We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice pousada”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Pousada Casa Aurea Boutique
Ranked #49 of 346 Rio de Janeiro B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed April 28, 2012

Very nice pousada in a classic, colonial ambiance, where we felt at home immediately after a warm welcome at arrival. Friendly and helpful personel, they'll do anything to satisfy their guests. Also the location in the area of Santa Teresa is worth visiting, there is so much to see. No doubt we will visit it again next time when going to Rio de Janeiro (hopefully very soon, because Rio is a great place to be. We just love it!). Thank you very much.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Andre N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (123)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

36 - 42 of 123 reviews

Reviewed March 5, 2012

I feel so bad that I forgot to write a review following our stay at Casa Aurea last year.
I still talk about it now and recommend it to anyone going to Rio so its about time I give them the glowing written report that they deserve!
The owner and staff are incredibly knowledgeable and friendly and gave us some good advice and they have good contacts for trips and drivers.
The casa itself is lovely and welcoming and somewhere nice to relax in at the end of a busy day. An oasis where you can meet interesting people from all over the world.
I really liked the area of Santa Teresa, it has a lot of history to it and it feels safe. It is a nice area to walk around and sample local restaurants.
I even got to meet a monkey who wanted to share my banana!
I hope that I will get back to Rio one day and I will definitely come back here. The lovely people I met here during our stay helped make our trip a wonderful experience and reminded me about what is important in life. Miss you guys! Hope all is good with you

Claire & Tom - London

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ask_the_Owl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2012

Stayed there 7 days with carnival, great time. Good staff, good breakfast, very clean, nice neighbourhood & atmosphere

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Einstein81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2012

Stayed here for six nights it was realy fantastic...Deane , Samiya, Dominique and the lot realy look after you.They are experts in local know how ...And santa teresa is a fantastic place to stay in....some taxis are reluctant to come here because of the hilly roads but the public transport is readily available to lapa and centro so it realy does not matter...there are plenty of places to eat and to shop around including a pharmacy and several groceries .The rooms are comfy and very homely and i loved the decor of all public spaces of the casa....full of lovely sculptures and paintings.Do not forget to walk to gloria market on a sunday and use the selaron stairways.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SUDHEERA_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2012

The place is fantastic, you feel at home, People are very friendly ! We met people from many countries. Good location in the heart of Rio de Janeiro. So easy to go everywhere.
We loved to be in Casa Aurea.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tony S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2012

Good location, although lacking a bigger grocery. Very nice neighbourhood and awesom staff! Rooms and bathrooms need some polishing, but nothing major.

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank donciavas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2012

Excellent place. Rooms and atmosphere are greats, but... those eyes... I'll never can forget those eyes.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank daniel h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rio de Janeiro hotels
Copacabana
Atlantis Copacabana
Atlantis Copacabana
#87 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
1,389 reviews
Jacarepaguá
Midas Rio Suites
Midas Rio Suites
#216 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
165 reviews
Ipanema
Mar Ipanema Hotel
Mar Ipanema Hotel
#72 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
1,226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Copacabana
CabanaCopa Hostel
CabanaCopa Hostel
#90 of 842 in Rio de Janeiro
498 reviews
Copacabana
Belmond Copacabana Palace
Belmond Copacabana Palace
#3 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
3,448 reviews
Sheraton Grand Rio Hotel & Resor...
#22 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
1,689 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pousada Casa Aurea Boutique? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pousada Casa Aurea Boutique

Address: Rua Aurea N 80 | Santa Teresa, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 20240-210, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Santa Teresa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 346 B&Bs / Inns in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range: $70 - $140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Pousada Casa Aurea Boutique 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guesthouse Casa Aurea is a great retreat from the heavily populated tourist areas. the pousada upon the hills of Santa Teresa where the winding cobblestone streets and an old-fashion tram Bonde, gives the neighborhood a historical charm.The very special thing about this guesthouse is connecting people, making friends.The Casa Aurea Inn has 13 rooms with a variety of accommodations ranging from dormitory style to private rooms with washrooms. There are plenty of communal areas which add sociability to the place.Complete Breakfast with tropical fruits includedSuites with refrigeratorFree Use of BBQ Grill & Pizza OvenEnglish, German, Portuguese, Spanish and French spokenExternal guest kitchenLaundryTelephone (via Skype) and broadband internet access available 24/24Wireless internet connectionClose to transport links, taxi rank, supermarkets, health centre, police station, and restaurants24-hours street security guardTourist Information Info DeskTour guides availableAirport PickupBook ExchangeAs well there is a guest kitchen too in case you want to dine in. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cheap Tickets so you can book your Pousada Casa Aurea Boutique reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Aurea Pousada-Guesthouse Hotel Rio De Janeiro
Pousada Casa Aurea Boutique Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing