We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good except for...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ace Backpackers Youth Hostels
England
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good except for...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2009

Very good hostel, plenty of informations for who needs it but the staff Natalie or Natalia is terrible..she is very pretentious and wants to show out that she´s in charge. She screams a lot with people over there.
I stayed there for 3 days and she were very angry with travellers and guys that work at reception also.
I recommend it but she definetly need to behave as human being.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank liamstuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    43
    24
    7
    8
See reviews for
11
38
15
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
india
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2009

I had traveled alone to rio for a training of 2 weeks. I believe that I could complete the training only because of ace backpackers youth hostel. I had never experinced so cooperative and loving staff in my lifetime. Natalia,Yuko and Paula were so helpful. All the other staff gave me lots of love. I could cook my veg meals, make my favourite indian tea and use wifi absolutely free. The cakes for breakfast were delicious but the breakfast menu was repeatitive. The black boy has lot of scope for improvement. For a non portugese speaking travellar it is very essencial to stay in a place like this. the room was small but clean and comfortable. the location is good.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank muktaoo9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2009

OK, good bang for your buck, but the rooms are tight with too many bunk beds in a small area. Our shower head was not working, and they changed it right away. Unfortunately, the same cannot be said for the cable which was out my entire stay. They said the cable signal was out and they were trying to get it fixed, but the dvd player worked. The staff could not be any friendlier, especially Bill. One block from the Botafogo station which was great. No elevator, but rooms are located on the second and third floor. There is no sign outside that lets you know the hostel is there. Instead, look for a sign for a church and some flags placed on the second floor balcony. The mattresses were good. Having a kitchen really helped me save money on food. They have lockers on the halls for your valuables, but bring your own lock. The breakfast was a pretty basic continental breakfast served as a buffet on top of the pool table: juice (1), bread, cheese, ham, butter, cookies, cereal, milk, coffee, tea, and herbal teas.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlbertoSDQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
42 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2009

We stayed her for 5 nights on our first trip to Rio.The hostel is in discreet location on a busy road.The room was a double en suite, it was small but clean.The bathroom was ok, shower was luke warm. Our room did not have a window and it was slightly noisy at night at times.The area is not typically toursity but that was part of the appeal. The area has excellent transport links to the beaches.The staff were very friendly, helped with oragnising tours and made great cocktails in the bar. I would probably only recommend this place if your on a budget

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tomd25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chile
Level Contributor
6 reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2007

Esta bien ubicado, muy cerca del metro y buses, pero el resto esta mal !! Los baños son muy pero muy sucios !!, no se limpian todos los dias, los basureros se llenan de papeles sin limpiarlos !!. Los lavamanos estan tapados. No asean las piezas. El precio obtenido por internet es bastante mayor que el que cobran alla y no respetan lo pagado por internet, dicen que eran solo cobros por la reserva !!! Ofrecen transporte al aeropuerto, pero te cobran el doble de lo que pagarias a un taxi normal !!!

  • Stayed February 2007
    • Value
    • Location
Helpful?
Thank Chiclechi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Rio de Janeiro hotels

London
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2006

This hostel was really great indeed. The location is fantastic and the staff couldnt be better. I would go back anytime to stay there. Lots of fun check it out yourself ----

  • Stayed December 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank londres73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2006

Just wanted to share the wonderfull experience i had at ACE PACKPACKERS CAFE & FUN. It really made my trip to Rio de Janeiro - Brazil perfect, besides being very central the staff was very friendly and helpfull. It was my first time at a hostel and i was a bit worried, but i would repeat the experience without even thinking twice. HAVE A TRY AT ACE you will love it....

Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rio de Janeiro hotels
Botafogo
El Misti Botafogo
El Misti Botafogo
#75 of 762 in Rio de Janeiro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 818 reviews
Botafogo
Ace Praia de Botafogo Suites
Ace Praia de Botafogo Suites
#120 of 762 in Rio de Janeiro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
Botafogo
Sun Rio Hostel
Sun Rio Hostel
#327 of 762 in Rio de Janeiro
3.0 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Botafogo
Injoy Hostel
Injoy Hostel
#9 of 762 in Rio de Janeiro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 248 reviews
Botafogo
LimeTime Hostels
LimeTime Hostels
#39 of 762 in Rio de Janeiro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 265 reviews
Ipanema
Che Lagarto Hostel Ipanema
Che Lagarto Hostel Ipanema
#14 of 762 in Rio de Janeiro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,049 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ace Backpackers Youth Hostels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ace Backpackers Youth Hostels

Property: Ace Backpackers Youth Hostels
Address: Rua Sao Clemente, 23, 1st. floor | Botafogo Beach, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22260-001, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Botafogo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #246 of 762 Specialty Lodging in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Ace Backpackers Youth Hostels 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Ace Backpackers Youth Hostels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ace Backpackers Youth Hotel Rio De Janeiro
Ace Backpackers Youth Hostels Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing