We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming little retreat”
Review of Mama Ruisa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Mama Ruisa
Ranked #2 of 340 Rio de Janeiro B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 21, 2013

We spent two nights here and found it a peaceful retreat from the busyness of Rio. Sometimes we couldn't find any staff but eventually someone appeared. Breakfasts were delicious, served next to the pool. We ate in one of the many restaurants in Santa Teresa one evening which was delicious. The Carmen Miranda room was really big and very comfortable but there was a serious problem with the shower head (which we reported so hopefully repaired by now). All in all a very pleasant stay away from the beaches.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank manytravels_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (408)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

138 - 144 of 408 reviews

Reviewed October 11, 2013

Mama Ruisa was our first stop in Rio and it set the scene wonderfully. It's tastefully decorated and maintains a colonial splendor, but still manages to be comfortable and homely. We were in the Carmen Miranda room which we found to be spacious, clean and serene. Lovely views. The staff were so welcoming, friendly and helpful and when we needed anything, nothing was too much. Taxis arrived within minutes and restaurant recommendations and bookings were excellent. The hotel is situated in a great area for shops and restaurants and the beaches are only 20mins by cheap taxi. The stupendous breakfast by the pool was a real highlight. Would we go back - at the drop of a hat.......

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stephen r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2013

Very nice boutique hotel. Despite what the guidebooks say, this isn't an edgy area. We felt very safe walking to nearby bars and restaurants in the evening. You can also walk to the central district in the day from here - again, very safe, although I wouldn't do it at night. To get to the beaches, you'll need a taxi, which the hotel can order. Getting back is easy, as there are cabs everywhere. Again, the guidebooks imply taxis are risky but we picked up yellow taxis off the street with no problems at all, and so did most other tourists.

The hotel has lovely rooms, a nice lounge and a small pool. It's a very tranquil retreat from the rest of the city. Breakfast is lovely, and served outside. Great views over the town from your room. The hotel is pretty quite, though, and it can feel a little like you're staying in the owners house.

If we hadn't stayed here, I doubt we'd have spent much time in Santa Teresa in the evening, which would have been a shame. I'd definitely recommend this over a hotel near the beach unless you're planning just to sun worship.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank HolidayJunkie99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2013

During our trip to Brazil, we stayed twice in Mama Ruisa, first for 3 nights at the beginning of our trip, and then for the last night before our flight home. We loved coming back, and were welcomed like old friends.
Mama Ruisa is a small B&B, which has a lot of character. It is located in Santa Teresa, on walking distance from a lot of restaurants and small galeries. It is in a beautifull old house, all rooms with individually styling, and it feels really cosy. Our first room was already nice, but the second was almost twice as big, and with completely different styling. A lovely breakfast is served outside on the balcony, and you can enjoy the view on Sugarloaf Mountain while drinking the two different fresh juices which are served every morning. There is a lovely pool, and a nice sitting room with a small library.
Service is really great. The staff tries to meet every request. We asked on Saturday afternoon for a massage and manicure the next day, and Lydia managed to arrange everything for the next morning.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jan-Tiny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2013 via mobile

There are many, many positives to Mama Ruisa. The house itself is beautifully restored, imaginatively decorated, immaculately maintained and impressively furnished. A paean to good taste.The breakfast is gorgeous - fresh juices and fruits, breads, preserves, cakes, eggs, tea, coffee, all served on the stunning veranda. Our room was not one of the best, from what I could tell, but it was still pretty good. The pool is magical. Santa Teresa is a great part of Rio to live in too: quirky, cobbly, steep, with great bars and a wide range of restaurants. Really, the only thing we didn't like was the service. There was a distinct lack of welcome (or indeed any information about the house) upon our arrival. The owner, Jean-Michel, appeared the following morning, but I can't say that we found him particularly friendly. A bit supercilious, perhaps. We didn't sample the caipirinhas, but we did notice they were the most expensive we'd so far seen in Rio. We only stayed one night at Mama Ruisa, but we had already spent several days in Santa Teresa, so we felt we knew the area a bit. Maybe with a better room and a longer stay we would have experienced more of the good stuff other reviewers have raved about!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Piaggiagrande
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2013

Owner Jean Michel has transformed a beautiful villa into an amazing, stylish, comfortable mini hotel. Tucked away in Santa Teresa, Mama Ruis is an oasis in a challenging city. We enjoyed lazing by the pool in the lush garden, but also staring out from our bedroom (Amazon) down the hills and across the bay of the city.
The decor of the hotel is extraordinary; beautiful and tasteful and full of interesting furniture and pieces. The staff are very keen to help with places to see and go, both locally and into the city.
The breakfasts, which you pay extra for, were some of the best we have had on our travels.
The area is safe to walk around in and there are lovely local restaurants and craft shops nearby.
One tip if you are a family: make sure you are not in the small room tucked downstairs and round the back with no view. Although it has a separate room inside for kids, it is like staying at another hotel altogether, we moved to an amazing room after the first night.

Room Tip: Amazon great if you need an extra child bed. Avoid the family room which has no view or ambience.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rubybirkenhead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013

A beautiful house, in the characterful area of Santa Teresa, in Rio. Our room was large with an outdoor area for a lovely breakfast overlooking Rio. Flavia & Lydia, are lovely ladies, who do everything to make your stay wonderful. There is some traffic noise & on Friday & Saturday nights music can be heard but I would not hesitate to recommend staying here or staying in this area.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sajackie54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rio de Janeiro hotels
Santa Teresa
Hotel Santa Teresa Rio MGallery by Sofitel
Hotel Santa Teresa Rio MGallery ...
#10 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
327 reviews
Santa Teresa
Casa Marques
Casa Marques
#8 of 340 in Rio de Janeiro
117 reviews
Santa Teresa
Casa Cool Beans B&B
Casa Cool Beans B&B
#1 of 340 in Rio de Janeiro
803 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Teresa
Casa Beleza
Casa Beleza
#3 of 340 in Rio de Janeiro
588 reviews
Santa Teresa
Casa Geranio
Casa Geranio
#13 of 340 in Rio de Janeiro
114 reviews
Santa Teresa
Casa 48
Casa 48
#4 of 340 in Rio de Janeiro
109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mama Ruisa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mama Ruisa

Address: Rua Santa Cristina 132, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 20241-250, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Santa Teresa
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 340 B&Bs / Inns in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range: $122 - $244 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mama Ruisa 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Mama Ruisa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mama Ruisa Hotel Rio De Janeiro
Mama Ruisa Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing