We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The heart of Rio”
Review of Mama Ruisa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Mama Ruisa
Ranked #3 of 334 Rio de Janeiro B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The heart of Rio”
Reviewed August 2, 2014

It is always a great pleasure to stay in this beautiful property in the heart of Santa Teresa, enhanced by a careful restoration. I remember pleasant moments of tranquility and relaxation, even in the middle of the carnival. Friendly staff.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paolo F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

394 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    320
    46
    16
    6
    6
See reviews for
65
225
20
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Montclair, New Jersey
1 review
Reviewed July 30, 2014

If you are going to this gorgeous little boutique in Santa Theresa. Less of a hotel than an exquisite secret club you are granted access to. The colonial splendors of the hotel are only surpassed by the graciousness of the staff. You can't get to the end of all the languages they know or the things that they are willing to help you with. And the view during breakfast of Rio waking up has to be one of the great travel splendors to be had. By all means go, but save a room for me.

Room Tip: Rooms vary widely in size and views. Have a look around if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2014

This is an amazing place to stay. Santa Theresa is a cool, hillside spot away from the beach but it's definitely worth spending some time here if you can and Mama Ruisa is a great converted villa with super chilled vibe, great taste in decor and one of, if not the, best breakfasts I've had. We looked forward to it every morning and it was always served with a smile. Rooms upstairs are particularly nice as the balconies are a lovely to spot to sit and relax. Staff were super friendly and helpful with tips and advice. Can't recommend more highly!

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank holibopsLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2014

A beautiful turn-of-the-century villa on a small side street in the middle of Santa Teresa. The villa exudes charm and style. There is an lavish common living room which overlooks the pool and lush garden. Rooms are furnished exceptionally tastefully, and each room has its own theme. Suites have wooden parquet floors, high ceilings, and a large balcony with city and ocean views. The bathroom in our suite was entirely of white marble, and had a large skylight.

There are a number of restaurants and bars in walking distance, and the lively Lapa district is a fifteen minute walk downhill. The staff is very friendly and welcoming, and happy to help with suggestions and reservations.

Room Tip: Suites are well worth the extra price, as they have high ceilings, balconies and exceptional views o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elber2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2014 via mobile

Everything was ok until my check out when the owner of the hotel decided to pack my luggage while me and my family was out. My husband paid half of a daily rate for a late check and agreed when he did the booking that he would leave by 4:30-5PM but by 4PM Mr. Jean decided enter in our room with two maids and pack our stuff. Quite frustrating to arrive and see all our belongings in the hands of someone you never saw before. The worst part is that I emailed Mr. Jean explaining that I didn't like what he did and he just ignored my email. Never replied with an apology. Bottom line: Mama Ruisa charges too much for the kind of service you will receive. Great to Stay in Sta Tereza but look for other Hotels if you don't have negative surprises. French service can be a big attractive for the hotel but it will be very far from local treatment.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Foreng12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2014

I can't give enough praise to the two ladies who work at the front desk of this hotel. The service was above and beyond anything I could have asked for. They both spoke perfect English and went out of their way to be helpful. The other employees were equally helpful, though didn't speak English.
The house is beautiful, large, and clean. We stayed in the junior suite, which was quite large, and had a closet and bathroom to die for. The views are incredible, and there is no better way to start your day than a freshly-cooked breakfast on the veranda. I would absolutely recommend that anyone stay here. You'll have a fabulous time.

Room Tip: No fitness center- but there is a pool! The junior suite was delightful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ashley8487
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed May 10, 2014

Mamaruisa is a little treasure in bustling Rio. The comfortable and welcoming rooms, the superb living room with its unique view on Rio and the relaxing dining area and swimming pool are matched only by the impeccable service and availability of Jean-Michel and his team!
There's no question - this is THE place to stay in Rio!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OBressard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rio de Janeiro hotels
Santa Teresa
Hotel Santa Teresa Rio MGallery by Sofitel
Hotel Santa Teresa Rio MGallery ...
#8 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
282 reviews
Slaviero Lifestyle Rio de Janeir...
#9 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
313 reviews
Botafogo
YOO2 Rio de Janeiro
YOO2 Rio de Janeiro
#10 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Copacabana
Belmond Copacabana Palace
Belmond Copacabana Palace
#3 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
3,276 reviews
Santa Teresa
Mama Shelter Rio Santa Teresa
Mama Shelter Rio Santa Teresa
#119 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
65 reviews
Santa Teresa
Rio Panoramic
Rio Panoramic
#6 of 334 in Rio de Janeiro
209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mama Ruisa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mama Ruisa

Property: Mama Ruisa
Address: Rua Santa Cristina 132, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 20241-250, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Santa Teresa
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 334 B&Bs / Inns in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mama Ruisa 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Mama Ruisa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mama Ruisa Hotel Rio De Janeiro
Mama Ruisa Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing