green patio where one can relax. The staff is extremely helpful and friendly. The only negative aspect is that the internet wifi connection was a bit unstable in the days I was there, but apart from this (temporary) problem, it's definitely a great place, which I warmly recommend.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PaoloVanin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cohasset, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2012

My wife and I spent one full week in Rio de Janeiro in August at Casa Aurea in Santa Teresa and highly recommend it. Casa Aurea is a warm, relaxed and friendly place. The staff are interested, enterprising and helpful, but were never pushy or overbearing. There always seems to be at least one person who speaks English, and each of them helped us in different ways with our various plans (even including a brief, unexpected visit to the Seventh Day Adventist Hospital). The neighborhood is charming, and although it is quite an easy walk to the Gloria Metro station, taxi service is also readily available for those less inclined to walk. We traveled all over Rio by Metro, bus, taxi, boat and foot; the Casa Aurea team even helped us get to some out-lying places (plus a fascinating 4-hour walk through the large favela situated right above Ipanema Beach). There are excellent eating spots and interesting shops in the Santa Teresa area, as well as plenty of great views. Potential problems which had concerned us prior to our visit did not prove to be significant at all for us (language; possible noisy neighborhood; age issues (we are 73 and 69); reported "smoking" issues). The other travelers/visitors we met at Casa Aurea (all ages), were pleasant, informative and very friendly. We both definitely recommend that you consider Casa Aurea for your next visit to Rio!

Room Tip: An excellent choice would be a room on the main floor with a shared bath, both for convenience and e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Gordon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2012

I stayed at Casa Aurea during the month of July for 10 days. The accommodation I stayed at was very modest and basic, although because it was located in a basement under the kitchen it was quite dark, with views of a construction zone, and no window in the bathroom (thus chilly in the evenings and morning). There was a lot of noise on the ceiling of my room, from foot traffic in the main house's kitchen very early in the morning, and the wifi signal was very weak in the basement bedroom. Even though this rusticity is part of the "charm" that Casa Aurea advertises, I feel that for the price that one pays, one does not really get very good value or much comfort. While Casa Aurea costs less money than other hotels in Rio, it is not inexpensive either. The pousada's decoration is indeed charming and the courtyard appears as a welcoming place. However, I found that I could not stay at the courtyard as much as I would have liked to, because smoking is allowed in all areas at the house, and I am allergic to smoking. And even though the courtyard is somewhat open, the constant smoking, even during the breakfast service, really made it very uncomfortable for me. Also, smoke would filter into the bedroom as well. I think that Casa Aurea owners should advertise that the pousada is a smoking place and that non-smokers won't have a lot of spaces that are smoke free. The staff is very friendly and helpful, although not everyone. Gene and Leda were great.

Room Tip: Rooms in the upper part of the house will probably have better views, but they have no private bathr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sofia286
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasaAurea, Owner at Pousada Casa Aurea Boutique, responded to this review, August 13, 2012
We would like to thank you by our casa aurea team for taking the time to write us a feedback.
Usually a feedback, is to give inspiration to maintain the service good. And your words made us realize that it is time for changes. So we got the solution to separate some special smoking areas, so we can compromise with both, the smokers and non smokers.
And like this to make it comfortable for everybody.
Coming back on the comment that it was noisy, surprised us. usually we hear the opposite.
But we take your feedback serious and will be aware.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malmo, Sweden
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2012

We stayed in July which is low season. Service is personal, pleasant and relaxed. Cornelius, the proprietor made us feel very much at home. We stayed in a room with shared bathroom, which was just outside our room and as it was quite quiet, we had it to ourselves. The pousada is in a great location in Santa Teresa, close to the bars you want to visit, but otherwise in a quiet street. Worth mentioning is that Santa Teresa is a very hilly neighbourhood, with cobbled streets that are often STEEP, so bear this in mind if you are not up for some exercise!
Nice breakfast with fresh food and eggs of your choise was served on the garden patio. Internet was rather slow, but when on holiday, this is just a reason to go out and enjoy other things instead! We would recommend this little haven of quiet, when visiting Rio.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TiinaVirtanen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rio de Janeiro hotels
Santa Teresa
Casalegre Art Vila B&B - Santa Teresa
Casalegre Art Vila B&B - Santa T...
#5 of 330 in Rio de Janeiro
5.0 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
Santa Teresa
Casa Cool Beans B&B
Casa Cool Beans B&B
#1 of 330 in Rio de Janeiro
5.0 of 5 bubbles 755 reviews
Santa Teresa
Mama Ruisa
Mama Ruisa
#3 of 330 in Rio de Janeiro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Teresa
Casa Beleza
Casa Beleza
#2 of 330 in Rio de Janeiro
5.0 of 5 bubbles 567 reviews
Da Lapa Design Hotel
#29 of 330 in Rio de Janeiro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
Santa Teresa
Villa Laurinda
Villa Laurinda
#32 of 330 in Rio de Janeiro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pousada Casa Aurea Boutique? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pousada Casa Aurea Boutique

Property: Pousada Casa Aurea Boutique
Address: Rua Aurea N 80 | Santa Teresa, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 20240-210, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Santa Teresa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 330 B&Bs / Inns in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Pousada Casa Aurea Boutique 2.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guesthouse Casa Aurea is a great retreat from the heavily populated tourist areas. the pousada upon the hills of Santa Teresa where the winding cobblestone streets and an old-fashion tram Bonde, gives the neighborhood a historical charm.The very special thing about this guesthouse is connecting people, making friends.The Casa Aurea Inn has 13 rooms with a variety of accommodations ranging from dormitory style to private rooms with washrooms. There are plenty of communal areas which add sociability to the place.Complete Breakfast with tropical fruits includedSuites with refrigeratorFree Use of BBQ Grill & Pizza OvenEnglish, German, Portuguese, Spanish and French spokenExternal guest kitchenLaundryTelephone (via Skype) and broadband internet access available 24/24Wireless internet connectionClose to transport links, taxi rank, supermarkets, health centre, police station, and restaurants24-hours street security guardTourist Information Info DeskTour guides availableAirport PickupBook ExchangeAs well there is a guest kitchen too in case you want to dine in. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Pousada Casa Aurea Boutique reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Aurea Pousada-Guesthouse Hotel Rio De Janeiro
Pousada Casa Aurea Boutique Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing