We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Oasis of calm”
Review of Mama Ruisa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Mama Ruisa
Ranked #3 of 328 Rio de Janeiro B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Oasis of calm”
Reviewed January 29, 2012

We stayed three nights in this hotel an throughly enjoyed ourselves. It is very stylish in an old fashioned way. The room was beautiful and the views over Rio from the terrace where we had our breakfast were amazing. The owner went out of his way to take us in his own car to find a taxi when there was a problem with the one he had booked for us and the rest of the staff were very helpful with suggestions of where to eat and visit. There are a lot of restaurents in Santa Teresa within walking distance - and it felt quite safe walking to them in the evening, Santa Teresa is a lovely area and worth exploring.
The only negatives were that there was not a safe in the room and there was no price list for the mini bar so that came as a shock when we checked out.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Millimad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

387 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    313
    46
    16
    6
    6
See reviews for
62
223
20
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2012

We discovered this 'secret' hotel in an inflight magazine. My husband had been to Rio before and had stayed in a number of different hotels in Ipanena and along the beach. When we started to look for somewhere we found the larger chains were expensive and had poor reviews so we booked at Mama Ruisa. We were so glad we did. It really added a beautiful layer to the end of our trip around Brazil. As a designer I get fed up with staying in rooms with dodgy interiors and fake decorations. Each room at Mama Ruisa has been considered and everything is deliberate. They were not scared off by us having two kids under the age of 8 and were very accommodation and generous. I will definitely go back also so I can explore the area too.

Room Tip: All the rooms are thoughtfully designed and quirky. One of our rooms had a rather odd bathroom akin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sophie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2012

Mama Ruiza was the perfect place for our stay : 7 days in Rio for the first time with two children. The team was very helpful and gave us the best advice to discover the city and to see its real gems (not only the obvious Ipanema and other touristy spots...). The House is magnificent, beautifully decorated in a mix of authentic and modern style. The rooms are very large and well equipped; beds are wide and very comfortable. The breakfast juices were a delight, taken on our terrace facing an stunning view as well as palm trees visited by green parrots. It was like being in an old urban palace, surrounded by the jungle. Santa Teresa is a great neighbourhood for who loves authenticity and charm. We had delicious food in the restaurants nearby (Amazonian and Brazilian), I was able to work by the pool (wi-fi) while the kids were jumping on the water. The first morning we were awaken by the noise of barking dogs and airplanes (Santos Dumont airport isn't far), but the second morning all we could hear was birds singing; the urban noise was just a distant background which added its element of authenticity. Mama Ruiza made out first trip to Rio a dream!

Room Tip: The rooms on the first floor were great, with a large lovely terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Floflo2575
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 15, 2012

What makes Mama Ruisa so charming is Jean Michel and his excellent taste in design of the hotel and his ability to read his guests wants and needs and make the appropriate recommendations for our interests and personality. The hotel is clean and comfortable and tucked away in the chic area of Santa Theresa. Our room was spacious and quiet with a great view. The staff was helpful and always had a smile in their face no matter how late we arrived home at night. We loved it and Jean Michael was the perfect host for our first trip to Rio this past December. We miss u!!! Stephanie and Jill from Los Angeles.

Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Jill M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed January 12, 2012

We spent 4 nights here and I was sorry to leave. It had old fashioned quality and service that made you feel very very special. I loved the place - thought it was perfect in every way.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tiinachristel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
princeton, nj
Level Contributor
134 reviews
120 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2012

We stayed two nights at Mama Ruisa and loved every minute of it. Staying at the hotel feels like staying in a private home surrounded by "jungle" in the atmospheric Santa Teresa. Less pretentious than the more expensive Santa Teresa hotel, Mama Ruisa has an authentic boutique vibe, the rooms are beautiful, the location great for strolling around (and it's safe) and listening to live music in the nearby Lapa neighbourhood, the pool is implecably clean and the breakfast delicious, what more can one ask for?

Room Tip: we loved the Jean Cocteau suite: it has a great changing room, bathroom and balcony!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beachloverPrinceton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed January 3, 2012

We stayed at Mama Ruisa for our honeymoon in November 2011. We arrived from a highly rated hotel on Ipanema, and I instantly felt like I could really relax once we got to Mana Ruisa. Straight away the owner recommended a lovely restaurant for dinner, and called to book us a table, and throughout our stay we got countless recommendations, all of which lived up to the quality of the hotel. The staff were unbelievably helpful - I went to ask for an iron to borrow and was told 'nonsense, you are on your honeymoon, I will have it ironed for you now'! The pool was just gorgeous, and the whole stay was fantastic. Definitely the best place we stayed in Rio - thank you for a great part of our honeymoon!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jess P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rio de Janeiro hotels
Santa Teresa
Hotel Santa Teresa Rio MGallery by Sofitel
Hotel Santa Teresa Rio MGallery ...
#10 of 281 in Rio de Janeiro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
Copacabana
Miramar Hotel by Windsor
Miramar Hotel by Windsor
#3 of 281 in Rio de Janeiro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,342 reviews
Slaviero Lifestyle Rio de Janeir...
#8 of 281 in Rio de Janeiro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Copacabana
Belmond Copacabana Palace
Belmond Copacabana Palace
#4 of 281 in Rio de Janeiro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,191 reviews
Santa Teresa
Casa Cool Beans B&B
Casa Cool Beans B&B
#2 of 328 in Rio de Janeiro
5.0 of 5 bubbles 763 reviews
Santa Teresa
Casa Beleza
Casa Beleza
#1 of 328 in Rio de Janeiro
5.0 of 5 bubbles 575 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mama Ruisa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mama Ruisa

Property: Mama Ruisa
Address: Rua Santa Cristina 132, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 20241-250, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Santa Teresa
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 328 B&Bs / Inns in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mama Ruisa 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Mama Ruisa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mama Ruisa Hotel Rio De Janeiro
Mama Ruisa Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing