We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
$228
JW Marriott
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
$257
$165
Hilton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of $185/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Arena Copacabana Hotel(Rio de Janeiro)(Great Value!)
$82
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
PortoBay Rio Internacional Hotel(Rio de Janeiro)(Great Value!)
$163
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Rio Othon Palace Hotel(Rio de Janeiro)(Great Value!)
$141
$91
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Miramar Hotel by Windsor(Rio de Janeiro)(Great Value!)
$117
$96
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$220
$203
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
$162
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Belmond Copacabana Palace(Rio de Janeiro)
$432
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,627)
Filter reviews
1,627 results
Traveler rating
1,104
325
118
54
26
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,104
325
118
54
26
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsipanema beachrooftop poolamazing poolocean frontfive star hotelsao paulofirst flooramazing hotelsea viewconcierge servicereception deskbeach servicethe location is perfectfelt very safelondrastarckrio
Filter
Updating list...
375 - 380 of 1,627 reviews
Reviewed January 18, 2014

Fasano enjoys all the benefits and downfalls of a design hotel: beautiful people (staying and working), interesting/disposable design, expensive trendy food, and a wonderful rooftop pool. I would stay here again just for it's location, but I'm looking forward to the opening of the Emiliano Rio (the Emiliano Sao Paulo is one of my favorite hotels in the world). Right now the Fasano's main contender is the wonderful Copacobana Palace which is great, but it's in Copacobana.

There are a lot of wonderful staff here and nice touches like the side entrance for showering when you come back from the beach (where these is great, free beach service). This is a great place to hang out and a good base for enjoying all of Rio.

Room Tip: The ocean facing rooms are very nice both because they have stunning views, but also because the rooms in the back don't get much light and the one I looked at smelled strongly of mildew/mold.
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gandaratravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel-Fasano-RJ, Manager at Hotel Fasano Rio de Janeiro, responded to this reviewResponded June 16, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your visit to the Hotel Fasano Rio de Janeiro.

We appreciate the time you put aside to write this review about our Hotel, and we are pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay.

We hope to welcome you back in a near future.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2014

We just returned from a seven night stay in one of our favorite cities in the world, Rio de Janeiro. We have stayed in the area south of Leblon and on Capacabana. Rio's two luxury hotels are Copacabana Palace across from Copacabana Beach and Hotel Fasano across from Ipanema Beach.

This is our new favorite hotel in Rio. We loved it. The building is eight stories high with modern interiors. Our room had magnificent views of the beach and beyond. We also had a balcony, so we were able to sit outside. The rooms are average size, not large.

One of the best features of Hotel Fasano is the attentive beachside service that they provide across the street on Ipanema Beach. They provide beach chairs, umbrellas, and towels. Hotel Fasano is expensive. Rio hotels are all expensive. But, in one of the most fantastic citites on the planet, we splurged, and we're glad that we did.

Max at the concierge desk was friendly, professional, and knowledgeable. He arranged several great tours for us. One thing to keep in mind when visiting Rio. Most people here do not speak English. They know a few words for hospitality/service purposes. It's not like in Europe where everyone speaks English. Learn a few Portugeese phrases, expect good service (but not American/European standards of service), and stay in safe neighborhoods, and you will have a great time.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PacificHeights7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel-Fasano-RJ, Manager at Hotel Fasano Rio de Janeiro, responded to this reviewResponded June 16, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your visit to the Hotel Fasano Rio de Janeiro.

We appreciate the time you put aside to write such a thoughtful review, and we are pleased to know that you had a good time while with us.

We hope to welcome you back in a near future.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2014

i really don't know what to write , but ill do my best , the hotel for brazil is ok and for some people is very good and for other is poor , that depends on where usually you travel or stay in yes this is the main things , you cant compare it with W Barcelona or so , it wasn't that bad they were so friendly with me but maybe i used to stay in very very good hotel so this is the problem ,
and i am sure you cant find better hotel in RIO then Fasano so no option :)

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Spoow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel-Fasano-RJ, Manager at Hotel Fasano Rio de Janeiro, responded to this reviewResponded June 16, 2014

Dear Guest,

We appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Hotel Fasano Rio de Janeiro.

Constructive comments and feedback are always the best way to overcome our guest's expectations.

We hope to serve you even better in the future.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2014

Pros: Excellent pool/view, nice/new rooms with marble bathrooms (though if you don't have a sea view you basically look directly at the back of residential building that is adjacent to the hotel), great beach service, pleasant breakfast

Cons: Expensive/questionable return for what you pay, small rooms, curtains in the lobby are strange, R$50 per day for WIFI, R$60 for valet parking (for which they park your car on the street in front of the hotel, not in a garage)

Bottom line: You are paying London/Paris/NY prices and you are not getting the same level of service/care/commitment from the staff that you would at 5 star properties in those cities (this is NOT a Brazilian thing; stay at the Copacabana Palace if you need the service to be at this standard in Rio or at the Emiliano if in Sao Paulo) and the rooms are likely smaller and not as functional as you would expect for the price. But the place is clean, trendy and nice; the pool and views are outstanding; and the location is very good. These are essentially the things for which you are (over?)paying. If you accept all of this and accept that the place prioritizes squeezing money from you rather than ensuring you stay is pleasant/comfortable then you will enjoy your stay here. If the weather is good then hopefully you won't be in the hotel much anyways. FYI service is better if you speak Portuguese.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mpierce64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel-Fasano-RJ, Manager at Hotel Fasano Rio de Janeiro, responded to this reviewResponded June 16, 2014

Dear Guest,

Firstly, I would like to thank you for your visit to the Hotel Fasano Rio de Janeiro.

We offer no excuses but our deepest apologies for not achieving the level of quality in service that we strive for during your stay with us. Likewise, we really appreciate the time you took to write this review, as it is only through constructive feedback that we can constantly monitor and improve our services and facilities.

Thank you again for sharing your experience and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the future.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2014

This modern hotel, in excellent location ( Ipanema just across the beach) is a creative achievement.
Located in an 8 storied building undistinguished from the rest of the waterfront buildings, the architect designed an interior that matches the contemporary 5 star ultra modern decor fashion.
We had a Deluxe room facing the ocean of average size, with a very ample balcony.
The compartimented full marble bathroom had a excepcional comfortable and ample shower cabin, WC + bidet.
On the 8th floor a shallow infinity pool, plus bar and solarium present a stunning view of Ipanema beach and environments. This is complemented by a beach service just acroos the street with umbrella, towels and sun chairs.
The restaurant is very good ( italian fare ) and breakfast has all you would expect in a 5 star hotel.
The staff is well trained and very kind.
WIFI in all areas with an exceptional high speed of 18Mbps.
My only negative comment is that when you check in at a hotel with published double room rates above 1000 US$/night you expect no discomfort. An this cannot be said of FASANO.
It seems the architect never slept in a room.
Otherwise he would have designed drawers in the writing desk ( to put work papers or laptops away ), he would have put a light above the reading chair ( at night it remains in darkness unless you read on a kindle or Ipad ) and he would have put drawers in the night tables besides the bed to enable you to put your intimate articles, books or contact lenses away. The AC was noisy at night, but I do not know if it was only in our room or it is the quality of machinery they bought.
In conclusion : a trendy designer hotel but with practical uncomfortable details unacceptable for the market they try to serve

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
3  Thank guillermohoter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel-Fasano-RJ, Manager at Hotel Fasano Rio de Janeiro, responded to this reviewResponded June 16, 2014

Dear Guest,

We appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Hotel Fasano Rio de Janeiro. Constructive comments are always the best way to overcome our guest's expectations.

We offer no excuses but our deepest apologies for the inconveniences you have experienced during your stay with us; and thank you for dedicating your time to write such a thoughtful review about us.

We hope to have the opportunity to serve you again in the future.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews