We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,629)
Filter reviews
1,629 results
Traveler rating
1,105
326
118
54
26
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,105
326
118
54
26
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsipanema beachrooftop poolamazing poolocean frontfive star hotelsao paulofirst flooramazing hotelsea viewconcierge servicereception deskbeach servicethe location is perfectfelt very safelondrastarckrio
Filter
Updating list...
384 - 389 of 1,629 reviews
Reviewed January 4, 2014

We spent five nights at Hotel Fasano over Christmas. it was absolutely fantastic. The location is perfect. The pool deck and view are stunning. The service was terrific - from Julia and Max at the concierge desk (who went out of their way every time we spoke to them and were warm and welcoming) to the front desk staff (shout-out to Brito who bent over backwards to be sure we enjoyed our stay) to the pool crew. The staff helped us with everything from restaurant reservations, to bicycle rentals, to tour guides (ask for Marco, he was fantastic) to picking up medicine at the drug store and delivering it to our room.

We've travelled all over the world and have been lucky enough to stay in some of the best hotels and the Fasano is right up there on every count.

A few more things...

-The ocean-front rooms are worth the extra money, they're bigger and the views are amazing; we had one of each, one "courtyard" and one ocean-front and there is a significant difference
-The beach is lovely although it gets crowded - there is great beach service via the hotel (chairs, water, umbrellas)
-Nothing is cheap - if you are price-sensitive this isn't the hotel for you
-The experience - the hotel and Rio in general - for our family at least, was priceless

And don't forget you need a visa to travel to Brazil from the US! We had friends who had to cancel their trip because they didn't get visas. Ugh.

Looking forward to a return visit to Rio and to the Fasano.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CLCChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel-Fasano-RJ, Manager at Hotel Fasano Rio de Janeiro, responded to this reviewResponded June 16, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for the time you dedicated to share your impressions of the Hotel Fasano Rio de Janeiro.

It is a true pleasure to know that you and your family had a wonderful time while with us.

We look forward to serving you again in the future.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2014

In Rio de Janeiro there are two hotels top level: Fasano in Ipanema and Copacabana Palace in Copacabana. The best location is Ipanema, smaller, safer, nicer. Fasano is brand new, well designed, stilish, modern, hip, trendy. Small rooms, maybe overpriced, but forget it, you are in the best place of one of the most beautiful cities in the world. Compared to this money is nothing. The swimming pool on 8th floor rooftop is remarcable, it leaves you breathless.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stefania G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel-Fasano-RJ, Manager at Hotel Fasano Rio de Janeiro, responded to this reviewResponded June 16, 2014

Dear Guest,

Firstly, I would like to thank you for your visit to the Hotel Fasano Rio de Janeiro. It is a pleasure to know that you had such a great time with us

We hope to welcome you back.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2014

This hotel has a wonderful location right on Ipanema beach. The front desk was welcoming, wonderful in fact. A basket of fresh fruit awaited which was a relief after a long flight. The room had a terrible view however (of a back alley, into a courtyard) which is the only negative. The hotel explained they were full to capacity which is completely understandable.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael01UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel-Fasano-RJ, Manager at Hotel Fasano Rio de Janeiro, responded to this reviewResponded June 16, 2014

Dear Guest,
We appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Hotel Fasano Rio de Janeiro. Constructive comments and feedback are always the best way to overcome our guest's expectations.
Thank you again for sharing your experience, it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to serve you again in the future.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2013

Horrible management!
As soon as we arrived we were denied uor automatic upgrade due to FHR program; based on no availability.... I was able to book an upgraded room online 30 min after arriving.
Mr. Francis at the front desk/Concierge will make you feel ready to go home, or start your vacations somewhere else.
Of Course I already notified FHR program to review their policies and contract with Fasano.
The Concierge service at this hotel is practically non-existent; Was told that they were unable to book dinner at a nearby restaurants; we showed up at the restaurant , by the time we wanted the reservation,and were seated in 5 minutes and the maitre told us no one from Fasano called before.
All the service,wait staff are great; more helpful than front desk and management with a very few exceptions.
Come for the location and view if staying on a waterview room, the sunset from the pool is fantastic; Mr Diego at the pool bar was able to dissipate the bad taste from the experience with a fantastic caipirinha!
This Hotel should look into re-arrange some of its management team; such a design gem and a superb location do deserve a more suitable supervisory personal staff.

Room Tip: Arrange with their website, confirm your room, do not count on upgrades done by FHR or Black Amex. You might be lucky with the black mastercard; seems to be the only contract they do respect. Make sure is a waterview, go and see the room first. And Foremost, avoid Mr Francis.
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Traveling1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2013

I always stay here. I come to rio at least once a year. The view from the pool is great. The music in bareto londra the hotels bar is fantastic. I love it. (house music) but this hotels provides generally poor service and is still succesful because the hotel choice in rio is so limited. The pool staff are great. Everyone else hardly says hello. We had a sea view room, its nice but small. As i said, normally i stay here because the choices are so bad in this city, but this time i split my stay between here and copacabana palace. Once u visit copacabana palace u realise how u have been treated like a mug at the fasano, so poor service is not just a brazilian thing. The service does not compare. Yes location is not as good but get a cab. Fasano is a hotel where they dont care if u enjoy ur stay. The food is expensive and awful. The cocktails are the same and the icing on the cake is charging for wifi. Go have a coffee in a small cafe in brazil its free. Go to a pousada (guest house) on a remote island its free. At fasano? No way. These guys could get blood from a stone. I dont mind paying money for something thats worth it but i hate been ripped off and i always get this feeling here. Im leaving copacabana palace today on top of the world. Next time il be staying at CP for sure. I recomend u do the same.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Sean180183
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews