We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome rooftop but overly hyped property...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Fasano Rio de Janeiro
Ranked #7 of 286 Hotels in Rio de Janeiro
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 25, 2014

There is quite a bit of hype about this hotel located on the end of Ipanema beach which extends onto Copacabana. I visited the hotel previously for dinner followed by an ascent to the rooftop for after dinner drinks and was impressed. Hence expectations for the rooms were set high in what is allegedly Rio de Janeiro’s most hip hotel. Regrettably, I was somewhat underwhelmed by the size and lighting in the room. The room was not sea-facing (which attracts a considerable premium) but nonetheless was staring immediately into an apartment block no more than 15 metres away. Hence to maintain any semblance of privacy the curtains had to be kept shut which made the room feel somewhat claustrophobic as the lighting did not compensate adequately. Nonetheless, the room was comfortably appointed with all necessary amenities, some quite funky mirrors (a small one over the bed) and a stylish bathroom with generously sized walk-in shower with excellent pressure. On top of an expensive rate I found the additional BRL50/day charge for internet usage excessive.

However, the selling point of the hotel must be the rooftop pool and bar with far reaching views along Ipanema beach and the mountains beyond. The sunset view from the roof is truly spectacular. The Brazilians have a charming habit of sitting on the beach and the large rock headland between Ipanema and Copacabana to admire the sunset and then breaking into applause when the setting sun touches the sea and disappears for the day. The vantage point the Fasano roof top pool offers to enjoy this spectacle is unparalleled. Hence I found it bizarre that the hotel closes the roof top bar at 10PM. After some persuasion my Brazilian colleague who accompanied me on the trip convinced the bar staff to serve us a drink when we pitched up after dinner at 10:05PM. We had wanted to have several enjoying the night view.

Owing to a busy work schedule I elected to have breakfast delivered to the room both days. Both days the food arrived very promptly and service was slick. However, the “soft” boiled eggs I ordered the second day were barely cooked at all – essentially warm and almost raw. Fruit plate was fresh and enjoyable.

I enjoyed my time at the hotel on a corporate trip but would be hard pressed to fork out the rate at the Fasano for a vacation. More likely I would return to the Copacabana palace although the rooftop at the Fasano is particularly memorable.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alexander R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel-Fasano-RJ, Manager at Hotel Fasano Rio de Janeiro, responded to this reviewResponded June 16, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your visit to the Hotel Fasano Rio de Janeiro.

We appreciate the time you put aside to write this review about our Hotel, and we are pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay.

We hope to welcome you back in a near future.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,513)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

332 - 338 of 1,513 reviews

Reviewed January 25, 2014

We arrived at the Fasano in the midst of a heat wave and were enthusiastically welcomed with water and a beautiful room overlooking the ocean. Roof top pool is divine, with outstanding food and accomadations. This is a perfect place to stay to rest and to wander out from to explore Rio. Room was beautifully and comfortably appointed. Staff welcoming and considerate and food did not disappoint. I will return anytime I am in Rio.

Room Tip: Ocean view room as high as possible to enjoy the view. Rooms are well sound proofed and quiet with p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 3,329
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel-Fasano-RJ, Manager at Hotel Fasano Rio de Janeiro, responded to this reviewResponded June 16, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your visit to the Hotel Fasano Rio de Janeiro.

We appreciate your comments and the time you put aside to write them.

It is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to serve you again in the future.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2014

For a special highlight ending to our trip to Brazil, we decided to treat ourselves to two nights at the Fasano. As we were already in Rio de Janeiro earlier that week (staying at the Copacabana Palace), we decided to go and check the hotel out. Being "young professionals" we thought that the Fasano might suit our lifestyle. We couldn't have been more wrong!!

On arrival, getting past the 'doorman with attitude' with difficulty, we asked if we could go and see the roof top pool - with a look of disdain, we were told "No, the pool is only for hotel guests". I explained that as of Thursday, we would indeed be hotel guests as we had a reservation. The receptionist/ concierge then told us that we were not on their computer system and so no we did not have a reservation, and so no we couldn't see the pool. He then disappeared never to be seen again. I then had to go through the process of having to call my office in London, get them to email the reservation confirmation to my phone, which I then had to hand over to another sneering receptionist. Funnily enough,with no eye contact at all and no form of apology, they then managed to find our reservation - and we were begrudging allowed to see the pool.

I have never come across reception staff with such a terrible attitude and appalling manner. They really have no interest in you at all and could not have been less welcoming if they tried...which they don't! So much so, we immediately cancelled our reservation there and extended our stay at the Copacabana Palace - which by complete contrast, excelled in every department (and at half the price!!). We didn't even get as far as seeing the rooms (be very careful by the way, if you do stay here, as quite a lot of the rooms face a brick wall just a few metres away).

To be honest, the reception staff really did us a favour - as if had stayed there we would have been completely gutted - having wasted a considerable amount of money (£750 a night AND wi-fi is not included - Ridiculous) and ruined the end of our holiday.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
14  Thank CharlieM725
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel-Fasano-RJ, Manager at Hotel Fasano Rio de Janeiro, responded to this reviewResponded June 16, 2014

Dear Guest,

Firstly, I would like to thank you for your visit to the Hotel Fasano Rio de Janeiro.

We offer no excuses but our deepest apologies for the inconveniences you have experienced during your stay with us. Likewise, we appreciate the time you put aside to write this detailed review, as it is only through constructive feedback that we can constantly monitor and improve our services and facilities, and overcome our guests' expectations.

It is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the future.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2014

Fasano enjoys all the benefits and downfalls of a design hotel: beautiful people (staying and working), interesting/disposable design, expensive trendy food, and a wonderful rooftop pool. I would stay here again just for it's location, but I'm looking forward to the opening of the Emiliano Rio (the Emiliano Sao Paulo is one of my favorite hotels in the world). Right now the Fasano's main contender is the wonderful Copacobana Palace which is great, but it's in Copacobana.

There are a lot of wonderful staff here and nice touches like the side entrance for showering when you come back from the beach (where these is great, free beach service). This is a great place to hang out and a good base for enjoying all of Rio.

Room Tip: The ocean facing rooms are very nice both because they have stunning views, but also because the roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gandaratravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel-Fasano-RJ, Manager at Hotel Fasano Rio de Janeiro, responded to this reviewResponded June 16, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your visit to the Hotel Fasano Rio de Janeiro.

We appreciate the time you put aside to write this review about our Hotel, and we are pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay.

We hope to welcome you back in a near future.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2014

We just returned from a seven night stay in one of our favorite cities in the world, Rio de Janeiro. We have stayed in the area south of Leblon and on Capacabana. Rio's two luxury hotels are Copacabana Palace across from Copacabana Beach and Hotel Fasano across from Ipanema Beach.

This is our new favorite hotel in Rio. We loved it. The building is eight stories high with modern interiors. Our room had magnificent views of the beach and beyond. We also had a balcony, so we were able to sit outside. The rooms are average size, not large.

One of the best features of Hotel Fasano is the attentive beachside service that they provide across the street on Ipanema Beach. They provide beach chairs, umbrellas, and towels. Hotel Fasano is expensive. Rio hotels are all expensive. But, in one of the most fantastic citites on the planet, we splurged, and we're glad that we did.

Max at the concierge desk was friendly, professional, and knowledgeable. He arranged several great tours for us. One thing to keep in mind when visiting Rio. Most people here do not speak English. They know a few words for hospitality/service purposes. It's not like in Europe where everyone speaks English. Learn a few Portugeese phrases, expect good service (but not American/European standards of service), and stay in safe neighborhoods, and you will have a great time.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PacificHeights7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel-Fasano-RJ, Manager at Hotel Fasano Rio de Janeiro, responded to this reviewResponded June 16, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your visit to the Hotel Fasano Rio de Janeiro.

We appreciate the time you put aside to write such a thoughtful review, and we are pleased to know that you had a good time while with us.

We hope to welcome you back in a near future.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2014

i really don't know what to write , but ill do my best , the hotel for brazil is ok and for some people is very good and for other is poor , that depends on where usually you travel or stay in yes this is the main things , you cant compare it with W Barcelona or so , it wasn't that bad they were so friendly with me but maybe i used to stay in very very good hotel so this is the problem ,
and i am sure you cant find better hotel in RIO then Fasano so no option :)

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Spoow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel-Fasano-RJ, Manager at Hotel Fasano Rio de Janeiro, responded to this reviewResponded June 16, 2014

Dear Guest,

We appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Hotel Fasano Rio de Janeiro.

Constructive comments and feedback are always the best way to overcome our guest's expectations.

We hope to serve you even better in the future.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2014

Pros: Excellent pool/view, nice/new rooms with marble bathrooms (though if you don't have a sea view you basically look directly at the back of residential building that is adjacent to the hotel), great beach service, pleasant breakfast

Cons: Expensive/questionable return for what you pay, small rooms, curtains in the lobby are strange, R$50 per day for WIFI, R$60 for valet parking (for which they park your car on the street in front of the hotel, not in a garage)

Bottom line: You are paying London/Paris/NY prices and you are not getting the same level of service/care/commitment from the staff that you would at 5 star properties in those cities (this is NOT a Brazilian thing; stay at the Copacabana Palace if you need the service to be at this standard in Rio or at the Emiliano if in Sao Paulo) and the rooms are likely smaller and not as functional as you would expect for the price. But the place is clean, trendy and nice; the pool and views are outstanding; and the location is very good. These are essentially the things for which you are (over?)paying. If you accept all of this and accept that the place prioritizes squeezing money from you rather than ensuring you stay is pleasant/comfortable then you will enjoy your stay here. If the weather is good then hopefully you won't be in the hotel much anyways. FYI service is better if you speak Portuguese.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mpierce64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel-Fasano-RJ, Manager at Hotel Fasano Rio de Janeiro, responded to this reviewResponded June 16, 2014

Dear Guest,

Firstly, I would like to thank you for your visit to the Hotel Fasano Rio de Janeiro.

We offer no excuses but our deepest apologies for not achieving the level of quality in service that we strive for during your stay with us. Likewise, we really appreciate the time you took to write this review, as it is only through constructive feedback that we can constantly monitor and improve our services and facilities.

Thank you again for sharing your experience and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the future.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rio de Janeiro hotels
Copacabana
Belmond Copacabana Palace
Belmond Copacabana Palace
#3 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
3,375 reviews
Ipanema
Sofitel Rio de Janeiro Ipanema
Sofitel Rio de Janeiro Ipanema
#45 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
1,767 reviews
Copacabana
Miramar Hotel by Windsor
Miramar Hotel by Windsor
#1 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
2,489 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Copacabana
Hilton Rio de Janeiro Copacabana
Hilton Rio de Janeiro Copacabana
#17 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
2,769 reviews
Sheraton Grand Rio Hotel & Resor...
#24 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
1,631 reviews
Copacabana
JW Marriott Hotel Rio de Janeiro
JW Marriott Hotel Rio de Janeiro
#16 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
2,272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Fasano Rio de Janeiro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Fasano Rio de Janeiro

Address: Avenida Vieira Souto 80 | Ipanema, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22420-002, Brazil (Formerly Fasano Hotel & Restaurant)
Phone Number:
Location: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Ipanema
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#3 Business Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#4 Spa Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#4 Family Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#7 Luxury Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range: $541 - $766 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Fasano Rio de Janeiro 5*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Avenida Vieira Souto, in the heart of Ipanema beach, the long awaited hotel Fasano Rio de Janeiro combines the sophistication of Rio’s most coveted address with modernity and efficiency in design and service. Envisioned by Philippe Starck, everything has been thought out to reverberate the glorious Bossa Nova era, when Ipanema was blossoming into the most charming neighborhood of Rio. The hotel caters to both leisure and business travelers and offers the latest technology in its accommodations and meeting rooms. Guests can experience Fasano's gastronomic legacy at the elegant Fasano al mare restaurant and enjoy signature cocktails and light meals at the ‘scenery’ Baretto-Londra. The breathtaking view from the rooftop swimming pool overlooks the beach and constitutes an attraction in and of itself. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Fasano Rio de Janeiro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fasano Rio De Janeiro
Hotel Fasano Rio De Janeiro Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing