We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Party, chill, meet people, next to the beach.”

Mellow Yellow Villa
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mellow Yellow Villa
Reviewed June 18, 2013

Care about spotlessly clean toilets and silent rooms? Stay in a hotel. Mellow Yellow is all about a safe location 5 mins from CopaCobana and a chilled/party atmosphere where everyone says hello to each other in the bar and the staff party harder than all the guests combined. You have the eccentricity of Hugh, a big name on the Rio hostel circuit and the sassy banter of Line, the ghetto, Tek 9 loving Ayla and the brazillian Juliana...well she has a great rack. The bar always has at least a few partiers in it and the drinks are cheap enough to pre lash on, no need to buy your own booze.

The owners 'debates' with the staff are jokes and it's a bit like living in a soap opera. Hot Dog breakfast is free and a great hangover cure. The TV room is great to chill out in.

Things I would change, sell crisps / snacks in the bar cos those capis are strong and you need something to hide the taste. And get a few more power sockets from somewhere.

We like it enought to return and stayed there 7 nights in total.

Room Tip: Chose the 6 bed dorm inside the hostel, nice balcony. Use the outdoor toilets and showers - much cle...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank micool1010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (52)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

24 - 30 of 52 reviews

Reviewed June 5, 2013

Never go here. De boss is very rude and en not nice. They scream to their employeesif front of the visitors. Very stuppid.
They showers are to little, and the beds where dirty.
So dont go here!!!!! Choose a other hostel, for a nice and better stay!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Sanne V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2013

Stayed here as a last resort. Our beds had no sheets on them and were filthy. We left and came back and they still had no sheets so we had to ask for some. The room felt dirty. Didnt like it. Stay in Ipanema- way better.

Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank anyaaaaaaaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

The BEST hostel I have ever stayed in!

The staff are so helpful and will go out of their way to make sure you have a great stay. I got too drunk on their fantastic caprinias and left my phone on the bar only realised when I got to the airport. Mike found it and looked after it until I could got back 2 weeks later. Not many places have such helpful and honest people!

Mellow has activities planned every day and every night which is great for a solo traveller like myself.

Location was amazing so close to the wonderful beach of copacabana, banks and a supermarket.

Love this place <3

Only, minor point for improvement is the bathrooms are small. I find Boggas' review a little hard to believe, not only because Mike is a great guy but I also think it would be impossible to get 2 people in the toilets getting in myself was hard enough when a little tipsy!

It was my home away from home, I stayed on 3 separate occasions during my travels in South America. They made me feel like part of the Mellow Yellow family. I will be going back

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jennifer_Petrie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2013

Great hostel with perfect location, staff were very helpful.. But it was a bit awkward at one stage when Michael (the bar man) followed me into the toilets and tried to touch me.. Try to avoid him everyone else there is very helpful - the amenities are very spacious and heaps of pressure in the shower, tick!

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Boggas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2016
Google Translation

Room Tip: no ultimo andar
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2015, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ayrton M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2015 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2015, traveled with friends
5  Thank Pri S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rio de Janeiro hotels
Copacabana
CabanaCopa Hostel
CabanaCopa Hostel
#88 of 835 in Rio de Janeiro
491 reviews
Copacabana
Hilton Rio de Janeiro Copacabana
Hilton Rio de Janeiro Copacabana
#17 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
2,763 reviews
Ipanema
Mar Ipanema Hotel
Mar Ipanema Hotel
#80 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
1,202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sheraton Grand Rio Hotel & Resor...
#24 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
1,630 reviews
Copacabana
Belmond Copacabana Palace
Belmond Copacabana Palace
#3 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
3,370 reviews
Ipanema
Praia Ipanema Hotel
Praia Ipanema Hotel
#89 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
1,572 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mellow Yellow Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mellow Yellow Villa

Address: Rua Republica do Peru 444 | Copacabana, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22021-040, Brazil (Formerly Mellow Yellow Backpackers)
Location: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Copacabana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #415 of 835 Specialty Lodging in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range: $12 - $55 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Back in a gorgeous new Villa is everyone's favourite Copacabana Hostel created by backpackers for backpackers. With our fresh new look, our efforvescent atmosphere and our fantastic location we're here to make sure you get everything you imagined out of Rio and more!Whatever you look for in a hostel we've got everything you think you want and more besides.If you want to party we have a great hostel bar, we have bbq & pool parties, we organize great trips and make sure you know about the best parties in Rio at the best prices.If you're looking for culture we can point you towards capoeira and samba shows, museums, portuguese classes and our great group of staff are there to provide all the information you could want on whats going on in Rio and the surrounding area.To see all this exceptional city has to offer we have a wide range of tours. Whether you want to see Christ the Redeemer, ride up Sugar Loaf, walk through the Forest, witness the frenzy of Rio's finest Football teams in action, run off a mountain (safer than it sounds), dance with the locals (the most fun you can have with your clothes on) or discover what life is like in the Favelas we can make it happen.And our legendary free breakfast, wow!!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Mellow Yellow Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mellow Yellow Backpackers Hotel Rio De Janeiro
Mellow Yellow Villa Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing