We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best in Rio”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Rio Guest House ( Marta's Guest House)
Ranked #26 of 331 Rio de Janeiro B&B and Inns
Saginaw, Michigan
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Best in Rio”
Reviewed December 7, 2012

The RIo Guesthouse was a perfect choice for us to make for a very memorable visit to Brazil. We were very lucky to get the last room available. Marta was a very hospitable hostess and made us feel very welcome and comfortable from the moment we arrived. The location is perfect and as good as it gets in Rio. The guesthouse has beautiful views overlooking Copacabana Beach and Sugarloaf mountain. Ipanema beach is also just a short 5 minute walk. The rooms are clean and very comfortable. We met so many nice people from all over the world. The feeling of staying at the Guesthouse is much different from a hotel. It feels much more like home with friends and fabulous views. The morning breakfast are fabulous with fresh juices, fresh fruits, breads, cheeses, and eggs. The breakfast are different everyday. Marta knows Rio and she can be very helpful for first time visitors to arrange transfers, tours, restaurant recommendations and she can assist with any issues. The hardest part is leaving. Hope to return to this great place in Rio one day.

Room Tip: Choose a room with an In Suite Bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank R0bert22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

283 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    241
    35
    3
    2
    2
See reviews for
48
143
31
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2012

If you decide to stay in Copacabana you should stay with Marta. Her place is located right at the beachfront in a two story apartment I would die for to have.
The place is tastefully decorated, Marta and her staff are beyond friendly and the view is overwhelming. The only critic I could mention is that the rooms although spotless clean and charming are a little less spectacular than the rest of the guesthouse.
Definitely my favorite hotel/pousada/guesthouse during my trip through Brasil.
.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank whereintheworldisgpc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Θεσσαλονίκη, Ελλάδα
Level 5 Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2012

What type of traveler you are ??? If you are looking for a place to feel as an invited guest, in a Penthouse overlooking Copacabana, though very pieceful, clean, with rich home made tropical breakfast, and many more pleasant surprises organized by Marta (owner-housekeeper) then here you are.
I forgot to mention that the price charged is quite reasonable for the offered services, taking also into considaration that RIO is not a low budget destination.
As an experienced vacation/traveler I do recommend it, you may meet and know interesting people from different countries and caltures, that Marta carefully select !!! them in order to create a unique ambiance for a memorable vacation time.
Listen Marta, I donnot claim any payback for my comments. I just feel to say we are looking the day we will be back, to know more about Rio and not only...
George and Litsa Kont..... 22Nov-03Dec 2012
=

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GKontoleon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sweden
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2012

Very good B&B in a perfect location at the Ipanema end of Copacabana with a fantastic view from the terrace of the whole bay. Our room was spacious and comfortable, with lots of storage: only slight hiccup was that our private bathroom was down a corridor, not en-suite, but that was a minor point compared with the rest. We can only agree with all the other reviewers - very friendly, welcoming ambience, nice breakfast, spotlessly clean everywhere, beautiful décor and superb terrace. Marta is very warm and helpful, and it was fun to meet the other guests. Would stay there again and wouldn't hesitate to recomend this great B&B.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bergquist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MartaRIO, Owner at Rio Guest House ( Marta's Guest House), responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Dear Robert and Meg, it was a great pleasure to receive you at our Guesthouse. Thanks for the nice words and hope next time you will have a chance to stay in one of our Ensuite bathrooms. If you be in Rio after 2014 we will have many better surprises. Will be a great pleasure to receive you, your family and friends at our Guesthouse. I appreciate your review, thanks and warm reagards !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sahuarita, Arizona
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 6, 2012

Rio Guesthouse has breath taking views of Copacabana beach. Rooms are clean & spacious. Breakfast is included. The building has 24/7 security. Marta is the friendliest, most loving woman I've ever met. She will greet you with hugs + 1,000 kisses (True Brazilian experience). Marta is super attentive to your needs. She will make sure you’re eating well, your room is comfortable/clean, and she's great at putting together touristic packages to ensure your Brazil experience is nothing but the Best. **DO NOT MISS BREAKFAST** this will be the highlight of your day. Be prepared to sit and mingle with people from all over the world! At breakfast each morning we sat overlooking the ocean while eating sweet fresh Brazilian mangos, papaya, banana bread (must try), cheese and freshly made Pineapple juice with mint. Downstairs from Marta's building, on the corner of Rua Francisco Sa & Av. de Copacabana ... a small restaurant called "Bar Bico" has to die for Brazilian pastries. Ask for coxinha de galinha or empada de frango, which are delicious chicken pastries. Also try their juices. OMG'sh their mango juice is amazing! Now back to Rio guesthouse, this is not a "hotel" experience. It's like staying at your family's house. I highly recommend staying here. You will LOVE it! Next time I'm in Rio, this will be my spot.
We loved the location. In addition to great views of Copacabana Beach and the Sugar Loaf Mountains, You are literally across the street from Copacabana and short walk from Ipanema. There are a multitude of restaurants along the beach that you can walk to, or just ask Marta for her recommendations and she will send you to the best places in Rio, including local highlights that you won’t find in tourist guides.
You will share your breakfast with the other guests, but we found this to be an enriching experience because you are able to learn about others all over the world.
We will be back!!! Beijos Marta!!!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alinie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MartaRIO, Owner at Rio Guest House ( Marta's Guest House), responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Dear Aline, thanks...thanks...thanks...! Your wonderful words to describe our Guesthouse is really make me so happy. To receive this recognition of our guests, is worst all the work we do. My most big pleasure is to see my gusets so happy as you have being here. Your are so generous, and is very nice your recommendations for Bar Bico, they are really so nice. You could help me rigth an guide of Rio....think about. This fabulous reviews really encorage people to Travel to our beautiful City, and stay at our Guesthouse. Look for to receive you again soon, and please send your friends and family as well ! I appreciate very much your review, thanks ! Warm regards and 1000 Brazilian kisses ! Marta Miller
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 3, 2012

We spent a wonderful few days (too few!) at Marta's. The place is every bit as lovely as all the other reviewers have said, Marta is a lovely lady, too.
The views were magnificent.
I can't think of anything I didn't like.

If I have my way, we'll be back!

Room Tip: Ask Marta - I didn't see any bad ones
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John_W930
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MartaRIO, Owner at Rio Guest House ( Marta's Guest House), responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Dear John, Thank you so much for your review. Was a great pleasure to receive you at our Guesthouse, and want make sure that when you be back to our Guesthouse we could welcome you with more comfort and even better and new surprises ! Best regards, and my appreciation for your review .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michigan
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2012

Absolutely fabulous view! Marta is warm and friendly, with a great staff. Breakfast included and yummy good. The location is super. Marta is very helpful and morning breakfast is filled with interesting people to talk with.................... Enjoy!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank larrytuttle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rio de Janeiro hotels
Copacabana
Rio Design Hotel
Rio Design Hotel
#50 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
592 reviews
Copacabana
Olinda Rio Hotel
Olinda Rio Hotel
#91 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
968 reviews
Copacabana
Hotel Debret
Hotel Debret
#186 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
678 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Copacabana
Emiliano Hotel
Emiliano Hotel
#104 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
37 reviews
Copacabana
Golden Tulip Rio Copacabana
Golden Tulip Rio Copacabana
#52 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
1,864 reviews
Copacabana
Tulip Inn Rio Copacabana
Tulip Inn Rio Copacabana
#74 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
1,126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rio Guest House ( Marta's Guest House)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rio Guest House ( Marta's Guest House)

Property: Rio Guest House ( Marta's Guest House)
Address: Rua Francisco Sa 5, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22080-010, Brazil
Phone Number:
Location: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Copacabana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 331 B&Bs / Inns in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Rio Guest House ( Marta's Guest House) 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer and special service and are prepared to help our guests since the start of the preparation of the trip to Brazil. In a very spectacular location in front of the Copacabana beach, and with the most beautiful views. Our Guesthouse offers comfort and have a very family atmosphere, and Marta is there to help the guests to find the best places to enjoy the city. With experience in tourism, Marta can help you with the best indication of tours, restaurants and what to do in Rio. Welcome to Marta's and be home at our Guesthouse ! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your Rio Guest House ( Marta's Guest House) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rio Guest House ( Marta`s Guest House) Hotel Rio De Janeiro
Rio Guest House ( Marta's Guest House) Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing