We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“outstanding!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rio Guest House ( Marta's Guest House)

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Rio Guest House ( Marta's Guest House)
Ranked #24 of 330 Rio de Janeiro B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
São Paulo, Brazil
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“outstanding!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2012

For a true Rio experience I HIGHLY recommend Marta's beautiful penthouse! The apartment is simply stunning, without mentioning the terrace and the view.
It did not take long for me to feel at home with the caring personel and Marta's affectionate welcome.

A MUST for a real Rio de Janeiro stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Oriane W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

282 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    240
    35
    3
    2
    2
See reviews for
48
143
31
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Palm Springs, California
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2012

Basing my selection on previous, very positive Trip Advisor reviews, I booked 2 rooms at the Rio Guest House. Prior to arrival, owner, Marta, was ever so kind in responing to all my e-mails and a variety of questions. Tired from a day of flying, we arrived at the Guest House to be greeted by Marta. Her warm Carioca welcome, made the 4 of us feel as if we were returning to the home of a favorite relative, not checking into a commercial establishment. Our rooms were great. Mine even had a view of Copacabana from the bathroom! The rooms were spotless. Marta gave us the grand tour and this establishment is grand in terms of its comfort level, location, and views. She encouraged us to make use of the galley kitchen, refrigerator, and microwave available for guest use. Every morning, the 2 ladies who work with Marta, produced a wonderful spread of tropical fruit, juices, cheese, ham, and freshly baked rolls and sweet breads, plus coffee and tea. We enjoyed it all, as cool breezes from the deck energized us for the day to come. Marta was full of excellent suggestions regarding transportation, local dining, banking, and shopping. Two evenings we had fun shopping with the locals and making a picnic dinner which we enjoyed on the deck, looking at the full moon over Rio. We stayed with Marta for 4 nights and it was not long enough, We cannot wait to return. When I told Brasilian friends of our lodgings in Rio, they could not believe it. "How did you manage to find such a spectacular place on Copacabana?" I told them it was all due to Trip Advisor.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank castleme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blue Island, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2012

I was in Rio to celebrate my oldest daughter Kelly Jean wedding on July 7th 2012 in Rio, we arrived on June 29th way early in the morning and Marta was awake for our arrival. The guest house was like a dream, amazing to have it to ourselves the staff was quiet like a mouse and the breakfast was amazing with coffee, fresh fruits, cheeses and breads. I felt like I had won the lotto the view from the terrace was of Copacabana beach and Sugar Loaf. The building was secured with doormen. Marta was quite the hostess and arranged Manicures and Pedicures for the whole wedding party, and gave us suggestions on what to do in our free time. I would book it again if I go back to Rio.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Diane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MartaRIO, Proprietário at Rio Guest House ( Marta's Guest House), responded to this review, August 15, 2012
Dear guest, thanks for your visit . We really enjoy receiving you at our Guesthouse. Hope to see you, your friends and family in a future. Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, Noord-Holland, Netherlands
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2012

This B&B has a perfect location at the Copacabana. You can see the whole beach from the terrace on the roof. Good service and good breakfast. It is also close to the Ipanema beach. The building is also very save (always a guard). Computer and small kitchen is available for use.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jacqueline H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancing, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2012

We stayed at the beautiful art deco masterpiece that is Rio Guesthouse at the start of our three week break in Rio and couldn't have chosen a better place to stay. Marta is a wonderful warm lady who makes you feel like you have known her for years from the moment you arrive. The views of Copacabana are spectacular and you will never tire of people watching during the day or the view of Sugar Loaf at night. The rooms were very clean and comfortable and the breakfast was simply excellent! Many of the other guests had trips organised for them by Marta but we suited ourselves thanks to a Lonely Planet city guide and a love of the crazy bus journeys. The restaurants nearby aren't up to much so head along to Ipanema for a better selection.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BetsyBooA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colma, California
Level Contributor
36 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2012

I'd give Marta and her place a 10 if I could.

Things got off to an odd start when there was a plumbing problem at the guesthouse before we arrived. Marta was really apologetic and found us a nice place in a nearby (like a block away) b&b. She arranged for our transfers, and moving our luggage, and met us at the place (not even hers!) to welcome us.

We got to move the next day, and were completely amazed at the place. The top deck looks over Copacabana beach. There's no better view to be had on the beach, period. There's a kitchenette available for your use, and you're welcome to bring wine or a picnic to enjoy on the patio, or (for the jetlagged madrugadors like myself) tea and coffee for the quiet morning sunrise before everyone else wakes up. Breakfast is very nice, what you would expect from a nice B&B but also not worth missing tours or destinations for (you can grab a coffee and pastry somewhere on the way if you want to get going early).

Marta is ready to help you as much (or as little) as you need.... she booked a favela tour for us which was helpful, and would have done more had we asked. We were really concerned about security after having read the paranoid travel books, but it was really perfect for us to be right on Copacabana, near the metro (which we used a ton) and an easy walk from Ipanema.

A perfect place to start our trip.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank borso b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nyon, Switzerland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2012

We had an amazing stay at Marta’s Guest House, Marta herself is a wonderful person and her guest house is just her reflect… fantastic.

So well located, overlooking the Copacabana Beach, beautiful terrace, confortable rooms and nicely decorated.

If you want to experience Rio as a Carioca with the advantage of insightful local advice, Rio Guest House is exactly the place to go.

We stayed 3 nights in March 2012, and for sure, if we have the chance to go back to Rio again, we shall stay at Marta’s Guest House again.

Kindest regards Martha, from Alex and Daphné

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alex Daphné C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rio de Janeiro hotels
Copacabana
Rio Design Hotel
Rio Design Hotel
#51 of 280 in Rio de Janeiro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 561 reviews
Copacabana
Mercure Rio de Janeiro Arpoador Hotel
Mercure Rio de Janeiro Arpoador ...
#112 of 280 in Rio de Janeiro
3.5 of 5 bubbles 721 reviews
Copacabana
Orla Copacabana Hotel
Orla Copacabana Hotel
#78 of 280 in Rio de Janeiro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Copacabana
Windsor Martinique Hotel
Windsor Martinique Hotel
#42 of 280 in Rio de Janeiro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,068 reviews
Copacabana
Golden Tulip Rio Copacabana
Golden Tulip Rio Copacabana
#52 of 280 in Rio de Janeiro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,746 reviews
Copacabana
Pestana Rio Atlantica Hotel
Pestana Rio Atlantica Hotel
#54 of 280 in Rio de Janeiro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rio Guest House ( Marta's Guest House)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rio Guest House ( Marta's Guest House)

Property: Rio Guest House ( Marta's Guest House)
Address: Rua Francisco Sa 5, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22080-010, Brazil
Phone Number:
Location: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Copacabana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 330 B&Bs / Inns in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Rio Guest House ( Marta's Guest House) 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer and special service and are prepared to help our guests since the start of the preparation of the trip to Brazil. In a very spectacular location in front of the Copacabana beach, and with the most beautiful views. Our Guesthouse offers comfort and have a very family atmosphere, and Marta is there to help the guests to find the best places to enjoy the city. With experience in tourism, Marta can help you with the best indication of tours, restaurants and what to do in Rio. Welcome to Marta's and be home at our Guesthouse ! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Rio Guest House ( Marta's Guest House) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rio Guest House ( Marta`s Guest House) Hotel Rio De Janeiro
Rio Guest House ( Marta's Guest House) Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing