We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,629)
Filter reviews
1,629 results
Traveler rating
1,105
326
118
54
26
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,105
326
118
54
26
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsipanema beachrooftop poolamazing poolocean frontfive star hotelsao paulofirst flooramazing hotelsea viewconcierge servicereception deskbeach servicethe location is perfectfelt very safelondrastarckrio
Filter
Updating list...
469 - 474 of 1,629 reviews
Reviewed October 27, 2012

Let me start with the good points:
- Gorgeous albeit small rooftop pool
- Nice view from the balconies
- Nice location, albeit on the edge of Ipanema and not so central considering walking around at night is not always safe or at least recommended
- Minibar was well stocked..

Negatives:
- Tiny pool, plus half of it is ankel deep
- Pool is surrounded by buildings and walls, apart from on the one side facing the beach
- Rooms are not much more than a small box, literally
- Design element is overstated. Its essentially a basic setup, but for round curvy mirrors added everywhere plus walls replaced wherever possible with curtains
- Customer service is confusing at best, horrendous in parts. Front desk personnel in particular who say a lot with a smile, but not all useful or helpful. Disingenuous
- Overpriced, but in fairness was expected when we booked
- Lots of additionals to pay for despite being advertised as part of the package, e.g. wifi access
- Not even access to business center PCs is free. Shocking when considering the room rate
- No tee in the room - lots of small things which are not significant, but add up in the end
- Outdoor breakfast area is essentially a back alley which you see gazillion times in NY, but with some mirrors. Not impressive
- Not very well insulated considering its set on the main road, noisy at night and mornings
- The hotel seems confused whether its meant to be a luxury hotel for tourists or a classic efficient hotel for business hotel.

Mixed experience.

Not great, past its prime and fading fast unfortunately. Used to love it, but 'on to the next one' when it comes.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank TravelDJ_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2012

Staff is perfect, nice place, the room is sensacional, the restaurant in one of the best of Rio. The pool at the penthouse is very nice. I went to Fasano to celebrate my wedding anniversary and was a perfect choice

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ReinaldoViola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2012

We liked the hotel's location and staff. However, the rooms are too small for my taste and dark...and we had adjoining rooms to add space. While the decor is tasteful, there is very little room to store or place your items. The desk is small...even the nightstands were a tiny round barrel type table with not much space to store a book, kindle or iPad along with your phone. I would not eat at the restaurant on the roof again. While the view is amazing, the food was very mediocre at best. The breakfast offered was average, but needed to stay open longer. Given we are from California, it took us a while to adjust to the time and we were there for only three nights. I loved the ability to jog along the beach in the morning and enjoy Ipanema Beach during the day. This, along with the location, staff and an amazing tour guide, we had a great time.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank landmiller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2012

Stayed two nights in early October with a friend. Rooms are solid, great bathrooms. Hallways are amazing. The Fasanos are all about wood so even the smell is there. Check out the front desk which is one single piece of tree. Pretty amazing. I'd give this 5 stars if the internet access wasn't so ridiculous given the cost of this hotel. $25 USD/day and you have to get multiple passwords for ALL your devices. To top that off they expire after 24hrs. Completely ridiculous given the quality of this hotel.

But the rooftop pool is just unreal. A wading pool looking out over Ipanema. UNREAL. A sauna and shower up there with a bar top it all off.

Great hotel and amazing location. Unfortunately the cocktail bar was closed for a private event for the 2 days we were there. Would expect a place of this caliber to tell us that.

But overall a beautiful little upscale boutique hotel in Rio.

Room Tip: Ideally you want that ocean front room with balcony. Pretty spectacular views.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roam_again
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2012

The Fasano in Rio de Janeiro is a hotel with a very special design. The rooms are not too big but very clean. The staff was always friendly and very helpful.

The best part is the pool on the roof with the wonderful view over Ipanema Beach and the Pool Bar. We enjoyed a cocktail every evening before dinner.

Breakfast was delicious too with everything you need.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sabi_na90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews