We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,630)
Filter reviews
1,630 results
Traveler rating
1,105
326
118
54
27
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,105
326
118
54
27
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsipanema beachrooftop poolamazing poolocean frontfive star hotelsao paulofirst flooramazing hotelsea viewconcierge servicereception deskbeach servicethe location is perfectfelt very safelondrastarckrio
Filter
Updating list...
391 - 396 of 1,630 reviews
Reviewed December 19, 2013

Favorite hotel in Rio beautifully located directly on Ipanema beach on the edge of Leblon. Hotel is fun and trendy with a fantastic rooftop pool and bar. Staff are super friendly and helpful in my experience which may contrast with some other reviews. Food was excellent and the concierge did a great job helping us make some very good dinner reservations and plan and execute some day and side trips. Happy to return any time. I have also stayed AT&T he Copacabana which is another gem but AT&T he opposite end of the spectrum being much more formal and traditional. Both great hotels and you can't go wrong but the Fasano is your choice if you prefer something fun trendy and stylish.

Room Tip: Beachfront is worth the extra cost.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2013 via mobile

After staying at the Fasano in São Paulo we knew we were going to the beach and needed to adjust our expectations. Being neither Madonna nor super models, getting the staff's attention was a bit of a challenge. At times, it was clearly a language barrier, at others, it seemed like attitude. Having booked an ocean front room at full price thru a loyalty program months in advance, the first room had a partial ocean view and a view into another building. Skip this hotel if the tariff for an ocean view feels outrageous, which it is. However, even though the hotel was "fully booked", the staff, to its credit, found an ocean front room for us. Of course, we threatened to leave if they didn't. This experience kind of encapsulates this hotel, kinda like Tale of Two Cities. The rooftop bar and pool capture Ipanema's beauty in a way that is glorious. The room while very modern and sleek, is a bit odd, but watching the surf from the room's balcony is priceless. Massage was good but not like V's massage in São Paulo Fasano lacking soundproofing, the breakfast was generous, and sightseeing was well facilitated by the staff.
Dinner at Al Mare is reviewed separately. However, the usual niggle naggel over charging for the Internet, getting a newspaper delivered to the room, erroneous and abusive mini- bar charges, uncomfortable beach chairs, can't handle different last names, etc. All considered, can't imagine staying anywhere else in Rio. But who knows?

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MMPPJLK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2013 via mobile

This is of second time at this hotel because we love the pool, the rooms with the small balconies, and the easiness it is to go and walk along the beach or go for a morning run. The breakfast is perfect simple and easy, lunch at the pool is a must as the views are magical, and a glass of wine on your private balcony looking over the beach is perfect. The service is nothing special, housekeeping takes forever to service rooms and the concierge is barely helpful as most of our so called reservations never were had by the restaurants.
Overall a great hotel that you and your loved one can enjoy

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Jleahkaylor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2013

Beautiful and an excellent place for a vacation. The beach is absolutely gorgeous. The town or Rio is just what the pictures look like, wonderful thru and thru. Spent most of the time at the beach and just had so much fun. The food is excellent and they whole trip was well worth it.

Room Tip: Just stay at this motel. They are all good.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rdangelAztec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2013

What a stunning hotel. This is the place to be in Rio, though it will cost you. A lot. The Phillippe Starck design is impressive throughout, and I could spend days on end people watching, eating, drinking and sleeping on the rooftop pool, with it's stunning vista.

Staff are very friendly, though service is very slow on the roof. Apparently the bar downstairs is very cool, but I didn't get to experience it as it was at capacity on the Saturday night, which really annoyed me (hotel guests should always have access to the hotel bar), and it was closed on Sunday night (why would a hotel bar close???).

That was my only gripe on an otherwise fabulous couple of days. And the fact it is hideously expensive, but I knew that before I arrived!

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank ss7680
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews